We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALL I WANTED TO EAT IN COSTA RICA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caliches Wishbone

Caliches Wishbone
Center of Town Pastor Diaz Avenue | Avenida Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica
+506 2643 3406
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 98 Restaurants in Jaco
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: In the hub of Jaco's surf community, Caliche's Wishbone has been slicing and dicing up it's recipes since 1995.The Wishbone is well known for its unique mix of casual to exotic ingredients , from pitas to poke, tacos to tuna, pizza to pad thai, we have the dish for you. So come to the local hot spot, order up some fresh catch, get the kids a pizza and enjoy the view. WiFi and people watching FREE!Pura Vida,The Wishbone Tribe.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“ALL I WANTED TO EAT IN COSTA RICA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

"What should we eat tonight?"
This was a question that was rarely asked during our 17 day stay in Costa Rica.
Caliches was our 1st choice. Sometimes we even ate here for lunch AND dinner.
We would drive by and see the restaurant and let out a small cry for the BLACK BEANS.
They are magical.
I'm from LA where I have access to many different types of food but there was honestly nothing like these black beans and fresh chips.

The POKI & INSANITY PITA are to DIE FOR.
CIPRIHANA was my go-to drink every time.

You must believe all the good things people say about this place. There's a reason they're in all the Costa Rican travel books.

Not only is the food amazing.. the staff and owners are some of the most beautiful people inside and out. So accommodating and loving!

When I think of Costa Rica, yes, I think of the birds, sights, and beaches.. But what I miss the most is Kristen and Caliche's Wishbone. NO JOKE.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    70
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herradura, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Super yummy cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stopped here for lunch after spending some time on the beach in Jaco. Sat at a table with a view of the downtown area. Food was exceptional, my husband had a black bean and tortilla appetizer with a nacho meal and I had a mahi burrito. Everything was awesome, including the quick service. Really relaxed, chill place. The drinks were awesome too, we had milk smoothies that was large and super yummy. highly recommend stopping here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced for average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Not impressed with this restaurant. The food was average- nothing really noteworthy or special. Very expensive for what you get. Portions were decent, but the food subpar. I ordered a Veggie Quesadilla, and it did not have any flavor and very little cheese on it. There are much better options- there was a Peruvian restaurant where our bill was about the same, but we experienced gourmet foods, full of flavor, and more variety on the menu. The location of this restaurant gives it the opportunity to overcharge. Definitely a tourist restaurant- no culture.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best Tuna Sashimi Lunch in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We visit Jaco about 4 times a year and having lunch at Wishbone is top of our list. The tuna sashimi plate is the best in town - a simple and healthy lunch. The frozen margaritas are also a great treat at lunch when paired with the guacamole and pico.

Very casual and easy - no reservations needed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Jaco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Caliche's Wishbone is an absolute must! It has a fantastic atmosphere, great people, great food, and always provides a great experience. The food is very delicious, with nice big large portions! Great for leftovers or sharing :) Thanks for helping my stay in Costa Rica be so fantastic!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliches Wishbone also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Caliches Wishbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caliches Wishbone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.