We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE ON EARTH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo Yoga Surf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Indigo Yoga Surf Resort to your Saves list
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
2Km Sur de el Cruze de Playa Caarmen, Mal Pais 10100, Costa Rica (Formerly Beija Flor Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Madrid, Comunidad de Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“PARADISE ON EARTH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were supposed to be at the hotel for 2 days but we ended up being 4 days. The current owner Francesca is the perfect host. The tastiest food I have ever tried by her chef Pedro. They offer also surf lessons, being really worth it. Ramon was our instructor and we learnt with him in 2 days more than a standard one-week course in Spain. The hotel is completely new, and plenty of details at every single corner. This should be a must-stay if you plan to visit Costa Rica.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    16
    8
    0
    12
See reviews for
22
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Indigo Yoga Resort (without doing Yoga). Francesca, the owner, is a very friendly, charming and supportive host and she has renovated the whole place with great taste. The interior design of the rooms is very appealing. Also the garden and the pool area are very nice, clean and carefully maintained. We ended at Indigo by chance but we checked out two other places nearby before arriving there and we must say that Indigo by far offers the best value for money. Francesca told us that she will start serving breakfast and open a restaurant within the coming months. It all sounds very promising and we are sure she will do a great job.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

A total scam !!!! Obviously this place has been sold in the last two years....to a rude and arrogant man who has no business running a "resort?" more like a crappy motel. Stay away!! The rooms were okay, however we encountered a "groundskeeper" who was obviously drunk and verbally inappropriate. We were disgusted by the dirty grounds and un-maintained pool. There was no lighting on the grounds at night, and the restaurant is apparently no longer existent. ( although it is still on the website as being in operation).
Save your money and aggrevation, there are many better places closer to town. This place doesn't even have access to the beach and town is a 20-30 min hike!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a string of bad luck in Tamarindo that made us leave our stay faster than expected. To which we checked out beija flor! It was a fun experience as the beach was right across the street (albeit not swimmable) and the staff was really friendly. I have to admit the wildlife was awesome here! I had a blast! I hope i can make it back sometime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

this hotel is very expensive for the facilities it has and what you get. We payed 130$ per night for a room and hotel that are worth no more than 80$. We were so sorry we ordered 3 nights in advance and could not cancel them. It was a big waste of our money. We were in Costa Rica for a month, visited many hotels and this was by far our gratest disappointment. The pool is nice (similar to pools in hotels we paid 60-70$ per night) but the rooms are very basic- only beds. no fridge, no place to sit..and you would expect that for 130$ the breakfast would be at least o.k, but we got really tiny miniature pancakes, how miser can they be? and also, the open air bathroom means you have to lock the bathroom door at all times in order to be safe(because anyone could get into your room easilly), which is really wierd. would advise you to stay away!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

TAs per the recent reviews this place needs a change...It is nothing like what the Beija Flor Resort website describes. It is far from being a resort, it does not offer any services such as yoga, beauty etc. If you do not have a car this place is too far to walk in the heat and dust. The beach across the road (when you walk through other properties) is rocky and difficult to swim or surf....teh breakfast was basic and none of it, and the resturant closes at 3pm therefore no room service NOTHING also, no drink/food service by the pool - very disappointing in general!

At approximately $100 a night it is NOT WORTH IT there are many better located and better value for money places in the area.......

Did not enjoy my stay at all.....seeing Howler Monkeys was cool though!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

When we prepared our stay in Mal Pais we followed the reviews on TA and Lonely Planet. The best recommended place would be Beija Flor, so we booked it early in April, for six nights, not to risk they would be fully booked in December. We checked absolutely everything on this place of "paradise and luxury", yoga and massage and near the beach". Nothing of this is true! The nearby beach s rocky and polluted. The rooms have zero luxury, only a bed with a mosquito net full with holes. Neither a mini bar nor a fridge. No sofa or a chair in the room to sit on. There is not even a wardrobe to put up your clothes. The rooms are VERY basic and not maintained very well and you do not get a clean feeling. Not to forget, the rooms are very noisy, you can hear your neighbour breath.,the bathroom is outdoors, which give you a cool impression, but they lack of any luxury. No hot water at the sink. Our shower did not give cold water (the tap was broken) so we could not adjust the temperature. My husband burned his back when h took his first shower. The common areas are very poorly equipped and do neither offer any comfort nor privacy. There is one little sofa that sits 3 people. The rest has to sit on straight chairs of the breakfast tables with no comfort. The pool area give a nice impression, but when you look a bit better, is poorly maintained and not clean. There are only six wooden sun beds that need to be urgently reprinted and they miss a mattress to give some comfort. During our stay, the pool got cleaned only once, the morning we left..... There was no yoga possible, since the area got damaged during a recent 'earthquake" the same for the spa and massage area. Well, a good manager would get it fixed urgently before the Christmas holidays! Not at Beija Flor. The breakfast which is included in the rate of $ 130 per night, is the poorest we have ever seen. You get 2 eggs and 1 toast. The first breakfast took 45 minutes before we got it. And the eggs were hard as stone. At night the place is very poorly lit, too dark and no music in the bar area. Who cares, the bar is never open. After our strong complaints, the manager gave us the self standing bungalow as an upgrade, but it did not change anything to our feelings if the poor level of standard. We wanted to leave, but we were trapped since we had to prepay our complete stay. The place lacks if management, the manager is hardly ever there. He comes at 8 am to drink his coffee and leaves around 9 am with his surf boards......
The place has completely lost it. Do not stay here, it ruins your days in Mal Pais. There are many better places!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indigo Yoga Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Yoga Surf Resort

Address: 2Km Sur de el Cruze de Playa Caarmen, Mal Pais 10100, Costa Rica (Formerly Beija Flor Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort is a boutique hotel in Mal Pais, on the southern-most tip of the Nicoya peninsula. Just 2 kilometers from the Cabo Blanco Natural Reserve and steps away from the Pacific Ocean, it provides everything a person seeking relaxation and comfort needs:our eleven spacious rooms and one fully-equipped villa combine warm colors and local materials with a modern design. They are located in a tropical garden, which iguanas, squirrels and many birds call their home. We also offer a fine-dining restaurant, a coffee shop, a pool lounge area, as well as our own spa and yoga deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Indigo Yoga Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beija Flor Hotel Mal Pais
Beija Flor Mal Pais
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo Yoga Surf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.