We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great oceanside stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Paloma Blanca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Paloma Blanca to your Saves list
La Paloma Blanca
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   | Jaco Beachfront at Calle Hidalgo, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Surrey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great oceanside stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in a 2 bedroom in this small complex. Our apartment had excellent furnishings. The outlook onto the pool and beyond to the sea was lovely. We were very impressed with the design of all the rooms and balcony.

Our receptionist was very helpful and even took our daughter out one evening to do a little clubbing!

This complex is on the south end Jaco and have acess to the beach that is very beautiful and lovely for walks and sunsets.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    23
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tahlequah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

This is a condo arrangement. The building was very nice and well appointed. The location required a taxi ride back and forth at night. We were warned to not walk on the street or the beach at night. The town itself was fine to walk. You can rent surf boards at the hotel and walk them right out the gate to epic surfing. Nice place for families.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Just back from 5 sunny, hot and fun filled days at La Paloma Blanca.
Nicely appointed and maintained condos right on the beach with 4 nice
pools. Very family friendly. 15 minute walk into town or easy 2 USD taxi ride.
Local pizza place and decent homestyle Costa Rican restaurant less than 5 minutes away.
A little too noisy at night but otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

After living in Costa Rica for 2 years we usually expect hoteld to be much less than advertised. This place is AWESOME! We rented 2 three bedroom units for 12 of us. The apartments are very spacious and the pools are wonderful! The units include washer and dryer and full size appliances. The beach is right out the door and the surfing here is excellent. It also has highspeed wireless internet in the rooms. I would and will recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockford, IL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

La Paloma Blanca is just over a year old and it is well appointed, attractive and clean. The pools are beautiful and one is next to the beach. We had a 2 bedroom condo near the main pool (not an ocean view). There is a full kitchen so we made breakfast every morning (helpful because this is not a hotel with a restaurant on site). La Paloma Blaca is on the quiet (south) end of Jaco (good or bad depending on your preference). We rented a car but you can walk into town, probably 10-15 minutes each way. The only problem we encountered was tight parking over the busy easter weekend. Overall, it's fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Stayed at Paloma Blanca from January to the beginning of March 2009, Had a great time beautiful views, nice people, very helpful staff. Taxi ride into town $2.00 US great service. Grocery store Max y Menos( more or less) owned by Walmart, can get almost anything you can get in North America. Beach is clean and garbage emptied every day. We walked into town nearly every day for breakfast at Bohio and then wandered around town until it got too hot and we sat and had an ice cream. Restaurants are great try Pili Pili, Lemon Zest and the Wishbone. Don't miss a trip to Los Suenos and Tortuga Island and the sunsets from Villa Caletas are unbeleivable. We hope to go back next Year.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

This was perfect for us! Daystar had a driver pick us up at the airport and take us 2 hours thru the mountains to the condo for $100.00. Check in was easy and Edwin took us to our 4th floor oceanview condo and oriented us to the place. As a beginner surfer I found the waves to be gentle, and easy to learn on. As experienced surfers my 16 and 20 year old and my husband enjoyed the fine surf just in front of the condo. We rented boards from the condo. The 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo was clean and well stocked. Airconditioning and fans kept us cool and television reception was perfect. We enjoyed a day river rafting, and appreciated the easy walk into Jaco for shopping and meals. Lemon Zest was a fanstatic restaurant for fine dining at resonable prices. Can not recommend Hicaco, it was a bit pricy for dinner and we didnt enjoy our food. La Paloma Blanca was not crowded the week we were there, and the pools were always clean and never used it seems. Staff was nice, and the place was very safe. The beach was clean, and never crowded, low tide made it a joy to walk to Jaco along the surf. I would return here in minute, we really enjoyed everything about La Paloma Blanca.

  • Liked — Clean, safe, affordable.
  • Disliked — cant think of a thing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
5.8 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#5 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
0.4 mi away
Hotel Club del Mar
Hotel Club del Mar
#7 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Croc's Casino Resort
Croc's Casino Resort
#12 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Blanca

Address: | Jaco Beachfront at Calle Hidalgo, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Paloma Blanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene beachfront community with 2 and 3-bedroom condo rentals at the pristine south end of Jaco Beach. Four different swimming pools, mature tropical gardens and the quiet beach at your front yard indulge those wanting to be away from the crowds, yet still walking distance of town. All units feature fully equipped kitchens, in-unit laundry rooms, cable TV, telephones and wireless internet. Services include concierge and staffed security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Paloma Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Paloma Blanca Hotel Jaco
La Paloma Blanca Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Paloma Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.