We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caliches Wishbone

Caliches Wishbone
Center of Town Pastor Diaz Avenue | Avenida Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica
+506 2643 3406
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 101 Restaurants in Jaco
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: In the hub of Jaco's surf community, Caliche's Wishbone has been slicing and dicing up it's recipes since 1995.The Wishbone is well known for its unique mix of casual to exotic ingredients , from pitas to poke, tacos to tuna, pizza to pad thai, we have the dish for you. So come to the local hot spot, order up some fresh catch, get the kids a pizza and enjoy the view. WiFi and people watching FREE!Pura Vida,The Wishbone Tribe.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great restaurant and had a ridiculously good meal. Prices were competitive and quality excellent with fresh fish and vegetables. Staff is madd cool. Get the Ahi Poke!!!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    71
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant Suprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The place looks like a tropical version of Applebee's, but don't let that stop you from eating here. We really enjoyed our meal. The food was fresh and delicious and the service was so good. Our waiter was fantastic! If we go back to Jaco, we will absolutely eat here again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing. Freshest seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Ate here 5 times on this trip. The poke bowl and whole snapper rival the finest seafood restaurants in the states! Don't miss this place when in jaco!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stopped here for dinner after exploring Jaco, a lively beach town. It appeared to be your conventional beach town restaurant...bustling, indoor and open air eating areas, bar. The menu was extensive and when the food arrived we were all pleasantly surprised at the presentation, the quality of food, and the generous portions! Service was excellent. Prices were similar to what I expect in our So Cal beach town restaurants. A great way to end our day!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Driving into a strange city and realizing you haven't eaten in quite awhile, you try to search out something that looks passible. Your not expecting great, or even good, just something to take the hunger away until dinner time. And then you spot a Trip Advisor decal.

All I can say is, We only ordered pizza and explained that we didn't like the fat size that most people like but thin and they were happy to accommodate. The waiter even recommended that maybe Katerina and I share a medium pizza with half her way and half mine and it would save
us some money. The Pineapple Juice was fresh squeezed and delicious, my beer was ICE cold as I like it. The pizza was as good as any we have had and paid 2-3 times more for.

I recommend to everyone, look for that Trip Advisor Decal more & more, it will lead you to the right place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliches Wishbone also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Caliches Wishbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caliches Wishbone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.