We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome surprise in the middle of the woods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Rooms

The Green Rooms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mal Pais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Rooms
400m north of Hostel 7 | Over the bridge, up the slope, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Netanya, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome surprise in the middle of the woods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

we planned a surfing trip for the first part of our honeymoon. i booked a trip through an online agent, got a contact from Dave shortly before our arrival, and Dave picked us up from San Jose.
the place is a small pearl in the woods, just over a small stream, with a very nice pool.
the main advantage is how nice people are! Dave was the best host there is, Russel was a great tutor (we took some surfing lessons)

if you want a small home away from home on you trip to Costa Rica, this is it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

No better a place to experience a mixture of surf and jungle, then to stay at the aptly named ‘green rooms’. Set amongst an impressive back drop of rain forest, a sense of tranquillity and serenity is in abundance here. Located on the southern tip of the Nicoya peninsula, the area surround the Green Rooms is a haven of natural beauty. Located 7 miles north of a wildlife sanctuary, its dense rain forest is teeming with wild life. Whether it be awaking to the sound of howler monkeys or falling off your surfboard in an attempt to dodge the fearless pelicans diving for fish, it is something that soon becomes the norm.
I came to Costa Rica by myself, and in honesty was rather frightened by this. You must understand i am not what you would call the most intrepid of explorers and jetting off to central america with only my surfboard for company is not something i have ever made a habit of! my fears however were put to rest when i arrived at the hotel. I was received with such a warm and friendly welcome i knew instantly this was somewhere i could spend a lot of time!
The "green rooms family" consists of Dave (a man who can fix anything), hannah (a professional surf photographer) and Russ (chef extroadinaire). Yes the hotel is amazing and yes the open plan dining room/kitchen does reach out on to a spectacular jungle view only to be interrupted by the infinity pool, but it is these guys that really make the green rooms a special place to stay and i have nothing but good things to say about it. That's why i'm spending next winter there again, and probably the one after that...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

So much for traveling around Costa Rica, i came here with a friend and we just didn't want to leave. Amazing staff, really friendly and relaxed atmosphere, delicious food and beautiful surroundings... can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

stayed with the gang for a month and it was an amazing trip. affordable, clean well sized rooms, huge pool, legendary staff and epic bbq's. Will defo be heading back out- excellent accomodation and perfect waves on your doorstep, doesn't get much better than that

I filmed all this there
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GRiYwMmpZbI

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Found the Green Rooms by accident, didn't even know my destination when I left London, but was welcomed by Dave, Hayley and Russ like part of the family... Superb accomodation with several double rooms and a private guest house, makes an ideal venue for larger groups. Single travellers also welcomed. Huge, well equipped, communal kitchen where amazing meals are prepared by the crew on a nightly basis!

For the surf traveller there are great beach breaks within 5 minutes walk, or jump a lift and explore some of the farther afield beachs.

Green Rooms is so good, I'll be going back one day... Awesome. keep up the good work guys!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

There are soo many places to stay now in St.Teresa but the Green Rooms is by far the best deal in town !! Double rooms , perfect for friends or couples and a large private poolside guesthouse are the rooming options and make the place ideal for a large group of friends or a solo traveler ! Awsome high speed wifi internet. Their communal kitchen is huge ! State of the art and spotless. If Russ or Dave are cooking be sure to be in on the nights meal because u will not be dissapointed!! Green Rooms is up the hill a bit get way more cool breeze and dry air then the road and beach side hotels where its hot and humid and dusty much of the time. Did i mention the pool ? They are one of the only places to stay in St Teresa with a pool , and by far the cheapest.
Playa Carmen is right in front, 3 minute walk , and Nov-April is one of the most consistent well shaped waves around, think long rippable rights and lefts depending on the swell, nothing too hollow juts good old playful surf! April- Oct head down the road to Playa St.Teresa (15 min walk) this beach handles the big rainy season swell better, and is always good and can get epic! Great place to learn as well , I was taught to surf here on a longboard a bunch of years ago !!!
The towns of Mal Pais , Playa Carmen and St Teresa are all really close essentially the same stretch of road. The resturants and nightlife here are well documented , notables for me , Zulas for isreali , Kika in StTeresa , PiedraMAr for costa rican , LOl and Green Rooms dinners for sure !!!
Tho, by no means necessary ,I would reccomend renting a quad , moto bike or scooter , soo much fun to ride and really lets u explore the town and tucked away places on the peninsula ,anyway BEST DEAL IN TOWN!! GREEN ROOMS is highly reccomended!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

The Green Rooms is a great place to stay. With awesome people who run it making sure you have the best time as well as great rooms free from any bugs and other wild life. Having a pool made all the difference after a long surf relaxing in it was the bomb. Would recommend for sure and plan to visit again. Thanks to Big Russ, Hannah and the legend that is Dave. See you guys soon

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Green Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Rooms

Address: 400m north of Hostel 7 | Over the bridge, up the slope, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty lodging in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning guest house tucked away in the jungle of Mal Pais just a few minutes walk to the amazing beaches and pumping surf of Playa Carmen and Santa Teresa. Come and join us and slip into our relaxed Costa Rican lifestyle of waves and fun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Rooms Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Green Rooms to your Saves list