We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate here 2 nights, it's THAT good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Piedras

Las Piedras
200 mts N from the croossroads, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
26400453
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Grill, Argentinean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ate here 2 nights, it's THAT good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Everything we tried was amazing, service was great too . Order the chicken, use the chimichurri sauce. Flan was delicious as well. If you are in the area, just go!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bcary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Absolute best meal in Mal Pais!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Las Piedras was so good, we went back twice on our 3 day trip to Santa Teresa!

There isn't anything on the menu that did look or taste amazing. Walking by the grill to and from the hotel, we were intoxicated by the slow cooking meats on the parilla. Make sure to go by for a reservation early in the day because it gets very busy.

The chicken was SUPERB - perfectly cooked, crispy right to the bone while remaining tender and juicy.

The mixed grill is highly recommended. Great for couples, families and groups.

As the sign say, Las Piedras is "the s**t!"

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1/2 chicken...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

...Plus fries and a salad. Hits the spot. As soon as we walked by and saw that meat cooking in the "window" our mouths began watering. I think it's the best chicken I've ever had and I think I've eaten like 257,000 chickens thus far in my life. BYOB.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zachgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“If you're a meat eater - this is your place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We went here for dinner one night after a day of exploring. It’s right on the main drag in Mal Pais/Santa Teresa. They have a couple of rocking chairs out front that are inviting, but you do have to inhale dust from the road the whole time as people drive by! The food here was very good – for those who are the carnivorous type! Although, I suppose a vegetarian could survive here as well, because they do serve some pastas. My daughter had some pasta and loved it. My husband and I both got a rib/chicken combo plate. The chimmichurri (spelling?) sauce is very good. They serve it on the side and you can douse your meat in it. If you want a hearty meal of meat and potatoes – go here. That’s primarily their specialty. The inside of the restaurant has a nice ambiance to it. Overall it was a good experience for us.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best chicken EVER!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The food here is fantastic. Couldnt keep away!! The chicken is amazing, the best ever. Great value for money. Staff so friendly. Going to miss this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Piedras also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Las Piedras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing