We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, loud neighbors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo Yoga Surf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Indigo Yoga Surf Resort to your Saves list
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
2Km Sur de el Cruze de Playa Caarmen, Mal Pais 10100, Costa Rica (Formerly Beija Flor Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, loud neighbors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The staff were courteous and the outdoor shower... So cool!

We stayed during low season early in September, so the restaurant was closed, but they directed us to some great local joints nearby and we were able to book activities through the hotel.


2 of the 3 nights that we were there, the neighboring property across the street (bar???). Was having pretty loud music and people were loud. But, we were going to bed relatively early.

Do not let this convince you to stay elsewhere... This is an architecturally stunning place, reasonably priced and in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    16
    8
    0
    12
See reviews for
22
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We showed up to the resort with no reservation at around 7 pm. The reception was closed but the friendly security guard called the owner and he let us into a room for the night and we paid for it the next day. The security guard handed the phone to us so that the owner could give us recommendations of place to eat for dinner! The rooms were simple but beautiful and the outdoor shower was awesome. We especially loved the hammocks and wished we could take one home :). The receptionist was extremely helpful and friendly and even made some phone calls for us in Spanish because our Spanish was a little rusty. They definitely went above and beyond what was expected of them and we really appreciated it. We would recommend this accommodation AND we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

My review might be biased since I got married here, that being said, I will try to be as objective as I can.
The resort is exactly what we were waiting for, a beautiful gem in the pacific side of the Nicoya peninsula. This is the jungle, so you can expect wildlife all over, particularly, monkeys, iguanas, and on rainy days, little crabs all over the ground at night. If you are expecting a full resort Mexico style, Beija Flor is not your place, however, if you're expecting to experience Costa Rica the way it shold be experienced, I can assure you you won't find a better place. The bathrooms are just an experience on its own. The owner and staff are super friendly and we couldn't have done our wedding without the help of Tania, you can tell she lives for that place and she'll go the distance to make sure you don't have to worry about anything during your stay.
The place is about 2-3 miles from santa Teresa, which is perfect because it's secluded and Santa Teresa doesn't have much to offer other than a few bars and shops.
The beach is not exactly close (5 minute walk) but that wasn't really an issue for us since we ended up enjoying beaches all over the area. The hotel has a nice pool and plenty of accomodations such as umbrellas and chairs to enjoy. Not all the rooms have fridges, which it can be inconvenient, however you're welcome to use the restaurant's fridge should you need to keep something cold, otherwise, I would recommmend buying a cheap cooler at the supermarket and get ice regularly.
As a vacation resort, this is the perfect place to go to relax, disconnect from your phone/computer and spend your days either reading a book on the hammocks on rainy days, or surfing and exploring when the sun is out... If you are looking for som party, a few bars in Santa Teresa will be your best option, you'll find out what I mean.
As far as the wedding, we couldn't ask for anything more perfect. It was exactly what we wanted and more. If you're thinking about getting married in Costa Rica, this is withouth a doubt a great option.

Room Tip: All rooms are great,, but beware that the small rooms don't have kitchens (so no fridge) and tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Tania and Yonatan were wonderful. Very helpful and accomodating. Wonderful place for a wedding! Staff was very friendly. Rooms clean and comfortable. Food was wonderful. The natural beauty, flora and fauna made for an intreresting visit. Loved the hamocks on the private patios with each room. Located away from the hustle and bustle of Mal Pais.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We visited with a group of friends for a friend's wedding and thought the place was very average. Very remote place far from town. Great things about it were the rooms were cleaned daily and the villa had a fridge (nice especially for storing cold beverages). There is also free breakfast, though small portions and minimal options. The pool is small and they NEVER had towels available. It was also crowded with the staff's family/kids taking up a lot of the chairs and shade. The beach is definitely not "steps away" like advertised...it's across the street a ways and it's a very rocky beach. There are lots of bugs (expected for the area I guess) so shake your clothes and check your sheets. There were howler monkeys in the trees which was neat but unfortunately had a crab infestation in the room after it rained. Bring a flash light as well because paths are dark. We didn't have a car and taking taxis to Santa Teresa where all the restaurants and shops were was about $6-10/cab ride. They should really have free bikes at the resort. Plan to rent a car yourself. Beware the roads are very rocky and unpaved. The staff was somewhat friendly, but not overly nice or accommodating. The restaurant food was decent but expensive...about $8-$9, even for lunch. I guess overall it just was average to us. Would look at other options if we were to travel to the Nicoya peninsula again. Maybe stay right in Santa Teresa and/or Montezuma.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This was an amazing place to stay. My first time to Costa Rica and this topped it off. Clean and comfortable and beautiful in every direction. Really friendly staff and very helpful. The restaurant was delicious and had amazing food. I don't have one bad thing to stay. We WILL be back. Thank you Beija Flor
Tori

Room Tip: We stayed in the Master Villa and it was very quiet and right by anything in the hotel. Nice room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. We got a great room with an outdoor bathroom. Wasn't expecting the mosquito net but definitely happy to have it. The staff was very nice and helpful. We had breakfast at the little cafe on site a couple times, which was really good made to order authentic food. The pool was average, not too many people so we enjoyed the rafts and lounging alone. We both got massages in a breezy gazebo, very relaxing. They have a beautiful huge yoga gazebo. Unfortunately there weren't any classes during my time there but would have liked to taken advantage of that. We definitely felt like we were staying in the wilderness. We walked around the grounds with a flashlight sometimes and heard many birds and animals rustling around. Directly across the way is a path to the ocean, it's a rocky section but a great walk and beautiful view. Overall a great place to stay for 2-3 days on your journey.

It is a bit far down the road from the main section of town so we rented bikes for about $5 a day. Beware it gets dark on the road at night so be careful riding. The roads are dirt and rocky but it made for a fun adventure. Don't miss Las Piedras grill in town, delicious! and BYOB so stop for a six pack. We also stumbled upon some great beach bars and a wood burning oven pizza place. Mal Pais and the surrounding little towns are mostly surfers so the nightlife isn't exactly jumpin but still present. DON'T forget to stop at The Bakery. We went multiple times while we were there. Freshest food (breakfast & lunch), coffee, bread, a/c and nicest owners.

Pura Vida

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indigo Yoga Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Yoga Surf Resort

Address: 2Km Sur de el Cruze de Playa Caarmen, Mal Pais 10100, Costa Rica (Formerly Beija Flor Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort is a boutique hotel in Mal Pais, on the southern-most tip of the Nicoya peninsula. Just 2 kilometers from the Cabo Blanco Natural Reserve and steps away from the Pacific Ocean, it provides everything a person seeking relaxation and comfort needs:our eleven spacious rooms and one fully-equipped villa combine warm colors and local materials with a modern design. They are located in a tropical garden, which iguanas, squirrels and many birds call their home. We also offer a fine-dining restaurant, a coffee shop, a pool lounge area, as well as our own spa and yoga deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Indigo Yoga Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beija Flor Hotel Mal Pais
Beija Flor Mal Pais
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo Yoga Surf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.