We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ritmo Tropical

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ritmo Tropical to your Saves list
Hotel Ritmo Tropical
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts. sur del cruce Playa Carmen, Mal Pais., Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Kingston, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Loved it. Nice, clean and comfortable little cabinas surrounding a big pool. Great restaurant with many yummy choices, friendly people and service. Nice big Mojito's I might add!

Our room had a queen bed and bunk bed, a bar fridge and bathroom. More than enough for our little holiday stay with myself, my wife and two 5yr old boys. The pool is great for kids, as it has a decent amount of shallow area, plus a 0.5m deep bench around one side. Kids loved it, and so did we.

The only shortcoming, not specifically attributable to this place, is that it is fronted by gravel road with not much shoulder to it (there is ONLY gravel road in this area), so the walk to the beach is a dusty and need to keep kids in step rounding the corner. A short sidewalk or wider should just to El Cruce would be perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
19
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am confused by the strange review below because I stayed there around the same time (late November, early December) and the grounds were immaculate, the food delicious and the staff very helpful. You are allowed to charge any drinks or food to your room and pay at the end of your stay, which is what we did, and the prices are very reasonable. We ate breakfast here every day before heading out to the beach or reading by the pool, and the food was delicious and fresh. It turned into a leisurely little routine. We could have eaten elsewhere, but the prices at the Bakery were very high and the food just as good (although with variety) at the Ritmo. I am from NYC also, and I generally have pretty high standards when it comes to places to stay. We were staying at another hotel nearby and switched to the Ritmo because it looked so nice.

The hotel manager is very accommodating and he took our reservations himself. He did not have change but we just used the extra on our tab at the restaurant. Another lady works there but she is there less frequently. The hotel manager sits in the restaurant all day and is easy to find.

The best part is the free coffee that is out all day with nice mugs. I borrowed a book from the office and read by the pool with my coffee many days. You could really not find a better place to stay for the price. It's close to the beach, well-kept, good food, great air-conditioned cabina to sleep in. I loved it and can't wait to go back!

We ate dinner here 3 nights as well and we had pizza that was different than but just as good as from NYC. Good drinks as well and it seems like a lot of the local surfers and families like to come here to eat as well. When I asked a couple of friends I made down there where they liked to eat they said Ritmo was their favorite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Room/property overview:
The hotel is situated about 5-minute walk down a dirt road from the beach. The rooms are a good size - our "room" was actually a standalone house, and had a double bed, a single bed, a mini fridge, a big bathroom, and a front porch. The house also had an additional shower outside so that we didn't have to get sand all over the place.
The hotel has a nice pool, although the chairs never seem to have the cushions on them, and finding someone to find the cushions is near impossible (the lounge chairs are wooden & very hard to lay on otherwise).
We went to the restaurant once for breakfast, but there are so many better places nearby that we didn't return. The service was really bad & the food wasn't good. I ordered banana pancakes (which I had been ordering almost every other day for breakfast at the other restaurants nearby), and they served me normal pancakes with cut up bananas on the site. Travesty!!!

Customer Service:
There is only ONE person who deals with reservations. We thought about leaving Mal Pais a few days early to go to another part of Costa Rica, and tried to get in touch with with this woman for 3 days. We spoke to the hotel manager and he said she reports to him, but he has nothing to do with reservations. Every time we went to the office for something - getting pool chair cushions, finding out bus timetables, buying a bottle of soda, trying to sort out reservations, it was a huge ordeal. The office was empty 90% of the time and we had to go around the property trying to find someone who worked there. The bar that was "open" during the day was never staffed, and when there was someone there, they never had change & would just overcharge for whatever drink we were getting. It's not a big deal - they would take 1000 for a drink that was 900 and would say they didn't have 100 Colones change, but it happened repeatedly. It struck me as odd, since if I tried to pay 800 Colones for a 900 drink, they would probably not accept being shortchanged.

Overall, the hotel was worth it for the money we paid - I just wish they were a little more available for their customers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We saw this place on tripadvisor, and then by chance talking to one of our friends they mentioned they had stayed there (and highly recommended it!), so we gave it a shot. Made a reservation online, but when we got there they couldn't find it - no worries, they had rooms available (but maybe just double-check your reservation before you leave; better yet, CALL them to confirm? We just dealt with the hotel through email). The staff was super laid-back and nice, and they give a discount if you pay cash. We didn't have any cash on us but they were like "No problem, just go to the ATM and pay later"... soooo trusting! This was one thing we really liked about Costa Rica - the people are chill and stress-free.

Anyhow, back to the hotel. The place is kept immaculate - everything looks just like in the pictures. The room was small (we had two double beds and a mini-fridge crammed into the room with two surfboards) but has a built in shelving system and board storage rack so that helped keep it organized. Big bathroom. Nice pool. Great AC (it is REALLY hot in Mal Pais!!!) And EXCELLENT restaurant - we got a pizza and some beers and the pizza was really good. They have a bar too if you dont want to drink beer. We noticed that around 8pm the restaurant filled up - it appeared as though both locals and tourists alike were hanging out here. Also, the price we paid for this place was really good (around 30 or 35 dollars US I think?). It's a 2-minute walk from one of the most gorgeous beaches I have ever been on, and the surf is good for both beginners and more advanced riders. Mal Pais/Santa Teresa is VERY small so there is not a whole lot of nightlife or ANYTHING going on really, except relaxation, surfing, and maybe some yoga at some places, so be prepared for that. (I wasn't, so after 3 days I was a little bored, but if that's what you want your vacation to consist of, this place is right up your alley.) There is a grocery store within walking distance and 5-6 restaurants and bars within a 5 minute walk as well. If I ever go back to Mal Pais, I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms open out onto a courtyard with a beautiful pool - probably can't go wrong in any of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Howdy travellers, we are a 50+ aussie couple , well travelled. It was great to arrive a RT , lovely aircon, coffee urn on the go all morning. Sensational kitchen staff with gourmet pizza and italian food. Close enough to the beach but far enough from the night life of town this is an excellent establishment. Thank you Johnathon and staff you made our stay a good one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa,ca
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

after checking in to what at first glance appeared to be a good place....the trouble began! Turned on the bathroom sink to wash my hands and the knob came off in my hand. Water splashing everywere. The front desk manned by a 14 year old boy was unable to rectify the problem. After 15-20 minutes ( I had turned off the water under the sink) the owner came in and "fixed" the problem. so we thought! Now There was no water as the knob had basically been jammed on. not repaired mind you! OK could be worse. We'll just use the shower water as a sink. Then the air conditioner ceased to function. This was repaired. Then the toilet wouldnt flush. when I told the owner that the toilet wouldnt function he began yelling and gesticulating. God knows what he was saying. Needless to say we left. Dont stay here its a dump. be forwarned!

Room Tip: Find another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My 3 girlfriends and I stayed at this gem of a hotel in April 2012. First off, the photos on their website and Trip Advisor don’t really do it justice. From the moment we arrived, we knew we had made a great choice. It’s charming, comfortable, well located and carefully maintained. After seeing a variety of other hotels we could have stayed at in the area, we all agreed that Ritmo provided the best value without compromising on quality.

LOCATION: We decided to fly from San Jose to Tambor on Nature Air (beautiful view of the coast and islands, totally worth it by the way). We arranged a shuttle/SUV taxi through the hotel that took about 40 mins and cost $50 USD for 4 people. The hotel is about a 5 min walk to the beach and a 3 min walk to a variety of shops, restaurants, banks and pharmacy. We liked being close to the restaurants, bars and nightlife, but not smack in the middle of it. Apart from the howler monkeys, birds and occasional iguana on our roof, Ritmo was very quiet at night.

ACCOMMODATION: We stayed in bungalow #5, right in front of the oh-so-lovely pool. We were very pleased with our room. Simple, yet spacious and clean. We had a mini fridge, large ceiling fan and working AC wall unit, which was awesome on those 35+ degree days. The cleaning lady came once a day and was respectful of our things or requests for more towels.

RESTAURANTS: We were blown away by the food at Ritmo’s restaurant (again, steps away from our bungalow). A perfect spot to start the day off with some delicious CR coffee and breakfast. We also enjoyed several dinners here and loved their seafood dishes and pizza. We were also spoiled by amazing dinners we had at the other local restaurants like Vista de Olas and Pranamar.

STAFF & LOCALS: The hotel manager Jonathan took very good care of us during our stay. Anything we needed, whether it be restaurant recommendations, taxis or renting ATVs, he was happy to help. The other staff were very friendly as well. We also had the opportunity to meet a lot of great Costa Ricans and foreigners working in the area – everyone was very sweet and helpful.

BEACH: Great beach for long (safe) walks, boogey boarding, surfing (beginner or advanced, not so great for intermediate supposedly) and playing in the waves. We were super impressed about how few other people were on the beach and the lack of garbage and pesky vendors.

ACTIVITIES: Would totally recommend renting ATVs and driving to Montezuma. We did this on an overcast day and loved it.

Overall, we had a fantastic trip and Ritmo was the perfect home base for us. The worst part about this hotel was having to leave it. We’re already talking about planning another trip next year to Ritmo with a bigger group of couples.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ritmo Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritmo Tropical

Address: 100 mts. sur del cruce Playa Carmen, Mal Pais., Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ritmo Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the beat of the nature on one acre tropical gardens. The chant of colorful birds, the sound of the night wild-life and the constant waves of the Pacific Ocean. Let Ritmo Tropical be your host to make your holidays the best you ever had. Come enjoy Costa Rica with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ritmo Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritmo Tropical Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Ritmo Tropical Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ritmo Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.