We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Dolce Vita to your Saves list
La Dolce Vita
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Jaco 60901, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is located right on the beach. Beach is wide and sandy. The hotel has a gate by the beach which closes at night to keep the place secure. The room offers a kitchenette with a living room area and separate bedroom with air conditioning. The room is on the first floor with a private patio. Breakfast is served to your room. It was walking distance to local restaurant "Los Amigos" which had great and cheap local food. The appetizers were a little pricey though. Also there is also a small grocery right around the corner from this hotel which was very convenient.
This small village is about 20 minutes from Jaco, and very quaint and rural.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for you very nice comments. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Esterillos Oeste and that La Dolce Vita was part of this success. We hope you will visit our beach again and stay with us on another occasion. Pura Vida! info@hotel-ladolcevita.biz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    25
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
40
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iron River, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel was basic, kept very clean and well maintained. The hosts, Emilio and Jasmine were incredible. Always smiling, they kept the place safe and clean. Delivered breakfast with a smile and helped us with what we needed. Even the beach in front of the hotel they raked and watered every morning. We liked the more quiet, laid back rural setting. It was a true Costa Rican experience. Grocery store, and some really good restaurants were close by. Met several guests who are repeat regular customers - what does that say?! I am definitely making plans to come back.

Room Tip: There are 7 apartments and they are all pretty much the same. accommodations are basic, but the plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This small hotel offers kitchenette units and has a pool. Cleanest in town. Is located right on the beach. Next door to hotel is a camp site where locals come to enjoy the beach on weekends. They bring their families and music. We found the place quite difficult to have a restful night on weekends. Monday to Thursday it is great.. The beach and surf are excellent. The staff speak very little English but are very helpful. Great budget hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel difficult to find. Use gps and google maps to help your driver locate the hotel. Pool is nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

When we arrived at La Dolce Vita I was in awe of our view from our room. We were lucky enough to get the upstairs room and we just loved sitting on our deck and looking at the ocean. The room is nothing fancy but was clean and comfortable. It is important to remember you are right on the beach and there may possibly be ants or other critters around but it was nothing of concern. We slept very comfortably and enjoyed our stay here. Our breakfast was delivered to our deck each morning of toast and fresh fruit with coffee and juice. You had the option to order more at a very reasonable price. We loved having the small kitchenette and the A/C worked great.
One thing I would suggest and that is to put a small table in the kitchen area but otherwise everything was nice. The beach is beautiful and we saw some incredible sunsets here. My husband and I went into Jaco for the day and it was nice but we were so much happier on our beach in Esterillos Oeste. We met some great people and cooled off in the pool below. I would recommend La Dolce Vita and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Great simple beautiful location.
No hustle and bustle here!
Friendly, clean and a great value.
I found the beach to beautiful and the little hotel pool was great.
The rooms had a/c and a fridge and I slept so soundly......
Emilio and his wife are great..

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Friend,

Many thanks for your nice words. Your happines makes our day and incentivates us to work and invest more to have happy clients (that become friends) as you. We hope we'll meet again soon, you are super welcome.
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Nice beach, village and hotel in Playa Esterillos Oeste. Quite different from the crowded (but sometime nice) Jaco. We enjoied every minute here, walking along the beach to the Playa Hermosa Park, going to fish with the local fishermen or having a beer with the local,US or Canadian surfers. The hotel is a little but elegant buiding on the beach and our room had averything we needed, including a kitchen. Good price.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Friends, thanks for your shorts but explicative words. You drew a good picture and got the real spirit of Esterillos Oeste. We look forward to have you as our guest again soon. Best Regards. info@hotel-ladolcevita.biz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We came here to stay one day and, in the end, we spent a week, to enjoy the hotel and the area. The owner Steve greeted us with great warmth and has always been very helpful, as well as Emilio and Jasmine. The rooms are not large but very clean, with comfortable beds and good A / C, wifi works really well. The pool was a real joy for our child.The hotel is in a great location on a very nice beach. Excellent value for money. If available we would advice the oceanfront room, with a little extra fee, that has a beautiful view.

Room Tip: Ocean front room with the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks for taking the time to write a comment about your good stay at La Dolce Vita: We make our best in order to have our guests to have a nice time at the hotel. Your words are very helpful and will enhance and multiply our efforts.
Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon.
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita

Address: Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Jaco 60901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Dolce Vita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "La Dolce Vita" is located on the beach in Esterillos Oeste, Jaco, facing the shore of the Pacific Ocean. The Hotel, with its seven apartments facing a wonderful garden, is a new, first class construction building offering all comforts. Each apartment has patio/deck, terrazzo-balcony and is smartly furnished, bathroom with hot water, air conditioning, fan, kitchen, fridge with up to 4 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your La Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Jaco
La Dolce Vita Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.