We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of my list” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caliches Wishbone

Caliches Wishbone
Main Street Center of Town | Avenida Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica
+506 2643 3406
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 93 restaurants in Jaco
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: In the hub of Jaco's surf community, Caliche's Wishbone has been slicing and dicing up it's recipes since 1995.The Wishbone is well known for its unique mix of casual to exotic ingredients , from pitas to poke, tacos to tuna, pizza to pad thai, we have the dish for you. So come to the local hot spot, order up some fresh catch, get the kids a pizza and enjoy the view. WiFi and people watching FREE!Pura Vida,The Wishbone Tribe.
jaco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Top of my list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Always on my list when in Jaco.....the menu is for all taste buds and all budgets. My latest crave has been the octupus poke, so delicious.....my friend enjoyed the ceviche and we shared the not to be missed stuffed potatoe.
A spot not to be missed on your visit to Jaco

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    151
    64
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Must Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

It is a great place right on the main road. The staff is wonderful and the food it great! We were there during Easter week, but it was still awesome!
The Tuna Poke was my son's favorite! The pizza was a family pleaser on a late lunch day as is the stuffed potatos if you want to change up from their fantasitic fish.
Can't say enough!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best whole red snapper in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The choice of fresh seafood prepared to perfection was a delight. The whole red snapper which is a traditionally deep fried in Costa Rica is grilled at Wishbone for a healthier, tasty option. Service was impeccable and the hostess a delight. I would recommend it to anyone passing through the Central Pacific coast of Costa Rica.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

for a fun time with good food this is a place to go...the staff is friendly and the owner Caliche is a very nice guy....and the prices are reasonable

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Generous portions but pricier than suggested here *Beware**”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We picked this restaurant based on information I found on tripadvisor. While as expected the food was delicious and abundant it was not the `cheap eats` place suggested here.
Forget $5-$ and expect more like $12- $25. Still very good value and I would definitely recommend it. My dinner mates had the Mahi tacos (16$) and the stuffed calzones ($20 once toppings added). The calzone I experienced first hand was delicious. I had a more traditional house dish a flour tortilla wrapped around tender shredded beef and topped with an unidentifiable but delicious cheese like sauce. My dish was acompanied with delicious black beans, rice and fresh salsa heavy on cilantro. By far the best deal at about $12. Service was prompt and friendly. Great place for a big appetite!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliches Wishbone also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Caliches Wishbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caliches Wishbone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.