We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class dining experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Papaya Lounge Restaurant

The Papaya Lounge Restaurant
Mal Pais, Mal Pais 000, Costa Rica
00506 26400230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Mal Pais
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Tapas, Costa Rican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Mal Pais
1 review
“First class dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The walk up the stairs to this ocean view restaurant just increases your appetite by burning some extra calories before you begin your evening. I highly recommend the filet mignon dish-delicious! The service and presentation of every dish is first class. I look forward to my next meal at the Papaya Lounge in Mal Pais!
-Joshua Balogh

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cuisine - deluxe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The dishes have gone down well: great decoration and amazing flavor. Amazing view to the Pacific Ocean and beaches of Malpais and Santa Teresa. Try the tapas as appetizer or the Moroccan main dish with prawns. I can highly recommend the white house-wine from Chile. Its also worth for having breakfast. Enjoy the tropical fruit bowl and check the waves for surfing ;-)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic atmosphere-excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The hike up the stairs is intimidating but its well worth the climb!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food/Sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We ate here because we were staying at the Moana Lodge. However, it turned out to be one of our favorite restaurants. The open air restaurant is located high on a hillside with a wonderful view of the ocean and sunsets. They have lounge chairs if you just want to come for drinks and excellent appetizers.
Our dinner was well prepared and delicious. The service was friendly and efficient. We also ate all of our breakfasts at this
restaurant. The fruit was good, the banana bread French toast was very rich, the pancakes were good one day and overcooked another. We tried to get an "over easy" egg each day, but that got lost in translation. Over all the restaurant has great atmosphere, a good choice of food and quality. Try it.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Grooms dinner that won't be forgotten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

After looking at a few places to do our groom's dinner before our wedding. We chose this amazing restaurant.
I went to see it before to make sure the setting was right and ohh boy, I was amazed by the view. The restaurant is at the top of a hill that overlooks the ocean (west) so sunsets are just breathtaking.
They greeted our guests with cocktails that included Daiquiri, Mojitos, and other drinks that were beautifully made. The overall look of the place will make you think of any upscale Miami club/lounge with sofas and warm colors that work perfect with the environment.
The food was a combination of Tapas, including ceviche (Amazing!!!), shrimp cocktail and other delicacies.
The experience was overall amazing, but I have to say something negative about the place right?
I guess the only problem with the place is that to get to the restaurant you'll have to climb 110 steps (steep ones) so by the time you get to the top, you might be a little out of breath. My wife's grandpa could not make the trip since he's barely able to walk, so he missed the dinner and it was a shame, but other than that, the place is fantastic and I would recommended to anyone.
As far as the price, it's a little more expensive than average for costa rica, we ended up paying about $35 per person (including service/tip, tax, etc) with drinks (cocktails/wine/water/etC) and dessert, which is not cheap for Costa Rica but you would pay about $55/60 per person in the states for the same type of food/drinks and setting.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Papaya Lounge Restaurant also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Papaya Lounge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Papaya Lounge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.