We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforts of Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Creole

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Creole to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Creole
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Europa, 20, Jaco 76-4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Jaco B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comforts of Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Originally booked for 3 nights but ended up staying for 4. The hotels is set about 400m back from the beach and takes less than 10 minutes to walk to the main strip, and is located in a very nice upper class neighbourhood. The suite was clean, comfortable, and had all the amenities promised: full kitchen (minus the oven), comfortable bedroom with strong AC, ample closet space, safe, flat-screen wall mounted TV, and big bathroom. The property itself is well-maintained and the pool very nice and great after morning hikes! The owners were extremely kind and helpful, assisting us with car reservations and arranging transportation to the airport. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Jaco!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 10 are recently renovated, the others to be followed soon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa C, Manager at Hotel Villa Creole, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you so much for your kind words, We are very happy to know that you had sucha great time with us. We hope to see you back soon with us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Imperial Beach, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice, quiet hotel. Within walking distance of the beach and main street. The swimming pool at night is great!! clean rooms with AC. Good Tico breakfast, eggs, gallo pinto, orange juice, coffe. Excellent place for a family with children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa C, Manager at Hotel Villa Creole, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for using this TripAdvisor forum to share with other readers and thank you for choosing Villa Creole for your vacacion.
We hope to see you back soon with us.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantersville, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We arrived in Jaco on Saturday night and it was clear this was a party town. We were nervous about our stay until we arrived at the hotel. Aaaaw. Beautiful landscaping, lovely clean pool and soft music playing in the background. Our room was pretty and clean with a view of the pool. Every room faces the pool. Nice friendly owners and staff. Breakfast was promptly ready at 7:30 each morning ending at 9:30. Kind of a long walk to the beach which disappointed us at first until we realized it was actually a good thing to be away from the hustle and bustle of Jaco. We would definitely stay here again! The only reason I didn't rate it at a 5 is we had a difficult time finding the hotel. When the advertising suggests its a "Beach" Hotel you tend to think its actually on the beach. But like I said before that's not necessarily a bad thing if your looking for rest and relaxation in a busy city.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 very nice and clean. Close to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa C, Manager at Hotel Villa Creole, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear friends,
thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you not only enjoyed the hotel, the music and your room , but also our landscapes which made the owner pride as he plant everything himself.
We hope to see you back soon with us.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Expat here on the first leg of my last trip back to the states. I had been told about this great little hotel located in a better part of Jaco here in Costa Rica. It is off the main beach road, but it is in walking distance to Jaco Beach. They have a great swimming pool. The rooms were well appointed and very clean. No street noise, just peace and quite. The staff spoke english and were very helpful to any needs. The room rates were very modest compaired to the hotels along the beach road.

Room Tip: They all face the pool, and not more the 15 steps from your door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Loved this place, as soon as we get there ,we realized that it was way beyond our expectations! We Stayed here two nights while visiting some friends in Jaco. The apartment is beautiful, The place is very clean, cozy, well furnished, with a full kitchen, the bedrooms equiped with LCD's TVs and powerfull A/Cs units,etc... has a beautifull garden around the pool area. The reception and staff were super friendly and helpful. Location was perfect. Away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Jaco, and only about 5 minutes away. We didn't find any bugs like mentioned in another review, except in the garden, but after all it's Costa Rica, if you're afraid of bugs, stay in Chicago. We felt at home and will come back for sure, with the kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights on our honeymoon. It was the worst choice we made, but it was the only hotel left since we book the night before. One night I saw a huge roach, and I am terrified of bugs. The door has a door knob that doesn't work, it locks with a latch. The good thing about this place is the pool, it is very nice and well kept. Also, it is a short walk from town or you can take a $2 taxi ride.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa C, Manager at Hotel Villa Creole, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear friend, Thank you for your review. We obviously feel sad that you did not enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to find out if everything is fine with our guests during their stay and it seems we were not able to catch your discomfort. I really would have been happy to share your views if you have reach out and try to find solutions. About the price, we always keep our price lower than other hotel of our category, I can assure you that we have the best price in Jaco, also you came during semana santa which is the busiest week of the year where all the price are up, that's the reason there was no other hotel available. For the door knob, it's not a door knob it's a fixed handle, so it's not supposed to roll, but following your review we have change all our door locker. The bugs is unfortunately something difficult to control, Costa Rica is proud of his biodiversity and bugs are part of it, not even the 5 stars hotels are immune to it, look the review for villa calletas and you will understand what I mean. We spray every day and every three months we close the hotel for a complete fumigation. Also we have a lot of green area and a tropical garden which is appreciated by our guest but comes with a downside.
I wish you and your husband the best in life.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights while hanging out at the beach. The rooms are spacious and clean, A/C, no bugs, warm pool, beautiful grounds. The Belgium management are very friendly and speak good English. They were eager to supply pool towels and plastic cups to party poolside. The breakfast was a bit limited with toast and fruit with coffee, although they offered cereal (my milk was at room temp). You can't get any better fruit...LOVED the pineapple!! They recommended a nice beach front restaurant which they hailed a cab for us, and that was delicious! (Unfortunately, I don't recall the name of the restaurant, but think it started with an 'M'.) Free wi-fi.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Creole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Creole

Address: Calle Europa, 20, Jaco 76-4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Creole 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in quiet residencial place of Jaco, at only 800 meters from the beach and 650 meters from the main street of Jaco, the hotel Villa Creole is the best place to enjoy of quiet and relaxing vacations. The 10 rooms have a private bathroom with hot water, A/C, television with cable, safety box, equipped kitchen, private terrace and the hotel offer you a big pool, a Jacuzzi and a tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Creole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Creole Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Creole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;