We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge to your Saves list
Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge
1 km from cross route , 50 m from the beach, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have been lucky to stay in Pachamama house during our vacation. The house was great, very spacious. It is well thought out and has everything for the comfort. We especially enjoyed the outdoor shower and the second floor balcony. There's a family of howler monkeys living on/close to the property, and our kids were thrilled when the monkeys have been passing our house at an arm's length! Lots of iguanas, birds on the property, too.
Pachamama is situated in Mal Pais, where the beach is a bit rocky, so it was not a great place to swim with children near the hotel. Since we had a rental car, it was not a problem at all, the hotel is in between Playa Cabuya (our favorite for snorkeling) and Playa Carmen/Hermosa (our favorite for sand castles/waves/surfing), so we liked the location.
Franz was the best host ever. He was always there when we needed him, helped us to arrange surfing, recommended good places to eat. He even borrowed us his waterproof camera so that we could record our surfing attempts.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
34
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Mal Pais is one of those places in the world that sucks you in and makes you never want to leave, and Pachamama is one of those places where days turn into weeks... It is set in beautiful, well-kept gardens, where the buildings look and feel a natural part of the surroundings. There is an outside shower to cool off from the beach, and plenty wildlife in the grounds - a family of howler monkeys, the resident iguana and skunk pottering around, pretty Paula the owl not to mention other birds. And Franz is very proud of his tree orchids :)

We stayed in one of the bungalows which was just right for two people, as long as you know each other well as the bathroom is just screened off the main room. Whilst the rooms are not luxurious and therefore may not be for everyone, they have everything you need and the setting is so wonderful and the hammock so comfy that the occasional ant in the kitchen is nothing to worry about.

Pachamama is in a great spot as you can cut through the land across the road to get to the amazing little rocky beach, and there is a wonderful place to eat and drink opposite (Caracolas). The notorious dusty road that runs through Mal Pais may be getting closer to being paved, but in the meantime take a scarf to put over your face if walking into Santa Teresa. Or take the beach route!

Franz creates a relaxed atmosphere amongst his guests, organising group meal outings and the occasional party. You can hire the quad bike, or arrange surfing lessons. Franz knows his stuff and can be trusted. Armancio the caretaker/ groundsman is a legendary character.

Thanks Franz and Marta - and sorry it has taken a while to write this review. We have been in denial since coming back to cold old UK. But I do keep my promises! We will be back some day. E y R x

Room Tip: 2 adjoining one room bungalows, a two bedroom house and the teepee if you are on a budget. Brilliant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have been traveling to Mal Pais for the last 8 years or so and we always stay at Pachamama. Franz is a great host and can help you with anything that you need. His property is beautiful and well kept by Amancio, the resident grounds keeper, who is also a very good cook should you decide to have a BBQ while you are there. The bungalows are comfortable and clean and have a kitchen area. I would suggest some mode of transportation whether it be a car or a quad. There is now a great restaurant across the street, Caracolas, and a nieghborhood bar down the street, Rancho Mal Pais, but it is a little bit of a walk to get to town and without some form of transportation, you will miss out on a lot of the beauty of the surrounding area. However, Pachamama is beautiful on its own, should you just want to hang out there on a hammock and make new friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Amazing place with very comfortable lodging. Though it's about a mile from Santa Teresa, it was well worth it. I'd recommend getting transportation if you don't like to walk - rent a bike or ATV, depending on if you want to check out the town. Franz provides great service all around. There are amazing top views for sunsets. Franz is a great host and great guy and I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Pachamama for 7 days and can only recommend it. Der Franz der kanns! Franz was very helpful in every way, the house that we stayed in was very romantic. For everybody visiting Mal Pais, this is the perfect place to stay, whether you are looking for a quiet retreat or a place to meet good people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The intensity of my work requires regular escapes into the quiet jungles of Costa Rica. I have visited Costa Rica 8 times in the last seven years and stayed in many places throughout the country. I have found an area (Mal Pais) that I will return to again and again and accomedations there that I will also use every time I go there - Pacha Mama (mother earth). The eco compound has beautiful gardens, a limited amount of friendly guests and many levels of relaxation. I can go zip lining, horseback riding or surfing or escape to my hammock with a book. If I want excitement - its there. If I want to be alone - that's available also. Great for solo travelers, couples or families. Good for young or old. Google Mal Pais Angela and look at the 4 minutes film and enjoy the flavor of Mal Pais. Peter Trent, Philadelphia, USA

Room Tip: Check out the web site for descriptions and pictures of the facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The whole area is filled with animals like howler monkeys, squirrels, parrots, white-face monkeys etc... You can do fishing, surfing, kite-surfing, shops, nice restaurents, walking on the beach, swim in the sea... Other activities are close like montezuma waterfalls, cabo blanco for hiking!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge

Address: 1 km from cross route , 50 m from the beach, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pachamama Houses and Bungalows is the perfect place for people who like sports, nature, sun and beach. Only 1 km away is Cabo Blanco, the first national park created in Costa Rica, in 1963.We have two bungalows, each with a double bed and shared terrace for $60 a night, monthly $1400. A third bungalow is on a second floor with a double bed and private terrace. All lodgings are fully equipped with hammock, kitchen, fridge, fan, private bathroom with hot water. The house for rent has air condition and is fully equipped. There are 2 bedrooms, a beautiful terrace with BBQ, outside shower, hammock for $140 per night, monthly $2800. We have wireless internet, security 24 hours, private parking and cleaning service. It is the best option, for relaxing and enjoying the nature. We have a lot of wildlife in our tropical garden: butterflies, exotic birds and monkeys hanging around in the trees, and our coati, a sort of raccoon, which always comes to pick up his breakfast from us. The bungalows and the house are about 50m from the beautiful and quiet beach of Mal Pais. Here surfers find perfect waves year round. Air temperature is 30-35 degrees and water 24-26. We offer surfboard rentals and surf lessons. I'm a passionate kite surfer and if there is coming up some wind I'm in the ocean with a 16 m2 Kite. The wind is 15-20 knots from January to May. It is possible to rent a small house for $80 a night as well. It is fully equipped in a very beautiful and quiet place only 200m from the beach. Perfect location for 2 people. Monthly $1500We can reserve a hotel and transfer in San Jose, or book you a rental car in San Jose or in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.