We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service to tourists not so great...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bakery

The Bakery
50 meteers north of Franks at Playa Carmen, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
2640 0560
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The best fresh baked cakes, bread, croisants, bagels and much, much more! Great lunches and dinners, coffees and refreshing drinks.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Service to tourists not so great...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

People love this place, hell, I love this place, but overall the service can be very poor. I don't know how many times I sat on the patio during my week long stay in Santa Teresa waiting in excess of 20 minutes to be served while new arriving locals received immediate attention. It is a turnoff. The food is good, a little Americanized for the area in my opinion, but the pastry and coffee are both excellent.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    135
    31
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This place always makes my Santa Teresa vacation a better one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Every time I come to Santa Teresa I eat 1-2 meals per day here, because I know it's hard to find a place as good as this one. I'ts healthy, fresh, they have great options for meat lovers or vegetarians, their bread is amazing and the desserts are to die for. The people who work there are very nice and they have pretty fast service. I just wish there was a Bakery near my home!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Going to miss this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great bakery and breakfast with such a nice staff. Best croissant's I've ever had! Going to miss breakfasts here!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EAT HEAR!!! Everything is DELICIOUS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I had the plain french toast it was great!!! The pastries were awesome. The coffee was also great. Get here early because the pastries go fast!!! EAT HERE!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Though not traditional Costa Rican at all, you can't make a trip to Santa Teresa without stopping in here. Excellent pastries and breakfasts. Haven't tried lunch or dinner, but I'm sure they are fantastic as well.

PS - the A/C cranks in here!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakery also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.