We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great relaxing spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar La Paloma Blanca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Daystar La Paloma Blanca to your Saves list
Daystar La Paloma Blanca
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Jaco Beachfront at Calle Hidalgo, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“great relaxing spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

We spent 10 days with our family in these condos and they were so relaxing and beautiful. We would recommend it to other travelers!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in a 2 bedroom in this small complex. Our apartment had excellent furnishings. The outlook onto the pool and beyond to the sea was lovely. We were very impressed with the design of all the rooms and balcony.

Our receptionist was very helpful and even took our daughter out one evening to do a little clubbing!

This complex is on the south end Jaco and have acess to the beach that is very beautiful and lovely for walks and sunsets.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

This is a condo arrangement. The building was very nice and well appointed. The location required a taxi ride back and forth at night. We were warned to not walk on the street or the beach at night. The town itself was fine to walk. You can rent surf boards at the hotel and walk them right out the gate to epic surfing. Nice place for families.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Just back from 5 sunny, hot and fun filled days at La Paloma Blanca.
Nicely appointed and maintained condos right on the beach with 4 nice
pools. Very family friendly. 15 minute walk into town or easy 2 USD taxi ride.
Local pizza place and decent homestyle Costa Rican restaurant less than 5 minutes away.
A little too noisy at night but otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

After living in Costa Rica for 2 years we usually expect hoteld to be much less than advertised. This place is AWESOME! We rented 2 three bedroom units for 12 of us. The apartments are very spacious and the pools are wonderful! The units include washer and dryer and full size appliances. The beach is right out the door and the surfing here is excellent. It also has highspeed wireless internet in the rooms. I would and will recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockford, IL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

La Paloma Blanca is just over a year old and it is well appointed, attractive and clean. The pools are beautiful and one is next to the beach. We had a 2 bedroom condo near the main pool (not an ocean view). There is a full kitchen so we made breakfast every morning (helpful because this is not a hotel with a restaurant on site). La Paloma Blaca is on the quiet (south) end of Jaco (good or bad depending on your preference). We rented a car but you can walk into town, probably 10-15 minutes each way. The only problem we encountered was tight parking over the busy easter weekend. Overall, it's fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Stayed at Paloma Blanca from January to the beginning of March 2009, Had a great time beautiful views, nice people, very helpful staff. Taxi ride into town $2.00 US great service. Grocery store Max y Menos( more or less) owned by Walmart, can get almost anything you can get in North America. Beach is clean and garbage emptied every day. We walked into town nearly every day for breakfast at Bohio and then wandered around town until it got too hot and we sat and had an ice cream. Restaurants are great try Pili Pili, Lemon Zest and the Wishbone. Don't miss a trip to Los Suenos and Tortuga Island and the sunsets from Villa Caletas are unbeleivable. We hope to go back next Year.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daystar La Paloma Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar La Paloma Blanca

Address: Jaco Beachfront at Calle Hidalgo, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daystar La Paloma Blanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene beachfront community with 2 and 3-bedroom condo rentals at the pristine south end of Jaco Beach. Four different swimming pools, mature tropical gardens and the quiet beach at your front yard indulge those wanting to be away from the crowds, yet still walking distance of town. All units feature fully equipped kitchens, in-unit laundry rooms, cable TV, telephones and wireless internet. Services include concierge and staffed security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Daystar La Paloma Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Paloma Blanca Hotel Jaco
Daystar La Paloma Blanca Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daystar La Paloma Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.