We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good spot for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar and Hotel Oz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bar and Hotel Oz to your Saves list
Bar and Hotel Oz
APDO 132 Playa de Jaco, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good spot for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Pulled in after 10 pm on May 2nd, 2014.
After getting a quote from a well known hotel of over $100, I accepted a room for 2 for $85. The water heater for the shower worked that evening but not in the morning.
The location is perfect to walk Jaco. Rosie and her staff are very nice and the food is great.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
2
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Park, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've been to this hotel every time I got to Jaco Beach. The rooms are clean and big. The food is great. Try the chicken nachos, awesome. The pool area is very relaxing with sand and a tiki bar. Everything is close, the beach, the bars, the night life. Rosie took great care of me as well as the rest of the staff. I'll be back, hopefully soon. Pura Vida.

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room on the southside. This will give you a better view, not that you'll be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

just came back from a trip to jaco and this hotel - we went to the swimming pool area and they charged 6,000 colones minimum consumption to spend the day at the pool. the drinks were overpriced and so was the food, but the pool area was nice - however, they do need lockers as jaco is not exactly the safest beach town and anybody can just go in, look around, and take people's personal belongings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Pros:
Location
Fairly quiet

Cons:

We got totally overcharged. Maybe it was because it was Holy Week (Spring Break for most of S.A.), and possibly because it was one of the last rooms available probably in all of Jaco, but for the room we got we should have payed half the price. The year before at Hotel Zabamar we paid $40 for something similar (possibly slightly better), while here we paid $115.

Only one one handle for water (aka no hot water). Shower head was horrible. I'm not being high maintenance. I mean the shower head spit out maybe three or for thin lines of water in different directions and a little tube pointing towards the wall spit out the only reasonable stream of water which I used my hand in the air to steer in my direction.

The A/C was mediocre at best. It took ages to cool down the room, and that's leaving it at full blast while we're gone. Practically worthless.

Also worth mentioning was that there was a guy there who offered us drugs the first time we drove by (which I don't mind bc I can chose to ignore or partake and these guys are in most major cities I've traveled to), the problem was the same guy kinda creeped us out because he hung out at the bar the whole time we were there giving us a weird look every time we walked by. Kind of uncomfortable, but whatever.

Anyway, if we got ripped off and you go and find out they will give you the room for $40-65 a night, that's reasonable. Anything more than that, forget it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Oz and had a wonderful time in Jaco Beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was very helpful with connections for fishing and other activities to do in the area. The bar had a lot of action at night for sporting events and also had live music one night. They are also in the process of putting in a pool which will be great for our next stay in Jaco. PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

Rosie is such a wounderfull hostess and her staff, all ways there for you. The place just makes you feel as if you are family. This being my second year, Having stayed at other places but all ways end up at oz. Paying a lot more at the other hotels,and haveing half the fun. It is located close to the Beach with nice cool clean rooms. It also is near shoping and night clubs!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Great place to stay in Jaco area, nice prices, nice staff, clean rooms, very safe and secury. Beside that it have the nice bar in Jaco with nice barthenders and gentil manager, lot of fun and good food. Nice location close of every impotant place in town, supermarket, banks, beach, restaunrants.

I'll back for sure!

  • Liked — Nice staff
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar and Hotel Oz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar and Hotel Oz

Address: APDO 132 Playa de Jaco, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Bar and Hotel Oz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar And Hotel Oz Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar and Hotel Oz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.