We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like Victor.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar Bahia Azul

Save Saved
You added Daystar Bahia Azul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Daystar Bahia Azul
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Jaco Beachfront, Calle Morales | P.O. Box: 05, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 48 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just like Victor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I loved the Bahia Azul condo so much. I had to buy it.
- spacious
- excellent location
- everything is close and within walking distance
- not touristy with souvenir hawkers at every turn.
- friday farmers market right behind the condo with lots of fresh fruit and vegetables and of course Costa Rican coffee.
- inexpensive car rentals if you want to do some personal exploring.
- most of the locals can manage enough english so language isn't a barrier. Although they do appreciate any attemot on your part to communicate in Spanish.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here for a week during July condo 7B. The condo was just as described. It was a very spacious 2 bed 2 bath and very clean. The pool is huge and was never packed, most of the time it was just my husband and I. The condo is located on the beach and is a short walk to some delicious restaurants and to the grocery store. We booked through Day Star properties and had no issues besides our key cards not working one day but the 24 hour property security let us in and Day Star was there with new keys in about 20 minutes. If we stayed in Jaco again I would definetly book here because of the cleanliness and location. They also have maintenance men on site every day cleaning the grounds which are immaculate. In a nutshell, beautiful property in a great location in Jaco!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We have stayed in Bahia Azul and have been nothing but impressed. The condos are amazing (especially the third floor that have rooftop balconies). Our condo had two bedrooms, which were both a good size and two full bathrooms, a kitchen with bar stools and a living area. You can open doors onto the balconies from the master bedroom as well as the living room, which really gives you a feeling of being at the beach. These condos are located on the beach, so you can hear the waves, even if you are inside the condo. If you are not an ocean swimmer, then they have a gorgeous pool in the center of the condos, facing the beach. The pool has lap lines on the bottom and was never over crowded. Everyone at the pool was friendly and we loved the family-like atmosphere.
The location of Bahia Azul was perfect for us. It was about a mile walk to our favorite restaurant (The Bohio) through town, or a half a mile down the beach. Everything in town is within walking distance, but the taxi rides were cheap when we needed a break.

Room Tip: Third floor so you get a roof top balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We loved our stay in Jaco and were especially lucky to have stayed at this property. We rented from a private owner, Jodi and she was very helpful and great to work with - we stayed in condo 4B. The condo itself was perfect, very clean, nicely decorated, and highly functional with all that we needed while on vacation! The grounds were beautiful with lush vegetation and palm trees, clean pool and right on the beach! Everything is within easy walking distance: water sports, restaurants, groceries, shopping and pharmacy - so convenient! We rented bikes and spent afternoons exploring a little more off the beaten path. We were happy to discover how centrally located we were to everything. There is a nice sense of community created by the condos surrounding the pool with a mix of owners and vacationers. Everyone made us feel welcome.
Most evenings we would check out the local fare, the restaurants were excellent, with great food and good service. All in all, it was a fantastic vacation -- we will be back and we plan to stay here again!

Room Tip: Jodi rents a few condos I think but we had 4C on the second floor. It was great and the location wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Costa Rica few weeks ago and wow we loved it. We rented a condo on VRBO from a private owner and she was amazing, helped us with everything from transportation to surfing and everything in between. We stayed in a top floor condo and watched every sunset while were there - really amazing view. I would suggest to anyone to rent a top floor condo!!! We planned to just relax by the pool but we ended up hiking and zip lining and we took an amazing ATV tour up the moutain. We didn't rent a car, just walked everywhere or grabbed a taxi for next to nothing - that saved us a lot of money! Everything we wanted or needed was so close.
The condo was perfect, the pool was beautiful, the area was quite, the staff was friendly and the owner was great. We loved our trip and we loved our "home" while we were there.

Room Tip: Rent a top floor condo. We were in condo 4C which has tables and lounge chairs on the roof top. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawn
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

My husband and I just got back from Jaco we have never been and really enjoyed our stay. We planned a ton of things to do and didn't really plan where to stay - we just picked the first place that looked good that responded to our email. I am so happy we were able to stay at Bahia Azul! This was the best part of our amazing trip! After long days of many adventures we felt like this was home - it has a welcoming quality, so many happy and friendly faces and it was so comfortable. We have never slept to good in our lives! In fact, on the last day of our trip we asked if any condos were available for sale! We are thinking of going back in a few months and maybe putting an offer on our possible retirement home. Needless to say, we will be back again!

Room Tip: I just read other comments - this is a condo not a hotel therefore there isn't breakfast offered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

This was a great place for us to stay for 5 days. It's not super close to food or Bars, but it's just a short drive into town. Ive read a few negitive reviews of the place, and I think its important to realize your expectations. I probably wouldn't stay here if you are looking for a place to wait on your every need. It's more of an apartment than a hotel. I prefer this type of environment to a hotel, and would rather cook a few meals a day than to eat out. .... So it worked out well for us.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daystar Bahia Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar Bahia Azul

Address: Jaco Beachfront, Calle Morales | P.O. Box: 05, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daystar Bahia Azul 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront condo community in Jaco Beach with 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom condos. Steps from the ocean and a quick walk to town, you'll enjoy unobstructed ocean views and a lively beach scene at your doorstep. All units feature fully equipped kitchens, in-unit laundry rooms, cable TV, telephones and WiFi Internet access. Services include concierge, staffed security and free local calls and long distance to USA and Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Daystar Bahia Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Bahia Azul Hotel Jaco
Daystar Bahia Azul Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daystar Bahia Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.