We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average food, great view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Hicaco

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Hicaco
Save
You added El Hicaco to your Saves list
El Hicaco, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“average food, great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The food at El Hicaco was just average--not great, certainly not horrible. The view is gorgeous (especially at sunset) and there is live music and a good atmosphere. Service was very good, but we were there for an early dinner and it was not yet packed. I would recommend going close to sunset for drinks and appetizers. The prices are way too high for the mundane and bland menu but not so bad for just apps and drinks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    4
    4
    8
See reviews for
4
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Nice place, excellent location, but the food was expensive and not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This restaurant was suggested to us by the staff at the hotel we were staying at. We did not stay at the El Hicaco Hotel, we only dined at the restaurant. During the time we ate here, there were only three other tables occupied, which was around mid day. I had the shrimp and pineapple cannelloni . It was good but a little watery. My boyfriend had the Sea Bass Filet with Shrimps and Dill Sauce. There were a few bones in the Bass but other than that it was good. The view was good as it is right on the beach. There were a few people who walked up to the edge of the restaurant trying to sell us things. But we just said no and they walked away. The price was a medium range, about what we were paying at our hotel restaurant. Also, there are sourvenior shops within walking distance so we went to a few of those.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We did not stay at this location but ate at the restaurant. Prior reviews are very mixed regarding dining but our experience was very pleasant. We enjoyed the spacious outdoor portion of the restaurant, it was uncrowded so not at all noisy and we thought the food was fresh and simply, but well, prepared. Prices are on the high side for Jaco but quite reasonable by American standards for what you get in terms of both food and ambiance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretagne
Level Contributor
285 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel but had a wonderful dinner. Right on the beach, delicious , fresh food. We had lobster and it was plentiful and great. Good service.

Room Tip: Expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

beautiful looking place and right on the beach, but both my boyfriend and I got very sick from the food there Monday night 1/16/12-the one thing we had in common was the shrimp -woke up about 2am Tuesday vomiting and um, other terrible issues... also, when we were almost done eating we kept smelling raw sewage. it ruined the last day of our vacation and all the things we had planned because we couldnt get out of bed. not as important but we were one of maybe 6 tables with people at it and couldnt get service either. do NOT go here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

You expect better from a restaurant right on the ocean. You expect fresh, tender and succulent seafood, especially lobster tail, shrimp and sea bass. You don't always get what you expect. We dined at El Hicaco tonight and were thoroughly disappointed. The food was not even average, as my wife said, we get better food, by far, at Red Lobster. For the high price that Hicaco charges, save your time. Based on recommendations from the local Jersey pizza guy in Jaco (Ron) we are trying Graffiti tomorrow night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#14 of 43 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#22 of 43 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#31 of 43 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riva Jaco
Riva Jaco
#5 of 55 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zabamar
Hotel Zabamar
#18 of 23 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hicaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hicaco

Address: El Hicaco, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Also Known As:
El Hicaco Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Hicaco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.