We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, Service, Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar Bahia Encantada

Save Saved
You added Daystar Bahia Encantada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daystar Bahia Encantada
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   50 oeste Congos, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Key West
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service, Service, Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We cannot say enough good things about the quality of the service we received! Lisle, the new manager at DayStar, made our stay the best we have had in Costa Rica! He knows Jaco Beach as well or better than anyone else you could meet and all of his suggestions were top notch! As for the unit itself, you cannot beat the location or the quality of the units and, because they are full functional condos with kitchens you can avoid dining out all the time. We travel with our 3 year old son and making healthy food for him is critical for us. No hotel is perfect all the time- but it is how the management responds to the little things that makes all the difference - DayStar has a winning team at work. Thanks Lisle! See you again soon!

Room Tip: Ground floor units are ideal for kids with access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks Jed. We really enjoyed you and your family here at Daystar. We looking forward to seeing you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a wonderful, wonderful week here - beautiful pool area - lovely beach views - great little local bar restaurant right next door that we could pop over to. Balcony with a table overlooking the pool courtyard. Easy walk to downtown. Perfect fit for our crowd.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
HI Elizabeth. Thanks for the review. We enjoyed your group as well and look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We checked in to this place and was amaze. They advertised with beach front view and pool bar which we didnt. It was more like a peek of the beach the pool bar was not in working condition. All of their furniture in the room and in the balcony were falling apart and dirty. I usually dont like to write bad review but want people to know and just fall for advertise. We went back to the office, they did moved us to the Palms which is a much much better property, new, nice very clean and all the rooms with beach front view.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hi Courtney. I'm truly sorry that your experience at Bahia Encantada wasn't what you expect. I'm glad we where able to accommodate you at The Palms and you enjoyed that property. We have been working hard over the past 5 months getting Bahia Encantada cleaned up so this will never happen again. Hopefully you will come back again and we can show you the difference. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Three couples stayed in the three bedroom suite. Place was clean and had great view. Instead of paying $100 per person for adventure dining we had a personal chef (arranged by our hosts) come in and make all six of us dinner and dessert for $20 per person. Food was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

After a month of researching here and other places my girlfriend and I booked our July/August trip to Costa Rica, 4 days which would be spent in Jaco. This was in April. We have been counting down the days that we would be spending in the Penthouse Suite (G5) while there. However we received a call today (June 14th) that they are refunding our money because they are closing the Bahia Encantada during that time to do "roof repairs". Since we got a good deal during low season I slightly think they may have just rented it for more money. We are now stuck looking for a place in Jaco that will be equal to the stay we were expecting (beachfront, penthouse, pool, price, etc) a month and half from when we will be departing for the vacation. Hopefully we get lucky. Of course they reccomended we look at their other Daystar properties since they own them, but with this experience I think that is nixed. I can't write on the place specifically but cancelling someones reservation they made after you have taken their money is ridiculous.I will definitely be sure to stop by and check while I am there and will write a follow up based on the outcome of whether they were actually doing repairs and whether they refund is fully.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I would like to start off by apologizing for what you had to experience with your room getting cancelled. I can assure you that we didn't rent your unit to someone else at a higher price and that we where doing repairs on the roof. This was really out of our control as it was requested by the Home Owners Association and need to be completed. I really wish we could have put in one of our other 4 projects on the beach. Again we apologize for this and hope that you enjoyed your stay in Jaco Beach and will be back. We are working hard every day to improve and your feedback helps us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great if your looking for a nice place near the beach. The pros definately outnumber the cons!
Pros: near beach, kitchenette ( large refridgerator to store mix drinks and snacks), nice location however we had a car and drove to the strip to eat, boogie boards are8 bucks a day, nice waves, gorgeous pool, during the day if you want a snack or tasty beverage Claritas has some tasty drinks and descent appetizers

Cons: no bartender but ended up saving money by making our own, the bar next store gets loud on the weekend, no chairs to recline on or rent on the beach ( not a big problem but this would have been nice), and we had to wear a wrist band to enter facility however we did feel super safe here because security approves you and then opens/closes the gate to the hotel.

We would definately go back and take those surfing lessons we never got to do.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The Bahai Encantada is well located (on the beach with 10 min walk to village centre). The property has security and is well maintained. The units are large and holding up very well considering the rental volume.

Jaco (pronounced 'hawko') is a great alternative to Tamarindo. Actually I highly recommend staying away from Tamarindo unles you can limit your stay to a few nights.

Jaco is a village along a sweeping bay with a wide beach and great sunsets. It has several hotels and rental condominiums along the water. Most have nice swimming pools. The village has several good restaurants (best for us was the Wahoo).

If you land at the San Jose International Airport there is now a very good highway to Jaco (about a 90 m,inute drive). If you have a rental car you can make some cool day trips out of Jaco:
1) 60 min south to Quepos and the Mannual Antonius Park
2)15 min north to Herradura (turn east at the intersection for great Zip Lining or turn west to Los Suenos Marina
3) 25 min north to the Crocodile Bridge
4) 2 hour north (30 min north of San Jose) to the La Paz waterfalls and game park (zoo)
5) 45 min north to Punta Arenas (a town who's day has past but also where the ferry goes to the Tambor area

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daystar Bahia Encantada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar Bahia Encantada

Address: 50 oeste Congos, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daystar Bahia Encantada 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Encantada is an impressive resort-like community at the northern end of Jaco Beach, Costa Rica.Bahia Encantada offers incredible ocean views over a series of infinity pools from what is widely considered Jaco's most beautiful beachfront estate. Spacious 2 and 3-bedroom condos boast luxurious comforts and numerous terraces, including private rooftop terraces atop all penthouse suites. Bahia Encantada offers several floor plans for two- and three-bedroom condos, with two or three baths, and ranging in size from 1,200 to 1,800 square feet. A spacious three-bedroom unit comfortably sleeps six to seven people. All rental condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet access, in-unit laundry, balconies with great views, telephone service, cable programming, and large LCD televisions with DVD players. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Daystar Bahia Encantada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Bahia Encantada Hotel Jaco
Daystar Bahia Encantada Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daystar Bahia Encantada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.