We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel double-booked; room cancelled 4 days before trip.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ritmo Tropical

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ritmo Tropical to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Ritmo Tropical
100 mts. sur del cruce Playa Carmen, Mal Pais., Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Mal Pais
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel double-booked; room cancelled 4 days before trip.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I did not stay at this place, so I cannot say whether it was a great place, but I will say that the hotel emailed me 4 days before I was supposed to leave for Costa Rica saying they accidentally double booked the room and we no longer had a place to stay. I was extremely disappointed to hear this, especially after reading so many great reviews.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
16
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We've stayed a week in Ritmo Tropical and loved it! The rooms are spacious with fridge and big safe and a lovely porch where we regularly sat. Poolarea is beautiful, with comfortable deck chairs; pool was also for small kids very suitable. There is even an outdoor fitness area, that we didn't use (far too hot), so don't know the quality. Good wifi connection in the whole hotel and last but not least a fantastic restaurant, with complimentary coffee during the day. We've tried a lot of places but actually the food in the hotel restaurant was the best. And despite the fact that it was quiet in the whole village, the ritmo tropical restaurant was most of the times the one with most people and a nice atmosphere. All in all great value, one of our best stays during our 6 weeks holiday. One small negative remark. The host family didn't really give us the feeling we were very welcome, nothing wrong, but also nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Ritmo Tropical is a great value - approximately $60-$70/night depending on the season. Great location - only a 3 minute walk from surfing at Playa Carmen, but yet just off the main road - so quiet and peaceful. I believe there are only 7 casitas on the property, so the pool area is the perfect spot to relax after surfing or a day of exploring. The restaurant on property is also one of the best in the area. On the negative, the shower water wasn't always "hot" and just expect the basics in your room - no hair dryers or irons. While in the area, our other favorite restaurants included: Brisas Del Mar - by Buenos Aires, simple combo specials at the Playa Carmen hotel - can't beat Ceviche and a beer for $4, Restaurant Chameleon is a great breakfast spot - great fruit smoothies and breakfast burritos. Also, the "Surf Hole" also referred to as the "[---] Hole" is the cheapest place to rent boards - only $5/day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polson, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

The Ritmo Tropical is so beautiful !!! The cabinas are modern, clean, quiet, roomy, private and for longer stays the owner was willing to reduce the price. The staff was pleasant and the grounds immaculate - including the pool. You can hear the surf from your room at night unlike another hotel down the road with an 'on the beach' location that is surrounded by bars on both sides with loud music that's impossible to ignore. The restaurant offers delicious food, good portions and as a pizza officianado I couldn't stop ordering their thin crust variety of authentic Italian pie. It can be a little loud until the restaurant closes at night but it's a popular place and it does seem to close down by 10:30PM. After staying at several hotels in Costa Rica - some double the price of the Ritmo - I came to really appreciate the silent fan and air conditioner in my room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

I stayed in the hotel for 2 weeks and it was AMAZING! Everything was top quality and I enjoyed every moment there: relaxing in the pool, enjoying the big room with many windows and perfect Wi-Fi, exclusive food, and most of all - wonderful welcome from the family that runs the hotel. They all became friends and made my stay unforgettable. The restaurant provides a great menu from real italian pizza to fresh seafood meals, always super-fresh and delicious. Location is perfect - in a quiet part of Malpais, but only 3 min walk from the beach and banks/taxis/shops/restaurants. I want to go back!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We had 14 days to spend in costa rica with no plans and ended up spending 7 days here in paradise...it was amazing!!! $30 a night on the beach with a pool..couldnt ask for better. The pool was always clean day and night. The bungalow rooms had a fan, ac, safe, hot water, and TV! I did not want to leave. I will definitely be returning asap

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon through Costa Rica. We were so happy with the Ritmo Tropical that we cut out another stop on our vacation to spend more time here. RT is in a great spot, right in the middle of everything you will want to do in Mal Pais/Playa Carmen. The family that runs this hotel is so nice, we basically felt like a part of their family after a day. Comfortable rooms, with plenty of channels on the cable. A great restaurant/bar in the middle of the bungalow circle, as well as a nice pool to spend some time in the afternoon. The family will also help you plan activities (like zip-lining) around town. We hope to get back there one day!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ritmo Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritmo Tropical

Also Known As:
Ritmo Tropical Hotel Mal Pais
Ritmo Tropical Hotel
Hotel Ritmo Tropical Costa Rica/Mal Pais
Address: 100 mts. sur del cruce Playa Carmen, Mal Pais., Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the beat of the nature on one acre tropical gardens. The chant of colorful birds, the sound of the night wild-life and the constant waves of the Pacific Ocean. Let Ritmo Tropical be your host to make your holidays the best you ever had. Come enjoy Costa Rica with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ritmo Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ritmo Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.