We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good run for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rutan Surf Cabinas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rutan Surf Cabinas
Save
You added Rutan Surf Cabinas to your Saves list
Calle Anita, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
1 review
“Good run for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

I didn't expect much from Jacob but this Hostel made all the difference. Very relaxed and easy going, excellent facilities that actually get taken care of (like BBQ grill and oven), nice atmosphere with plenty of hammocks and rocking chairs and plants for shadow. The wifi works flawlessly for Costa Rican standards and power outlets are in the rooms and outdoor area if you need them; all things I came to appreciate a lot on my travels.

The staff is fantastic and was pretty much available and helpful night and day but without giving you the feeling of watching you. It right away felt like I stayed over at a friends house.

Thema only thing I didn't like is that my dorm room didn't have a window. Though it didn't smell bad or anything and I was only in there to sleep anyways. This is the first hostel where the pillows actually didn't smell like the last persons feet...

If in Costa Rica again I will definetly stop by! Thank you!

DE: bestes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis seit 4 Wochen Costa Rica

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Decent place in Jaco - close to everything and quiet considering the bustle of the town. The bathrooms were a bit gross but otherwise had a decent stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed at the Rutan Surf Cabinas for 3 nights and loved every minute of it. For starters its got one of the best rates in Jaco (25$ for 2 people), the lady who works/lives there is very friendly and very helpful, and the location couldnt be better. Its a 10 second walk to the beach and a 10 second walk to the main strip in Jaco-near bars, restaraunts, shopping, and just about everything. There's a really cool outdoor bbq/kitchen that everyone can use, the atmosphere is really chill and laid back, and theres a ping pong table which is a fun little addition when you come back from the beach. The rooms are clean, the sheets were clean, the showers, and like I said the staff was very friendly. Its also pretty safe and locked up at night to deter any petty theft. Would definitely reccomend to anyone traveling on a budget in Jaco.

On a side note Rutan Surf Cabinas makes you wish Jaco wasnt so built up. Its got such a lazy little surf hostel feeling compared to all the new highrises being built!

Room Tip: Any room! They've got rooms with up to 5 beds in them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

This place is exactly what everyone is looking for. It is just outside of the main town, tucked away neatly inside a private street right at the beach! Staff is awesome, there is a really nice huge bbq area outside with all the kitchen things we needed. Rooms are clean, people are mellow, beds and sheets and showers were all right on. Its not the Ritz but as far as hostels are concerned its 5 star. I'll only return to Rutan!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

The staff is very nice, and it's location is great! It's two minutes from the beach and has a great bar and restaurant right across the street. Had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
1.2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#23 of 43 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riva Jaco
Riva Jaco
#5 of 55 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Room2Board Hostel and Surf School
0.2 mi away
Buddha House Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutan Surf Cabinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutan Surf Cabinas

Address: Calle Anita, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the laid-back coastal town of Playa Jaco, Cabinas Rutan is centered amidst pristine sandy beaches and killer surf! Rutan is a retreat, a quaint island style getaway for surfers and sun worshippers. Upon new ownership, formally known as Chucks Cabinas, we have added amenities such as a BBQ to new beds, linens and decor, Rutan Surf Cabinas is more unique and tranquil and still the lowest price in town! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rutan Surf Cabinas Hotel Jaco
Rutan Surf Cabinas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rutan Surf Cabinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.