We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Pura Vida" Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar Bahia Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Daystar Bahia Azul to your Saves list
Daystar Bahia Azul
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Jaco Beachfront, Calle Morales | P.O. Box: 05, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
San Jose
2 reviews
“A "Pura Vida" Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Such a nice place, with a great location in front of the beach, a great pool and all the accommodation that you need. Great apartment, security 24 hours, very safe for kids too.

Just perfect for enjoy the life!

Pura vida

Room Tip: I really enjoy the aparment with beach front, but is a little bit noisy (cars and beach activity), i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had a ground floor unit right by the pool and the beach was literally steps from the condo.
My wife loved the decor. AC worked great and lots of ceiling fans, full size laundry facility in your unit. All the sliders (3) faced the ocean and we could sit on our patio and watch the waves.
We had a small leak under the sink and the frig started making a noise (probably because we had it turn up too high). We called the office and they had both fixed by very polite and professional service people within the hour. I was surprised! In short they do everything they can to make your stay perfect! Daystar has several Condo locations and all are the best around. I would highly recommend any of the Daystar properties. We toured the Diamonte Del Sol for a future stay and it is also impressive. Joe with Waterfall tours helped us with the reservations. I would highly recommend booking tours with Costa Rica Waterfall tours also. Daystar and Waterfall tours is all you need for a perfect hassle free vacation.
Thank you Daystar!!

John & Paula

Room Tip: Ground floor is very nice for getting to the pool and ocean but next time i might go second floor, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed in unit 2A, which is on the first floor, beach front. This condo was great! Steps to the beach and the pool was large enough that you had plenty of space even when there was other people in it. The condo has nice furnishings and was stocked with everything we would need to cook and clean. The only down side was that the beds were so hard we ended up having to buy an air mattress and put it over the bed to get a good nights sleep! The guards that opened the gate was very friendly. I will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Unit 2A on the first floor, beach front was our pick and we enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

we went to Costa Rica in April 2013, we rented a car (get GPS!!! - there are no road signs) - hotel had free parking (grounds have a security guard-24 hours, complex is gated). i know it's not a true hotel, as it's a vacation home rental. our unit had 2 full bedrooms (1 with a king bed, the other w/2 single beds), full kitchen (with dishes, glasses, forks/knives, pans, blender, etc.), living room, and laundry room (yes, you can come home with clean clothes!). there was even beach towels and a surfboard in our unit.

we lucked out and got a ground floor oceanfront unit. we could walk right out to the beach and pool. there's huge patio (balcony if you are on a higher floor), we ate breakfast (eggs from local grocery and plantains from roadside stand) every morning outside.

we typically like to stay in all-inclusives, but since we knew we'd be doing more adventurous things on this trip, this rental made the most sense (we booked with American Airlines miles). it seems like every unit has an ocean view, it's a small rental complex - everyone while we were there were very friendly. the location is great, you can walk to a few restaurants and driving down to Dominical (great surfing beach, even if you don't surf - great to watch). also you can drive to Manuel Antonio Park (they are closed Mondays, we learned the hard way - however we ended up spending the day on a nearby beach w/waiter service - can't complain!).

check-in - you have to stop at the rental agency in town before going to the property. we had a late flight out and it was easy to request a late check-out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I are just returning from our first trip to Jaco, Costa Rica. What an incredible place!!! Staying at Bahia Azul certainly help to add the R & R to our trip!

The facility was immaculate, staff was helpful as well as friendly, and we felt extremely safe the entire time we were there. We would for sure recommend this lodging to all our friends, family members, and it's truly a holiday for all ages. We were there just the two of us, but we'd bring our parents/inlaws or if we had kids it would be perfectly appropriate and family friendly.

When we return to Jaco, hopefully next spring, we won't think to stay anywhere other than Bahia Azul!

By far gts best pool and rooftop views on Jaco beach!!!

Cheers

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here for 8 nights over Easter week. Great location and pool. Condo was fine with good A/C, fridge and cable tv. Security guard tried to help as best he could with directions and was actually a lot of help. Only a couple of downfalls here; our unit 6C was right next to some chickens so got to hear the rooster every morning but luckily it was a pretty weak crow and parking was pretty tight as it was a holiday week. Did this as a package with Expedia and had no issues.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This a great place to stay while in Jaco. It is an ideal location. Close to everything you need to be close to. A nice relaxing day at the well maintained pool or stroll along the beach just steps outside of your well appointed room. Surfing right out front or ask about any adventure you might be interested in and there will be plenty of detailed info from experienced staff here. Heidi and Bryan are fantastic at what they do and it shows here at Bahia Azul. Thanks again for everything Bryan and Heidi!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daystar Bahia Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar Bahia Azul

Address: Jaco Beachfront, Calle Morales | P.O. Box: 05, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daystar Bahia Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront condo community in Jaco Beach with 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom condos. Steps from the ocean and a quick walk to town, you'll enjoy unobstructed ocean views and a lively beach scene at your doorstep. All units feature fully equipped kitchens, in-unit laundry rooms, cable TV, telephones and WiFi Internet access. Services include concierge, staffed security and free local calls and long distance to USA and Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Daystar Bahia Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Bahia Azul Hotel Jaco
Daystar Bahia Azul Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daystar Bahia Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.