We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar Bahia Encantada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Daystar Bahia Encantada to your Saves list
Daystar Bahia Encantada
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   50 oeste Congos, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed here in F5 with our three children for a week. Our visit fell into their "slow time" here, so most of the week we had the pool to ourselves. Loved it!!! The beach is beautiful! The view from the room was spectacular! The penthouses are clean and beautifully furnished. The staff is helpful and friendly. Great place to stay!!!!! Would love to come again!

Room Tip: We were in F5 - four balconies - lots of beautiful views!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is a great location. We only stayed one night but should of stayed the week. It is located on the beach and close to town where you can shop and eat. Safe and secure location so you can relax with all the modern thing you could possibly need while your on vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean city, md
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

This is our third year coming to Costa Rica. For the price of their "penthouse" this place is not worth the money. The pool bar which is advertised as one of their services is closed this week and we were not told this. When we asked for a credit in the cost of the room, they said the pool bar is not part of the property though they advertise it on their web site. The terrace furniture is falling apart. Only 1 of the 3 bedrooms has a tv. The "penthouse" is advertised as 2,004 square feet and it's no more than 1200 square feet at best.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I'm sorry it has taken us this long to respond to you. I would like a chance to earn your business back. If you get this message please call us and ask for Lisle and I will personally make sure you are taken care. Again I apologize and hope that you will give us another shot. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

I stayed at the Bahia Encantada with a friend for a few days last week. When we checked in, we fell in love with the beautiful property and room. Our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom (2A) room had multiple balconies and beautiful ocean views. Luis helped us to our room and was available to us throughout our stay for questions or help.

The room came stocked with some basic food and drinks, which was nice and also had a full kitchen and washer and dryer. The only issue with the kitchen was there were always little bugs crawling in the sink and all over the counter. No matter how quickly we cleaned or killed them, there were always more.

The hotel isn't right in the middle of Jaco which I thought was a plus since parts of the main street get a little sketchy at night. Everything is a short walk away and Clarita's is right next door for food or drinks.

Security was great, friendly and always around, but a group of 4 men who checked in after us went to the Beatle Bar and brought home 4 prostitutes so maybe security isn't too tight?

I loved this hotel and only have one real complaint. On our second night we were told the water would temporarily be turned off for 3 hours. This wasn't ideal but with the warning, we were able to shower and go out. However, the next night at 7pm they told us the water was off again (no warning) and it didn't come back on until the next afternoon. Not being able to use the bathroom, shower or brush your teeth for almost a full day in a $200/night room isn't okay and while I'm still happy we stayed here, I think the situation could have been handled better.

One tip: book through someone who owns one of the rooms (check Craigslist or vacation rental site). You'll save a ton of money!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Four of us (two couples) stayed at BE for 3 nights in Unit A3. The unit was very clean and comfortable, on the 3rd floor, right on the beach. The roof deck was cool and everything was great. Our only complaint is that kids were screaming in the pool at 7:30AM (maybe even earlier). That is just so wrong. Why do parents think that's OK? Having said that, I would still recommend this place, but if you don't have kids, don't stay near the pool.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

We have been in Jaco for 6 days and have 1 more left. Our group of twelve is staying in G4 & H4. They are each (3) bedroom 2.5 baths condos. They have a full stocked large kitchen, several balconies and tons of room to relax.

The pool borders the beach so you can walk 10ft and be on the beach. The staff is very friendly and super helpful.

I can't give you any negatives on this place. I travel to a different country every march and I think that I am going to come back and stay here again. Everyone in our group was 100% happy with Bahia which is a feat in itself with 12 people.

The view from G4 is much better than H4. If you want a good view make sure you tell them when you book, H4's view isn't that nice, but you can still see the ocean.

I have a bunch of pictures and videos on my facebook if you want to check them out. Add me as a friend Zach Velivis

To sum it up - make it a point to stay here its great!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

My family and I visited Jaco last April for the first time. We stayed in a 3 bedroom penthouse of Bahia Encantada. We had a wonderful time. The staff are incredibly friendly and will go out of there way to ensure you have an incredible trip. The rooms top notch: extremely clean, comfortable, and modern. Our unit had granite countertops as well as a washer and dryer.
The views are incredible. Our unit also had a small terrace on the rooftop where we go in the evenings and catch Macaws flying overhead.
During our trip, we did not have any issues with noise as another traveler has posted. We went to sleep with the sound of waves crashing on the ocean.
Overall, we had a stupendous time and are staying again next month.
For great food on the beach that is not too expensive, try Claritas which is located right next to Bahia Encantada.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Daystar Bahia Encantada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar Bahia Encantada

Address: 50 oeste Congos, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daystar Bahia Encantada 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Encantada is an impressive resort-like community at the northern end of Jaco Beach, Costa Rica.Bahia Encantada offers incredible ocean views over a series of infinity pools from what is widely considered Jaco's most beautiful beachfront estate. Spacious 2 and 3-bedroom condos boast luxurious comforts and numerous terraces, including private rooftop terraces atop all penthouse suites. Bahia Encantada offers several floor plans for two- and three-bedroom condos, with two or three baths, and ranging in size from 1,200 to 1,800 square feet. A spacious three-bedroom unit comfortably sleeps six to seven people. All rental condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet access, in-unit laundry, balconies with great views, telephone service, cable programming, and large LCD televisions with DVD players. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Daystar Bahia Encantada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Bahia Encantada Hotel Jaco
Daystar Bahia Encantada Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daystar Bahia Encantada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.