We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Front Property, The right location to explore this area of Costa Rica.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Dolce Vita to your Saves list
La Dolce Vita
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Jaco 60901, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beach Front Property, The right location to explore this area of Costa Rica.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

La Dolce Vita
We stayed at La Dolce Vita for three days near the end of February while exploring the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. We chose the location for its proximity to Jaco but not wanting to be in Jaco. Its location right on the beach was fabulous. The unit we stayed in had everything that we needed and It was clean. It was nice to be able to stock the fridge with what we wanted. The managers of the property were a lovely couple. They delivered breakfast to the small porch or patio outside our unit every morning at the time we requested. On the day we were travelling to Manual Antonio Park they in fact delivered breakfast fifteen minutes earlier than when they would normally start to deliver breakfast just so we could get on the road early. The garden which runs adjacent to the units were well maintained and provided a beautiful view while we enjoyed our breakfast. While it is true that the Thatched roof covering the bar area adjacent to the pool is in need of repair due to wind damage and termites, the pool although small was very clean and was very refreshing after a busy day out exploring. Even in its state of disrepair the bar area was a natural gathering spot for the guests of the hotel to bring their dinks to relax, to gather, have chat and exchange information on things to see in the area, restaurant recommendations, travel stories and adventures. For those that like birds there are beautiful Macaws in the area. We also had the pleasure of meeting the owner and being served breakfast on one occassion when the managers of the property were having a day off.He made us feel welcome and is a wonderful friendly gentleman from the Tuscany area of Italy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for writing this review and for your honest and nice words. we are all proud that you liked our hotel and our location and appreciated our service, that we always make with our hearth for the pleasure of our guests. We are also happy to inform you that we have completely renovated the Thatched roof (here we call this area "Rancho") rebuilding a totally new Rancho for the Bar-swimming pool area. We will publish some new photos of it, in order you can appreciate the new relax area.

Thanks again for being our guest at La Dolce Vita hotel.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    25
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
40
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I left la dolce vita a couple a days ago and it was a really good place to stay. I stayed for 11 nights and it was wonderful from the first day. The owner and the couple helping him run the place are awesome and they help you out with whatever you need, I came down to try to learn some surfing and they hooked me up right a way. The hotel is clean and the rooms have what you need, air on, kitchenette, nice bathroom. There's a small pool which is perfect if you wanna cool yourself down without going the 10 m to the ocean. The location of this hotel is the greatest, you live on the beach and its perfect for just relax and enjoy yourself! I highly recommend la dolce vita for everyone :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your nice words, that encourage us to work harder, to make all our guests as happy as you have been. We all remeber you very well and think that you enjoyed at the best our location: learning succesfully to surf with your friends and spending long time at the beach or in the terrace of your apartment watching the ocean. We strongly hope we will see you again soon in Esterillos Oeste.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand-Mere, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Eight years ago,my son and I decided to take the dream of surfing and make it a reality. We needed a nice, affordable and secure place to stay. Every 6 months we go there, relax, surf, work et enjoy ourself a lot. Jasmine, Emilio and Antony are just great people and they will always help you with anything if you're in trouble. To wake up every morning to the sound of the waves, get up, make a pot of coffee, take a look at the sea and decide if the waves are good for surfing, put some sunscreen and go.
Wow, how can you resist. If you need more than a fair place that's "La Dolce Vita".

Hope to meet you there sometime in a near future. Dr Yves, Trois-Rivières, Québec

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Yves,

We can only thank you for coming, since seven years at La Dolce Vita hotel, and for your honest words and judgement. We appreciate the adjectives you used: secure, nice affordable. Thanks aso for what you said about our staff; they work a lot for serving well the guests and keeping the place and your words are very much appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

First time to Costa Rica and didn't know the area, found this place online and decided to try it. The price was right and close enough to state park. Like the other reviews stated Ya it could use some improvements but other than that it was an ideal spot and the manager and staff were so kind and caring. I really appreciated the owner's honesty when he told me sorry the rooms weren't lot nicer, he did tell me that he is in the process of remodeling. HONESTY, that's what I really appreciated. Thanks for a great two nights. Would do again. Washington state!

Room Tip: Get one closer to the pool so u can hear the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review, that we alI like for being very clear and helpful in describng this wonderful location and place. Yes, it cost a lot to mantain an hotel on the beach, a few yards from the ocean and a lot have to be done every year.
This summer we made a lot of works: boosted the wifi system with two extra access-points and a webcam; repainted most of the apartments, re-.modeled the front entrance, including the gate and the front walls; build a new rancho (replacing the two years old one we had, that was damaged by rain and wind); fixed the roof and the swimming poool area drainage. Not to mention the replacements of sheets, bedspreads, towels, curtains in all the bed rooms. We promise we'll mantain our good price, in order to keep this wonderful spot on the beach available to most of the ocean beach lovers.
We hope we'll have you again as our guest in the future.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this quaint lovely spot in Esterios. Staff awesome and welcoming. Units are clean and location is the best if you like peace and quiet. Wonderful restaurants in town to feed us local grub.Returning for our 4th year to this gem in the rough.
Mike and Kathy(Canuckle Heads)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Mike and Kathy,

Many thanks for your nice review. Your words are gold for us and will further incentivate our commitment toward our guests, the hotel and the Esterillos Oeste community. You know our effort, works and investment to keep at its best this wonderful place on the beach, facing the shore. We look forward to having again, next year, as our guest.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I really enjoyed this spot. The staff was good and the owner really helped me with anything I needed. It's not a new building but things are well maintained and you can get a good deal -- especially if you book for multiple nights. It's only a few steps from the beach so you can lay in bed and listen to the waves. One note, this is a really quiet little town so there's not much here in the way of bars and nightlife. However, if what you want to do is just relax then this place is perfect. I'd stay here again in a minute.

Room Tip: Actually I think any room is good. The place is small and so any room is just steps from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive comment about La Dolce Vita hotel. Your words and tips are very useful and I remeber very well all the good ideas you shared about new services to offer, for helping our clients to enjoy Esterillos Oeste and the hotel. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope we'll have the chance to see you again in the future, more as a friend than as a client.

Pura Vida
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My original booking for La Dolce Vita was for 10 days. After that, I extended twice to make my time at the beach into a full month. That, in summary, says it all, and is my endorsement. This small hotel is situated in an authentic village setting, surrounded by jungle-like trees, foliage and flowers, and yet within exactly 30 seconds one can be walking, swimming (or surfing) on the beach. The sound of the waves crashing on the shore are what you hear going to sleep and awakening each day. All the necessary amenities are included in each unit, and I have found it to be a very peaceful and relaxing setting. The young couple, Jasmina and Emilio, who manage the hotel as well as providing excellent breakfasts, individually served, are good hosts. In all, it has been a truly satisfying experience staying at La Dolce Vita. I have no hesitation in submitting a wholehearted recommendation.

Room Tip: Unit # 1 on the upper level is closest to the beach and has an excellent view of the Pacific. Unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita

Address: Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Jaco 60901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Dolce Vita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "La Dolce Vita" is located on the beach in Esterillos Oeste, Jaco, facing the shore of the Pacific Ocean. The Hotel, with its seven apartments facing a wonderful garden, is a new, first class construction building offering all comforts. Each apartment has patio/deck, terrazzo-balcony and is smartly furnished, bathroom with hot water, air conditioning, fan, kitchen, fridge with up to 4 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Jaco
La Dolce Vita Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.