We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its near to the paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Mountain Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mal Pais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Mountain Jungle Lodge
Save
You added Star Mountain Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
2 kms on the Cabuya Road, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Mal Pais B&B and Inns
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Its near to the paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The best place for uncomercial relax, in the middle of the jungle life. If you have been before in seychelles or mauritius reunion prepare yourself for real paradise. This is one from the best peacfull and secure places in the world. Forget the cheap luxury and open your mind for beautifull world. We been here for 3 times and come back again for real quit and goodness.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ambler, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Whether you are looking for relaxation or adventure, Star Mountain Jungle Lodge will not disappoint you. From the incredible natural beauty of the 220 acres the lodge rests upon with breath taking 360 degree views of the Costa Rican jungle/Pacific ocean. Pictures do no justice here! The adventure is endless. We zip lined through the jungle which was priceless and we also rented quads that we had for the entire trip. Which I highly recommend. Andrew the owner was nice enough to help set up our entire time in Mal Pais to make sure we had a chance to do everything we wanted to do. The restaurants in the area were to my surprise "delicious" The beaches are incredible along with the locals. Everyone was more than helpful with anything you might need. I would highly recommend Star Mountain Jungle Lodge to anyone who knows how to enjoy the good life. I look forward to returning there sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

I must say I was about to cancel my trip to costa rica first I had a bad experience in jaco dirty beaches unpleasant But I must say upon my arrival at star mountain lodge I knew I made the right choice. Andrew. Owner / manager greeted us showed us the grounds and outlined the best beaches . Restaurants and hang out areas . He was nice enough to call ahead if time canopy ul tours and horse riding . We rented quads which is a lot of fun to have in Mai's pais. From start to finish I had a great time either zipping through trees. Trying the surf or just enjoying the 240 acreas On sight in the rain forest. Yes that's right 240 acres of resort. I highly recommend this trip for those who appreciate the Beuty of nature . Not scared to get muddy and relax all in one. I look forward to my next visit soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, CT
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

What a perfect place to get up close and personal with the costa rica jungle and it's amazing wildlife. Laying in the hammock outside my cute room watching the different monkeys jump from tree to tree was better than watching any television. The pool was refreshig and private. A nice way to end a day of hiking. Went horseback riding and and had an amazing time. Went from the mountaintops to the beach and back.the horses are well trained for any level rider. Our guide led us on a morning hike the next day. Even though his English was limited we had a great time identifying different wildlife and enjoying the spectacular views. The breakfast eating area is lovely and relaxing. Nico took care of making arrangements for our zip lining which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012 via mobile

We loved the tranquility of this lodge. The management and staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and welcoming. The great wildlife viewing on the property (monkeys, sloth, mot mot bird) made this one of our favourite stops on our visit to Costa Rica

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My friends and I all took the 2 hr long MT and Beach ride at 3p up on the Star Mountain Lodge this Feb and had a blast! The horses are sweet and well trained. It was only us on the trip with an experienced guide. We did not speak spanish and he did not speak english yet somehow we were still given an amazing sightseeing tour through the jungle around Mal Pais! Was well worth the price of $35 each....and we left him a tip as well...The beach ride is fun, but not boring and along the well-travelled route that most beach combers take. Secluded and gorgeous. It was a long time of riding. Be sure to bring water with you in a backpack or hip-pack. They will be happy to call a taxi for you as well when you finish to get you back to where you need to go after. We had a look aroun the grounds before our taxi showed up and saw the super nice pool the lodge has...also heard monkeys!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

A truly great location if you want to be near a beautiful coast and yet apart from it in a jungle clad retreat. The owners, Andrew and Lisa, we're very friendly and interesting to talk to. There is a good walk through the forest and a beautiful garden with a small, but very nice, pool. The infrastructure in general perhaps needs a little 'gentrification' - a little facelift to bring it to life and a few of the appliances were suffering from rainy season blues (rust!). They serve an outstanding breakfast but for dinner you have to take the road into Malpais or Santa Theresa. The 2 kilometre track has a few bumps but is passable. The restaurant (Mary's) at the bottom of the road is outstanding if you like seafood and organic produce from their own farm. The lodge has a way access to the beaches and Cabo Blanco reserve and the owners are proactive in promoting the conservation of biodiversity in the area. This is a place to get away and immerse yourself in your surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Mountain Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Mountain Jungle Lodge

Address: 2 kms on the Cabuya Road, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Star Mountain, a charming Costa Rican eco-lodge nestled within a 225-acre sanctuary in the hills above Mal Pais.Come experience the power and beauty of the jungle while relaxing in our comfortable eco lodge. With 4 guest rooms and 1 house for rent our resort is intimate, low-impact, and ideal for a medium sized group. It is the perfect spot for nature lovers who want to experience unspoiled nature and tranquility while enjoying all the amenities of fine lodging and dining.Our commitment is to provide our guests with the vacation they desire. For adventure seekers, opportunities abound in the dry tropical rain forest and on the beach. For people seeking a tranquil setting to decompress, we offer you an oasis where the only sounds you will hear are the grousing of howler monkeys and a symphony of birds.Star Mountain is tucked in the hills above Mal Pais next to the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our vast property forms a continuous stretch of forest with Costa Rica's oldest nature reserve.Star Mountain is a mosaic of jungle, rolling hills, mountains, and streams with hiking trails throughout and plateau views of the light sandy beaches of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa. Famous Mal Pais Beach is only one mile away downhill and many other Costa Rica's finest surf breaks are within minutes.Treat yourself to this luxurious ecological paradise in Costa Rica - where the jungle meets the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Star Mountain Jungle Lodge Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Mountain Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.