We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest coffee & bakery we're been to (see below)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bakery

The Bakery
50 meteers north of Franks at Playa Carmen, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
2640 0560
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Sandwiches, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The best fresh baked cakes, bread, croisants, bagels and much, much more! Great lunches and dinners, coffees and refreshing drinks.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The nicest coffee & bakery we're been to (see below)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife owns her own upmarket coffee and cake shop in the UK, and our family are official Gourmands of good food.
This is THE BEST coffee and bakery we have been to on our travels around the world. The french toast to divine (try any of the variants they do). The pain aux chocolate and banana swirls are wonderful.
I've been up and down the main road between our house and this place so many times this last week I could do it blind folded (even missing all the pot holes).
Coffee is on par with "Culture Espresso" in Manhattan, and that's saying something!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    138
    31
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Service to tourists not so great...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

People love this place, hell, I love this place, but overall the service can be very poor. I don't know how many times I sat on the patio during my week long stay in Santa Teresa waiting in excess of 20 minutes to be served while new arriving locals received immediate attention. It is a turnoff. The food is good, a little Americanized for the area in my opinion, but the pastry and coffee are both excellent.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This place always makes my Santa Teresa vacation a better one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Every time I come to Santa Teresa I eat 1-2 meals per day here, because I know it's hard to find a place as good as this one. I'ts healthy, fresh, they have great options for meat lovers or vegetarians, their bread is amazing and the desserts are to die for. The people who work there are very nice and they have pretty fast service. I just wish there was a Bakery near my home!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Going to miss this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great bakery and breakfast with such a nice staff. Best croissant's I've ever had! Going to miss breakfasts here!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EAT HEAR!!! Everything is DELICIOUS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I had the plain french toast it was great!!! The pastries were awesome. The coffee was also great. Get here early because the pastries go fast!!! EAT HERE!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakery also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.