We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge to your Saves list
Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge
1 km from cross route , 50 m from the beach, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Arrived at Pachamama and were immediately treated like long time friends even though this was our first trip. Franz the owner is the most wonderful host. We were provided with fresh fruit from the property several tes during our visit. The property is immaculately kept and the houses are spotless. There is no other place in Mal Pais that compares.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
34
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Our host, Franz, couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Our house was casual but stunning and comfortable - very open. No bugs but adorable monkeys in the trees. Our 16 yo boys surfed every morning at 6 with Franz and every afternoon til they dropped. They had a lot of freedom and were always safe. Franz took us shopping when we first arrived so that we could fill our refrigerator and pointed us in the right direction for all our other needs. Several great restaurants nearby for every budget. If you like casual and easy going but clean and stylish and comfortable at the same time - this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

That was an awesome trip! Franz & Mara were great hosts!! And by the way very helpful!
Both gave us great advices! Bungalows and rooms are very nice, the whole property is located in a great area, just one minute to the beach, 3 minutes to town...
And by the way, Franz is a great surfer and gave us some helpful :) advices too.
(Don´t) Drink and surf, check it out and try it yourself!!!!
Fritz&Richard (Boston / Austria)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

I met good ole Franz in 2004 and have been back to his lovely place 3 times. Anytime i get to spend febuary there i know i am blessed. Franz is the host with the most and leaving becomes the hardest thing to do. Like another famous Austrian says... 'I'll be back !'

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

The owner/operator is an amazing guy. The nicest person i have met in my ten years of going to costa rica. He knows everyone in town and will make your stay extremely incredible

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

I took my family of 4 (Wife and I, teenager and toddler) down to Mal Pais on a suggestion from a friend, and Paul and Maryanne (purveyors) were great right from the first time I called them on Skype from the States...they arranged a private Land cruiser shuttle to pick us up and bring us to the front door of Pachamama. It is a wonderful and private tropical garden area maintained daily by a local Tico who has worked there as long as anyone can remember. We showed up and were greeted personally and toured around the property, which is a very private and securely walled off to the public tropical garden compound. If you walk out the front gate, the beach is about 50 yards away...and gorgeous. Our house was beautiful and well maintained...with attached cooking and dining area with through windows to the kitchen and an outdoor shower too! We toured all over Costa Rica and this area was by FAR the most beautiful and peaceful...albeit remote, that was kind of the point for us. Amazing surf breaks with no one on them...world class beaches with a few people here and there...it was just awesome. We went to some other "hot spots" and were dismayed with the amount of people and also getting hassled about one thing or another...none of that in Mal Pais though. It was truly one of the most beautiful and peaceful places I have ever been, and Pachamama is an amazing spot to enjoy it from. I can't wait until we can go back there again someday...because we will, without a doubt. Thanks Paul and Maryanne!! Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, ca
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Stayed at a bungalow in Pachamama for a quick (4 day) solo get-away after hearing from a friend about it. The experience at Mal Pais and Pachamama was everything I was looking for: relaxation, escape, adventure, and plenty of fun activities. The folks at Pachamama are wonder, and went to all lengths to make sure I had a good time during my stay. Make sure to take advantage of the great surf lessons that are provided. Paul got me standing up and riding the waves in no time.

I'm looking forward to coming back soon, spending more time and bringing my entire family. Really hard place to leave.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge

Address: 1 km from cross route , 50 m from the beach, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pachamama Houses and Bungalows is the perfect place for people who like sports, nature, sun and beach. Only 1 km away is Cabo Blanco, the first national park created in Costa Rica, in 1963.We have two bungalows, each with a double bed and shared terrace for $60 a night, monthly $1400. A third bungalow is on a second floor with a double bed and private terrace. All lodgings are fully equipped with hammock, kitchen, fridge, fan, private bathroom with hot water. The house for rent has air condition and is fully equipped. There are 2 bedrooms, a beautiful terrace with BBQ, outside shower, hammock for $140 per night, monthly $2800. We have wireless internet, security 24 hours, private parking and cleaning service. It is the best option, for relaxing and enjoying the nature. We have a lot of wildlife in our tropical garden: butterflies, exotic birds and monkeys hanging around in the trees, and our coati, a sort of raccoon, which always comes to pick up his breakfast from us. The bungalows and the house are about 50m from the beautiful and quiet beach of Mal Pais. Here surfers find perfect waves year round. Air temperature is 30-35 degrees and water 24-26. We offer surfboard rentals and surf lessons. I'm a passionate kite surfer and if there is coming up some wind I'm in the ocean with a 16 m2 Kite. The wind is 15-20 knots from January to May. It is possible to rent a small house for $80 a night as well. It is fully equipped in a very beautiful and quiet place only 200m from the beach. Perfect location for 2 people. Monthly $1500We can reserve a hotel and transfer in San Jose, or book you a rental car in San Jose or in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.