We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar La Paloma Blanca

Save Saved
You added Daystar La Paloma Blanca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Daystar La Paloma Blanca
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Jaco Beachfront at Calle Hidalgo, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Granville, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We just returned from the most wonderful vacation at Paloma Blanca. The condo was very clean, nicely decorated and very well equipped. Couldn't have asked for a better location. It was an easy walk to downtown, maybe 15 minutes, or you could take a cab for $2.00. Staff was very nice and friendly, especially Frank at the front gate. He even brought us fresh coconuts one day. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed at Daystar Paloma in Costa Rica for a week. Everything looks spectacular online, but as someone else commented, the place needs maintenance help. But my biggest gripe are the BEDBUGS that I found in my room and made their way into my luggage. Of course they came back to the United States with us....you could say I was not pleased one bit. It was a horrible ordeal to have to go through. Not to mention the water in my condo wasn't working right....AVOID THESE CONDOS! Save yourself the trouble and bug problem...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar La Paloma Blanca, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hello Abbey,

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconveniences that your stay may have caused. I would like to extend an invitation to you the next time you are in Jaco to stay at Paloma Blanca again or just stop by and see the improvements. We value you as a customer and respect your thoughts as it is a crucial impact on our changes here.

The Daystar People
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at Paloma Blanca for 10 days in later January 2012. There was 4 adults and 2 kids, plenty of room for all of us. The location was excellent, pools clean, staff wonderful, the beach clean and quieter than near town. Our 9 year old son learned to surf right out front of the condo! The condo was very well equipped, with everything that we needed for cooking and everything in the condo worked well, we had a lovely view of the ocean from the balcony. The store we mostly went to was the Maxi Mart on the main street of town, there was a less expensive store just out of town but the selection of fresh food was not as good there. There was also a great seafood store walking distance from the condo, near the soccer field very reasonably priced. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Anything 3rd floor or above would have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eutawville, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed for 3 weeks January 2012 and found this condo to meet all of our needs. The grounds are very well kept and the maintenance staff was friendly and helpful. We really liked Frank at the beach gate. We had a beautiful view of the beach and ocean and enjoyed the pool very much. There are a lot of iguanas and macaw and toucan fly-bys. Transportation to town was about $2 and easily accessible. We met a wonderful taxi driver who turned out to be the best tour guide and he took us to crocodile tour, mountain-top gardens, and even to Manuel Antonio. Very reasonable. We felt entirely safe there, but then aqain we are not the kind of people who roam around at night. Nevertheless, what can I say, it was paradise and we will most definitely go back. PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were really happy with our condo selection of Paloma Blanca. We were travelling with our 4 year old son and wanted a condo with a pool and on the beach. We heard that the south end of the Jaco Beach was the nicest and most family friendly and we have to agree. We stayed in B3 which overlooked the pool and had a decent view of the ocean. The pools were a little smaller than we expected but they were kept very clean and we used them every day (and night). The beach was very nice. Clean, soft sand, safe. The surf stand on the beach allows Paloma Blanca guests to use the chairs and umbrellas for free, if they are available. We used them every day no problem. The staff at the surf tent were awesome -- they are not affiliated with Paloma Blanca. My husband rented a boogie board and surf board every day.

The condo itself has the basic essentials including beach towels but didn't have coolers, beach chairs, etc. The condo was clean and we didn't have any maintenance issues. The cleaning staff swept it out every other day and replenished paper goods, soaps, etc. It was a nice touch.

The guards and maintenance staff at Paloma Blanca were so friendly and helpful. Loved them! If you make any special requests with the office staff I would recommend that you follow up with them. We had placed a small grocery order to be delivered the day of our arrival. We were pretty disappointed when we arrived at 9 pm to an empty fridge. The office staff had the order but forgot to give it to "Helen" who does the shopping. The day before we were to leave I called to confirm our transport back to the airport and the staff couldn't find the request. They were able to get us transportation but we would have been SOL if I had not followed up with them.

Would we return to Paloma Blanca? Absolutely. We had a great week and felt like we picked a perfect location in Jaco Beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed at Oceans La Paloma for one night during vacation. The hotel was nice, but it seemed like there was a lot of maintenance problems. We had a two bedroom suite for my family and the air conditioning didn't work in one of the bedrooms. After calling the front desk, maintenance staff were in and out of the room for about an hour, but still not fixed. Tried calling the front desk at 5 pm, but no one was there for the rest of the night. Multiple calls. You;re on your own when you're at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar La Paloma Blanca, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks for the comments and I'm sorry we did not respond to this sooner. We understand this happened and will not deny it. We have been working very hard on our customer service over the past year and hopefully next time you come to Costa Rica you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

We spent 10 days with our family in these condos and they were so relaxing and beautiful. We would recommend it to other travelers!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daystar La Paloma Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar La Paloma Blanca

Also Known As:
Daystar Paloma Blanca Hotel Jaco
Daystar Paloma Blanca Hotel
Daystar La Paloma Blanca Costa Rica/Jaco
Address: Jaco Beachfront at Calle Hidalgo, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daystar La Paloma Blanca 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene beachfront community with 2 and 3-bedroom condo rentals at the pristine south end of Jaco Beach. Four different swimming pools, mature tropical gardens and the quiet beach at your front yard indulge those wanting to be away from the crowds, yet still walking distance of town. All units feature fully equipped kitchens, in-unit laundry rooms, cable TV, telephones and wireless internet. Services include concierge and staffed security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Daystar La Paloma Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daystar La Paloma Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.