We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average dinner, high price, but ocean front and playground” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Hicaco

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Hicaco
El Hicaco, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 48 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Average dinner, high price, but ocean front and playground”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had so many great meals on our trip, but this was not one of them. It s not that the food was bad, it was just nothing great. For the price, you want more. However, the playground and chicken fingers were a hit with our kids. Would I come back? Well, maybe for an app and cocktail at sunset. The kids just really enjoyed it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    4
    4
    7
See reviews for
4
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner - four of us ate four different entrees and all were delicious. We sat ourside - had a ceiling fan - watched the sunset and enjoyed this dining experience a lot. Restaurant was clean and well appointed - and food delicious

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had reservations to eat at El Hicaco Restaurant on August 22, 2012. There were 2 couples from Texas celebrating wedding anniversaries. We saw the advertisment on the web site and we were very excited about the "All You Can Eat Lobster Feast". We got all dressed up and got to the restaurant to celebrate to only find out that the the "All You Can Eat Lobster Feast" is only in January, February, March and April. We were very disappointed! This restaurant should state that in their advertisement. We left and went down the road to the Red Lobster and had a FABULOUS meal and a great anniversary celebration. Be honest and up front with people and let them know the details !!!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were told this is supposed to be the best restaurant in Jaco, but it was probably the worst place we ate at. There were only maybe 4 other tables there at the same time with multiple waiters and we had horrible service. I had the shrimp and they were so over cooked and not worth $20 plus. My boyfriend had the Sea Bass and Shrimps with dill sauce both which were very over cooked as well. No one came to check on us to see how things were or to see if we needed anything else then by the time we asked for the bill it was about another 15 minutes. Definitely just an average restaurant wouldn't recommend it if you were looking for a really tasty dinner, probably wouldn't try eating there again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This restaurant is located right on the beach with good food and good price and live music. I am not sure what people are talking about, I think people are expecting every things to be cheap in Costa Rice, not realizing the running business has cost too. I would come back again for their whole fish and mojito.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The food at El Hicaco was just average--not great, certainly not horrible. The view is gorgeous (especially at sunset) and there is live music and a good atmosphere. Service was very good, but we were there for an early dinner and it was not yet packed. I would recommend going close to sunset for drinks and appetizers. The prices are way too high for the mundane and bland menu but not so bad for just apps and drinks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Nice place, excellent location, but the food was expensive and not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Hicaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hicaco

Address: El Hicaco, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 48 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Also Known As:
El Hicaco Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Hicaco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Hicaco to your Saves list