We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you David!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Encantada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Encantada to your Saves list
Bahia Encantada
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   50 oeste Congos | 75 meters West, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thank you David!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Many thanks to our host, David Kish, for securing these wonderful accommodations for us in such a great location!! Great condo!! The condo/resort is great place to enjoy the surf & pool by day and then it's an easy walk into town for dinner at night. Or you can stay in and eat local seafood - it's fresh & delicious!! We stayed over Christmas break, which if you're looking for solitude, rest & you want to be in bed by 7 - this is NOT your town or at least not your time of year! If you're looking for a week or more - we stayed 10 days - with so much to do right at your door, then this is your vacation!! :-) The 2 bdrm 2 bath unit we stayed in was clean, bright and directly faced the ocean, with direct beachfront & the pool mere steps away - it was spacious, clean and well appointed. We stocked the fridge & had breakfast every day on the lanai watching the wild birds, he breaking surf and sometimes a horse or two. Beautiful view - lovely breeze!! Location is great for walking & jogging on the beach, great for surfing, great for families with kids. (The bar next door is very, very conveniently located next door, it's filled with live music & lively patrons - not the condo for you if you have babies!! We don't so, it was perfect!) Overall - this was a great place to stay for a very reasonable price! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: If you are a 'people person' the 1st floor beach-front unit is perfect. Great to jump from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi Cheryl. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Bahia Encantada. We look forward to seeing you next year :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    2
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We cannot say enough good things about the quality of the service we received! Lisle, the new manager at DayStar, made our stay the best we have had in Costa Rica! He knows Jaco Beach as well or better than anyone else you could meet and all of his suggestions were top notch! As for the unit itself, you cannot beat the location or the quality of the units and, because they are full functional condos with kitchens you can avoid dining out all the time. We travel with our 3 year old son and making healthy food for him is critical for us. No hotel is perfect all the time- but it is how the management responds to the little things that makes all the difference - DayStar has a winning team at work. Thanks Lisle! See you again soon!

Room Tip: Ground floor units are ideal for kids with access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks Jed. We really enjoyed you and your family here at Daystar. We looking forward to seeing you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful, wonderful week here - beautiful pool area - lovely beach views - great little local bar restaurant right next door that we could pop over to. Balcony with a table overlooking the pool courtyard. Easy walk to downtown. Perfect fit for our crowd.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
HI Elizabeth. Thanks for the review. We enjoyed your group as well and look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
90 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We checked in to this place and was amaze. They advertised with beach front view and pool bar which we didnt. It was more like a peek of the beach the pool bar was not in working condition. All of their furniture in the room and in the balcony were falling apart and dirty. I usually dont like to write bad review but want people to know and just fall for advertise. We went back to the office, they did moved us to the Palms which is a much much better property, new, nice very clean and all the rooms with beach front view.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hi Courtney. I'm truly sorry that your experience at Bahia Encantada wasn't what you expect. I'm glad we where able to accommodate you at The Palms and you enjoyed that property. We have been working hard over the past 5 months getting Bahia Encantada cleaned up so this will never happen again. Hopefully you will come back again and we can show you the difference. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Three couples stayed in the three bedroom suite. Place was clean and had great view. Instead of paying $100 per person for adventure dining we had a personal chef (arranged by our hosts) come in and make all six of us dinner and dessert for $20 per person. Food was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

After a month of researching here and other places my girlfriend and I booked our July/August trip to Costa Rica, 4 days which would be spent in Jaco. This was in April. We have been counting down the days that we would be spending in the Penthouse Suite (G5) while there. However we received a call today (June 14th) that they are refunding our money because they are closing the Bahia Encantada during that time to do "roof repairs". Since we got a good deal during low season I slightly think they may have just rented it for more money. We are now stuck looking for a place in Jaco that will be equal to the stay we were expecting (beachfront, penthouse, pool, price, etc) a month and half from when we will be departing for the vacation. Hopefully we get lucky. Of course they reccomended we look at their other Daystar properties since they own them, but with this experience I think that is nixed. I can't write on the place specifically but cancelling someones reservation they made after you have taken their money is ridiculous.I will definitely be sure to stop by and check while I am there and will write a follow up based on the outcome of whether they were actually doing repairs and whether they refund is fully.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I would like to start off by apologizing for what you had to experience with your room getting cancelled. I can assure you that we didn't rent your unit to someone else at a higher price and that we where doing repairs on the roof. This was really out of our control as it was requested by the Home Owners Association and need to be completed. I really wish we could have put in one of our other 4 projects on the beach. Again we apologize for this and hope that you enjoyed your stay in Jaco Beach and will be back. We are working hard every day to improve and your feedback helps us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is great if your looking for a nice place near the beach. The pros definately outnumber the cons!
Pros: near beach, kitchenette ( large refridgerator to store mix drinks and snacks), nice location however we had a car and drove to the strip to eat, boogie boards are8 bucks a day, nice waves, gorgeous pool, during the day if you want a snack or tasty beverage Claritas has some tasty drinks and descent appetizers

Cons: no bartender but ended up saving money by making our own, the bar next store gets loud on the weekend, no chairs to recline on or rent on the beach ( not a big problem but this would have been nice), and we had to wear a wrist band to enter facility however we did feel super safe here because security approves you and then opens/closes the gate to the hotel.

We would definately go back and take those surfing lessons we never got to do.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
1.9 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
4.1 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#5 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 896 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#4 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
2.7 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Encantada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Encantada

Address: 50 oeste Congos | 75 meters West, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Encantada 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Encantada is an impressive resort-like community at the northern end of Jaco Beach, Costa Rica.Bahia Encantada offers incredible ocean views over a series of infinity pools from what is widely considered Jaco's most beautiful beachfront estate. Spacious 2 and 3-bedroom condos boast luxurious comforts and numerous terraces, including private rooftop terraces atop all penthouse suites. Bahia Encantada offers several floor plans for two- and three-bedroom condos, with two or three baths, and ranging in size from 1,200 to 1,800 square feet. A spacious three-bedroom unit comfortably sleeps six to seven people. All rental condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet access, in-unit laundry, balconies with great views, telephone service, cable programming, and large LCD televisions with DVD players. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bahia Encantada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Bahia Encantada Hotel Jaco
Bahia Encantada Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Encantada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.