We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled our reservation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar Bahia Encantada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Daystar Bahia Encantada to your Saves list
Daystar Bahia Encantada
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   50 oeste Congos, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Tampa, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cancelled our reservation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

After a month of researching here and other places my girlfriend and I booked our July/August trip to Costa Rica, 4 days which would be spent in Jaco. This was in April. We have been counting down the days that we would be spending in the Penthouse Suite (G5) while there. However we received a call today (June 14th) that they are refunding our money because they are closing the Bahia Encantada during that time to do "roof repairs". Since we got a good deal during low season I slightly think they may have just rented it for more money. We are now stuck looking for a place in Jaco that will be equal to the stay we were expecting (beachfront, penthouse, pool, price, etc) a month and half from when we will be departing for the vacation. Hopefully we get lucky. Of course they reccomended we look at their other Daystar properties since they own them, but with this experience I think that is nixed. I can't write on the place specifically but cancelling someones reservation they made after you have taken their money is ridiculous.I will definitely be sure to stop by and check while I am there and will write a follow up based on the outcome of whether they were actually doing repairs and whether they refund is fully.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I would like to start off by apologizing for what you had to experience with your room getting cancelled. I can assure you that we didn't rent your unit to someone else at a higher price and that we where doing repairs on the roof. This was really out of our control as it was requested by the Home Owners Association and need to be completed. I really wish we could have put in one of our other 4 projects on the beach. Again we apologize for this and hope that you enjoyed your stay in Jaco Beach and will be back. We are working hard every day to improve and your feedback helps us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great if your looking for a nice place near the beach. The pros definately outnumber the cons!
Pros: near beach, kitchenette ( large refridgerator to store mix drinks and snacks), nice location however we had a car and drove to the strip to eat, boogie boards are8 bucks a day, nice waves, gorgeous pool, during the day if you want a snack or tasty beverage Claritas has some tasty drinks and descent appetizers

Cons: no bartender but ended up saving money by making our own, the bar next store gets loud on the weekend, no chairs to recline on or rent on the beach ( not a big problem but this would have been nice), and we had to wear a wrist band to enter facility however we did feel super safe here because security approves you and then opens/closes the gate to the hotel.

We would definately go back and take those surfing lessons we never got to do.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The Bahai Encantada is well located (on the beach with 10 min walk to village centre). The property has security and is well maintained. The units are large and holding up very well considering the rental volume.

Jaco (pronounced 'hawko') is a great alternative to Tamarindo. Actually I highly recommend staying away from Tamarindo unles you can limit your stay to a few nights.

Jaco is a village along a sweeping bay with a wide beach and great sunsets. It has several hotels and rental condominiums along the water. Most have nice swimming pools. The village has several good restaurants (best for us was the Wahoo).

If you land at the San Jose International Airport there is now a very good highway to Jaco (about a 90 m,inute drive). If you have a rental car you can make some cool day trips out of Jaco:
1) 60 min south to Quepos and the Mannual Antonius Park
2)15 min north to Herradura (turn east at the intersection for great Zip Lining or turn west to Los Suenos Marina
3) 25 min north to the Crocodile Bridge
4) 2 hour north (30 min north of San Jose) to the La Paz waterfalls and game park (zoo)
5) 45 min north to Punta Arenas (a town who's day has past but also where the ferry goes to the Tambor area

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I have read through the other reviews and the complaints are all true:
Can be noisy if people are partying on the beach.
Might see some unwanted lady visitors at night.
Bugs around the kitchen.
Not many activities for kids.
Pool bar closed during low season.

Guess what.....this is Jaco! I walked up and down the beach and the town several times and this is by far the nicest property on the beach. I was in the Penthouse #L3 and each room has a nice balcony, the main balcony is on the corner overlooking both the beach and the pool, and the rooftop terrace has a nice view of the entire beach. It was a little annoying to see bugs in the kitchen, but if you rinse all your dishes and throw them in the dishwasher you shouldn't have any problems. Having the full kitchen and washer/dryer are a HUGE plus. I saw someone complain that the penthouse didn't have tv's in every room, but we did, so perhaps this was a recent upgrade. There is security at both the front and back entrance at all times and they are very friendly. I prefer a place with a concierge available 24/7 but for the most part the security guards were able to help me when necessary. I had a problem with my thermostat and called the headquarters, someone was in my room fixing the problem within 5 minutes. There were a few families with kids enjoying the beautiful pool area (3 separate pools including a small one for kids), so I'm not sure what more people want for their kids. Yes there are a lot of hookers in Jaco....if you read the reviews, every hotel has mention of them, so if you don't like it, Jaco isn't the place for you...it is not the fault of the hotel. And yes, it's nice to have the pool bar going, but if it's closed, just grab a bottle and a mixer and make your own drinks (plenty of cups in your room and ice makers in the freezer)...you'll probably save a ton of money anyway. Clarita's next door is a convenient food/bar option and I didn't really have any problems walking into town. A couple times I got lazy and paid the $2 to take a cab...no big deal.

Overall this place is great and I will definitely stay there again. $175 a night for the penthouse overlooking the beach is very reasonable. My only (minor) complaint is that if the maid service is going to only come every other day, it would be nice if they did a little more than a "touch-up" which is to say they made my bed and made sure I had fresh toilet paper. I don't mind cleaning up after myself but it's nice to not have to tidy up and do the dishes while on vacation. If you can understand that any of the complaints apply to pretty much every place in Jaco, then you will definitely see that this is the nicest property overall.

Room Tip: L3 is on the top floor corner adjacent to the beach and the pool. It is on the side next to Clarita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed here in F5 with our three children for a week. Our visit fell into their "slow time" here, so most of the week we had the pool to ourselves. Loved it!!! The beach is beautiful! The view from the room was spectacular! The penthouses are clean and beautifully furnished. The staff is helpful and friendly. Great place to stay!!!!! Would love to come again!

Room Tip: We were in F5 - four balconies - lots of beautiful views!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is a great location. We only stayed one night but should of stayed the week. It is located on the beach and close to town where you can shop and eat. Safe and secure location so you can relax with all the modern thing you could possibly need while your on vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean city, md
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

This is our third year coming to Costa Rica. For the price of their "penthouse" this place is not worth the money. The pool bar which is advertised as one of their services is closed this week and we were not told this. When we asked for a credit in the cost of the room, they said the pool bar is not part of the property though they advertise it on their web site. The terrace furniture is falling apart. Only 1 of the 3 bedrooms has a tv. The "penthouse" is advertised as 2,004 square feet and it's no more than 1200 square feet at best.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I'm sorry it has taken us this long to respond to you. I would like a chance to earn your business back. If you get this message please call us and ask for Lisle and I will personally make sure you are taken care. Again I apologize and hope that you will give us another shot. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daystar Bahia Encantada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar Bahia Encantada

Address: 50 oeste Congos, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daystar Bahia Encantada 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Encantada is an impressive resort-like community at the northern end of Jaco Beach, Costa Rica.Bahia Encantada offers incredible ocean views over a series of infinity pools from what is widely considered Jaco's most beautiful beachfront estate. Spacious 2 and 3-bedroom condos boast luxurious comforts and numerous terraces, including private rooftop terraces atop all penthouse suites. Bahia Encantada offers several floor plans for two- and three-bedroom condos, with two or three baths, and ranging in size from 1,200 to 1,800 square feet. A spacious three-bedroom unit comfortably sleeps six to seven people. All rental condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet access, in-unit laundry, balconies with great views, telephone service, cable programming, and large LCD televisions with DVD players. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Daystar Bahia Encantada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Bahia Encantada Hotel Jaco
Daystar Bahia Encantada Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daystar Bahia Encantada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.