We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food on the Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Hicaco

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Hicaco
Save
You added El Hicaco to your Saves list
El Hicaco, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good Food on the Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This restaurant was suggested to us by the staff at the hotel we were staying at. We did not stay at the El Hicaco Hotel, we only dined at the restaurant. During the time we ate here, there were only three other tables occupied, which was around mid day. I had the shrimp and pineapple cannelloni . It was good but a little watery. My boyfriend had the Sea Bass Filet with Shrimps and Dill Sauce. There were a few bones in the Bass but other than that it was good. The view was good as it is right on the beach. There were a few people who walked up to the edge of the restaurant trying to sell us things. But we just said no and they walked away. The price was a medium range, about what we were paying at our hotel restaurant. Also, there are sourvenior shops within walking distance so we went to a few of those.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    4
    4
    8
See reviews for
4
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We did not stay at this location but ate at the restaurant. Prior reviews are very mixed regarding dining but our experience was very pleasant. We enjoyed the spacious outdoor portion of the restaurant, it was uncrowded so not at all noisy and we thought the food was fresh and simply, but well, prepared. Prices are on the high side for Jaco but quite reasonable by American standards for what you get in terms of both food and ambiance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretagne
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel but had a wonderful dinner. Right on the beach, delicious , fresh food. We had lobster and it was plentiful and great. Good service.

Room Tip: Expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

beautiful looking place and right on the beach, but both my boyfriend and I got very sick from the food there Monday night 1/16/12-the one thing we had in common was the shrimp -woke up about 2am Tuesday vomiting and um, other terrible issues... also, when we were almost done eating we kept smelling raw sewage. it ruined the last day of our vacation and all the things we had planned because we couldnt get out of bed. not as important but we were one of maybe 6 tables with people at it and couldnt get service either. do NOT go here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

You expect better from a restaurant right on the ocean. You expect fresh, tender and succulent seafood, especially lobster tail, shrimp and sea bass. You don't always get what you expect. We dined at El Hicaco tonight and were thoroughly disappointed. The food was not even average, as my wife said, we get better food, by far, at Red Lobster. For the high price that Hicaco charges, save your time. Based on recommendations from the local Jersey pizza guy in Jaco (Ron) we are trying Graffiti tomorrow night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Not sure why this is listed as a specialty hotel, but I guess Hicaco offers campsites. Anyway, I went to dinner with my husband and some friends the other night, and we had a great meal! We started with the ceviche, which was wonderful, and our main courses we all fantastic! The dessert seemed to be hit-or-miss, but still yummy (the chocolate peanut butter cake was a little dry). Henry, our server, was very attentive and friendly. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

One word...TERRIBLE! My husband and I went to El Hicaco based on reviews that it has the most amazing seafood in all of the Central Pacific Coast, and we were surely disappointed. As soon as we arrived, the service was terrible. The waiter was the farthest thing from helpful and did nothing but recommend the most expensive dishes to us, which were offered and served to us in a rush. The restaurant had no more than three tables there and we felt like we were in a factory where they push you out. The waiter only came to our table to see if we were done with our food, and never bothered to ask how we were enjoying our meal. We shared the shrimp and mango salad and the spring rolls appetizers and seafood bowl with grilled veggies and Costa Rican rice and beans for entree. The fish was tough and difficult to chew and often tasted and smelled fishy. We asked for a dessert menu to try and salvage the dinner, to find out that the chefs left for the night. What top notch restaurant doesn't give you notice that the chefs were leaving for the night? We decided to have coffee, which was also terrible. Costa Rica, a place known for it's amazing coffee, served coffee that tasted like tar. To top the night off, as we left, the waiter followed us to our cab to ask the cab driver where we were staying, which left nothing more than a sour taste in our mouth (more than the food did). Save your money to spend on enjoying the sights in gorgeous Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Hicaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hicaco

Address: El Hicaco, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Also Known As:
El Hicaco Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Hicaco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.