We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Creole

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Creole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Creole
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Europa, 20, Jaco 76-4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Jaco B&B and Inns
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights on our honeymoon. It was the worst choice we made, but it was the only hotel left since we book the night before. One night I saw a huge roach, and I am terrified of bugs. The door has a door knob that doesn't work, it locks with a latch. The good thing about this place is the pool, it is very nice and well kept. Also, it is a short walk from town or you can take a $2 taxi ride.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa C, Manager at Hotel Villa Creole, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear friend, Thank you for your review. We obviously feel sad that you did not enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to find out if everything is fine with our guests during their stay and it seems we were not able to catch your discomfort. I really would have been happy to share your views if you have reach out and try to find solutions. About the price, we always keep our price lower than other hotel of our category, I can assure you that we have the best price in Jaco, also you came during semana santa which is the busiest week of the year where all the price are up, that's the reason there was no other hotel available. For the door knob, it's not a door knob it's a fixed handle, so it's not supposed to roll, but following your review we have change all our door locker. The bugs is unfortunately something difficult to control, Costa Rica is proud of his biodiversity and bugs are part of it, not even the 5 stars hotels are immune to it, look the review for villa calletas and you will understand what I mean. We spray every day and every three months we close the hotel for a complete fumigation. Also we have a lot of green area and a tropical garden which is appreciated by our guest but comes with a downside.
I wish you and your husband the best in life.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights while hanging out at the beach. The rooms are spacious and clean, A/C, no bugs, warm pool, beautiful grounds. The Belgium management are very friendly and speak good English. They were eager to supply pool towels and plastic cups to party poolside. The breakfast was a bit limited with toast and fruit with coffee, although they offered cereal (my milk was at room temp). You can't get any better fruit...LOVED the pineapple!! They recommended a nice beach front restaurant which they hailed a cab for us, and that was delicious! (Unfortunately, I don't recall the name of the restaurant, but think it started with an 'M'.) Free wi-fi.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Our family didn't care much for Jaco, but our consilation was that we stayed at a great hotel. Our room consisted of a separate air conditioned bedroom a second bed in the main area, a full kitchen and bathroom. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The hotel was located a few blocks from the main drag of Jaco. Jaco is a loud party town so having your accommodations away from the noise is good. There are grocery stores a few blocks away. You can walk but we usually drove because it was so hot.

The breakfast provided was very good! There were the traditional beans and rice and eggs. As much juice, toast, and coffee as you liked. The food was well prepared and tasty. Earlier reviews indicated the breakfast was marginal but the owners must have upgraded the fare.

The highlight for the kids was the pool. The pool was very nice, clean and not cold. The grounds around the rooms, pool, and breakfast area were very nice. Lots of fragrant flowers and very well kept. The breakfast area was also very pleasant.

Just a word about the towels. When we arrived there were only two large towels in the room. When we checked out the maids insisted there were more towels. They let the issue go. We stayed at several hotels in Costa Rica during our month stay there and I recommend that when you enter your hotel room and there don't seem to be as many towels as there should be, contact room service immediately. The hotel managers are very sensitive about "missing" towels.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

Jaco didn't impress me at all as a town.
Despite the negative image I got from this town, this hotel/property was very relaxing and enjoyable! The Belgian owners were very friendly & helpful. With only about a dozen rooms and a beautiful pool & grounds, I'd definitely recommend this place for some rest & relaxation.
This hotel is located a hefty walk from the main drag. It was worth it to go into the town & buy food items to keep in the room's refrigerator. (Especially since the included breakfast was a few pieces of bread & tea as previously mentioned in the other review.)
My room #6 was a great stay at 65 USD per night. The bed was nice in a room where you can close the door to the outer kitchen area and be enclosed with A/C when desired. The bathroom was nice too (shower, etc.)
The pool area in between the guest rooms & small hotel restaurant was awesome! So relaxing! The water temp. was perfect and the tables/chairs were good for sunbathing. There are small trees & flowers all over the property that put a sweetly scented touch on your stay. (Nice memory for us who live in snow country!)
My one gripe would be that there were 2 poodle-like dogs in a room with a couple who stayed there. The dogs barked all the time! Between the barking and the guests who yelled in multiple languages for them to quiet down, it put a small dent in the relaxation.
There were various French-speaking guests as the owners are Belgian and the hotel's website is available in a few different languages.
I don't plan to hurry back to Jaco though would definitely stay at the Villa Creole in case I do.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2008

We needed a place to crash in Jaco while driving form Dominical to Montezuma and found Villa Creole based on a recommendation from a travel guide. The property is located a few blocks off the main drag on a quiet dead end street. Our room was very nice - modern with a full kitchen, comfortable bed, cable TV, and a large bathroom with plenty of hot water. The property had a nice pool but since we were only there one night we didn't use it.

The only disapointment was that our rate included breakfast but it only consisted of a few pieces of toast with some coffee grounds so we could make our own coffee in our room.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Creole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Creole

Address: Calle Europa, 20, Jaco 76-4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Creole 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in quiet residencial place of Jaco, at only 800 meters from the beach and 650 meters from the main street of Jaco, the hotel Villa Creole is the best place to enjoy of quiet and relaxing vacations. The 10 rooms have a private bathroom with hot water, A/C, television with cable, safety box, equipped kitchen, private terrace and the hotel offer you a big pool, a Jacuzzi and a tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Creole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Creole Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Creole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.