We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Backpacking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room2Board Hostel and Surf School

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Room2Board Hostel and Surf School to your Saves list
Room2Board Hostel and Surf School
10m south of Bahia Azul on the beach, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxurious Backpacking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

If swimming pools, bars, massive projectors, kitchens, roof terraces with amazing views and clean rooms with about 4 plug sockets per person aren´t your thing then this place just isn´t for you!
I was tempted not to leave the hostel!

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Room2Board, Manager at Room2Board Hostel and Surf School, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
You should have just stayed then!! Hopefully that means you'll come back sometime :)
thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
12
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

After traveling to Nicaragua last year on a surf trip, I wanted to return to Central America to experience the awesome pacific ocean. This year I decided to go down to Jaco, the surf capital of Costa Rica, to surf the beautiful waves there.

Room2board was by far the best hostel experience I've had to date. I stayed 10 days and would have loved to stay longer. I was in the $14 a night room which was miles better than the $10 a night room I stayed at during my trip to Nicaragua.

Looking back, I think three key things made the hostel such a great place to stay.

Staff: Very friendly staff that is always willing to help. They showed me the best spots to go surfing, suggested some great places for food, and frequently went out at night with us when they finished their shift.

Facility: It's brand new and exceptionally clean. Rooms were nice, beds were comfortable, and bathrooms were large. I felt safe leaving things in my room and each guest gets their own locker to store valuables. The pool is really nice and there is a big wall to project movies in the evening. The roof deck was great for relaxing, enjoying the view, and cooling down. The food was good and the bar had just what you wanted.

Guests: The people that were staying at the hostel were incredibly friendly. The atmosphere is inviting making it easy to talk with the other guests who come from every corner of the world. The hostel also hosts some great events to get their guests together such as a pool party with live DJ or a reggae night with food catering from a local restaurant.

Overall an amazing experience, and certainly the best place to stay while in Jaco.

Room Tip: The white mesh hammock on the top deck is THE spot for a strong wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Room2Board, Manager at Room2Board Hostel and Surf School, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for the review!! All the good things that you have to say are very much appreciated. We are so thrilled to be getting such great people coming through the hostel, exactly the clients we want! So glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks again for all the nice comments. We hope to see you again some day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Fun, clean, great staff, relaxing while a great place to party. Great beach view. The dinner time meal is delicious and a great time to meet people. Delicious banana pancake breakfast. Offers lots of great activities such as surfing, yoga, zip line, and nature hike.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Room2Board, Manager at Room2Board Hostel and Surf School, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for the review, we are glad you had a good time partying and adventuring with us. Don't forget to come back again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

in front of he beach... lovely people.... nice structure... very clean...nice treament... cool waves... they allowed me to celebrate my birthday there with no problems at all... I`m staying there from now on!!!

RECOMENDED.....!!!!!!

Room Tip: All of them..!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Room2Board, Manager at Room2Board Hostel and Surf School, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for the great review, we appreciate your business, and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had an amazing time at room2board. The accommodation is brand new, simply top of the notch and the atmosphere with the staff and fellow backpackers is amazing. The staff is friendly and very helpful. There are all kind of things organized such as film nights, bbq afternoons etc. I honestly can't think of a single complaint, Room2board keep it up! This is a true paradise for backpackers who want to hang and meet other people. If you however prefer peace and quite, I would not recommend it though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Room2Board, Manager at Room2Board Hostel and Surf School, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We aim to keep things top notch so we can keep getting reviews like yours! We really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I was not suppose to come to Jacó during my stay in Costa-Rica, but a friend strongly suggested it. Which was the best advice so far, the town is amazing, and the Hostel is so clean, new, well equipped that you feel more in a nice beach Hotel Boutique! Staff is very friendly, owners as well, they will all make you feel welcome.

If you're a surfer or just want to learn how to surf, this hostel is a place to be, right next to the beach!

I will definitely come back :) !

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Room2Board, Manager at Room2Board Hostel and Surf School, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thanks for the review! We're so happy you thought everything was awesome!!!!! Come back again some day, we love familiar faces!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I recently stayed at Rooms2Board for one night. I stayed in one of the private rooms with air condition, a double bed and a twin bed. We paid $65 dollars for the night. The room was nice and quaint. Great water pressure and really hot water. The room was on the second floor, so we did get a little noise at night, not much. We brought a loud floor fan with us and it drowned out any noise there was. The staff was friendly and very attentive. We kept many items in the shared kitchen and no items went missing. There are a lot of cameras and the security is very tight at night.

Overall, it was great and I would return. The walk to the beach is down a little pathway of about 40 yards. It is really close and you can see the beach from various parts of the Hostel.

Bed comfortability was standard.

If you are looking to save some money and be "on" the beach, come here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Room2Board, Manager at Room2Board Hostel and Surf School, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thanks for the review, we certainly aim to keep security as a priority, and we have had minimal problems so far. We are glad that you noticed! and we appreciate the time you put into making a positive review for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Room2Board Hostel and Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room2Board Hostel and Surf School

Address: 10m south of Bahia Azul on the beach, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room2Board is a newly built boutique hostel and surf school located on the Central Pacific Coast in Jaco Beach, Costa Rica. Its eco-friendly design provides adventure travelers, surfers, and backpackers a clean, safe and affordable place to stay. Room2Board was designed to have the social atmosphere and affordability of a traditional hostel and surf camp along with the amenities and style of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Room2Board Hostel and Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room2Board Hostel And Surf School Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room2Board Hostel and Surf School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.