We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looking for a place quiet & close to Antonia Manuel Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Dolce Vita to your Saves list
La Dolce Vita
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Jaco 60901, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“looking for a place quiet & close to Antonia Manuel Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

First time to Costa Rica and didn't know the area, found this place online and decided to try it. The price was right and close enough to state park. Like the other reviews stated Ya it could use some improvements but other than that it was an ideal spot and the manager and staff were so kind and caring. I really appreciated the owner's honesty when he told me sorry the rooms weren't lot nicer, he did tell me that he is in the process of remodeling. HONESTY, that's what I really appreciated. Thanks for a great two nights. Would do again. Washington state!

Room Tip: Get one closer to the pool so u can hear the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review, that we alI like for being very clear and helpful in describng this wonderful location and place. Yes, it cost a lot to mantain an hotel on the beach, a few yards from the ocean and a lot have to be done every year.
This summer we made a lot of works: boosted the wifi system with two extra access-points and a webcam; repainted most of the apartments, re-.modeled the front entrance, including the gate and the front walls; build a new rancho (replacing the two years old one we had, that was damaged by rain and wind); fixed the roof and the swimming poool area drainage. Not to mention the replacements of sheets, bedspreads, towels, curtains in all the bed rooms. We promise we'll mantain our good price, in order to keep this wonderful spot on the beach available to most of the ocean beach lovers.
We hope we'll have you again as our guest in the future.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    25
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
40
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this quaint lovely spot in Esterios. Staff awesome and welcoming. Units are clean and location is the best if you like peace and quiet. Wonderful restaurants in town to feed us local grub.Returning for our 4th year to this gem in the rough.
Mike and Kathy(Canuckle Heads)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Mike and Kathy,

Many thanks for your nice review. Your words are gold for us and will further incentivate our commitment toward our guests, the hotel and the Esterillos Oeste community. You know our effort, works and investment to keep at its best this wonderful place on the beach, facing the shore. We look forward to having again, next year, as our guest.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I really enjoyed this spot. The staff was good and the owner really helped me with anything I needed. It's not a new building but things are well maintained and you can get a good deal -- especially if you book for multiple nights. It's only a few steps from the beach so you can lay in bed and listen to the waves. One note, this is a really quiet little town so there's not much here in the way of bars and nightlife. However, if what you want to do is just relax then this place is perfect. I'd stay here again in a minute.

Room Tip: Actually I think any room is good. The place is small and so any room is just steps from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive comment about La Dolce Vita hotel. Your words and tips are very useful and I remeber very well all the good ideas you shared about new services to offer, for helping our clients to enjoy Esterillos Oeste and the hotel. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope we'll have the chance to see you again in the future, more as a friend than as a client.

Pura Vida
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My original booking for La Dolce Vita was for 10 days. After that, I extended twice to make my time at the beach into a full month. That, in summary, says it all, and is my endorsement. This small hotel is situated in an authentic village setting, surrounded by jungle-like trees, foliage and flowers, and yet within exactly 30 seconds one can be walking, swimming (or surfing) on the beach. The sound of the waves crashing on the shore are what you hear going to sleep and awakening each day. All the necessary amenities are included in each unit, and I have found it to be a very peaceful and relaxing setting. The young couple, Jasmina and Emilio, who manage the hotel as well as providing excellent breakfasts, individually served, are good hosts. In all, it has been a truly satisfying experience staying at La Dolce Vita. I have no hesitation in submitting a wholehearted recommendation.

Room Tip: Unit # 1 on the upper level is closest to the beach and has an excellent view of the Pacific. Unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The owner Stefano and the kind Tican couple who take care of the small hotel were very friendly and helpful. The town is 20 mins away from the bustling and commercial Jaco and it is the exact opposite--at least for the weekdays that we were there. The room is actually a small apartment with some nice touches---bedspreads and light fixtures and a functioning kitchen so it is possible to buy local food and cook at home. The location is perfect---right on the ocean with a shady spot to hang out right outside the gate. There is also an impeccable and pretty but tiny pool and outdoor shower to helpful with cleaning after ocean swimming. This is a great spot for surfers and body surfers---both experienced and not. We had a great time. The owner is working on gradually improving the hotel---our bed was uncomfortable and he was grateful to hear this feedback so that he can put it on the list of things to improve. And I believe he will do so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your nice words and the kindness you showed during your stay here, at La Dolce Vita in Esterillos Oeste. We got your suggestion about the bed of your room and have already made the replacement. Emilio, Jasmine and I have good memories of you and you will always be very welcomed. Hope to see you soon.
Our warmest greetings.
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

To be honest when we arrived we both were very unsure of this place. we were immediately given our room (3). A small open patio/porch that leads into the kitchenette area with a refrigerator, 2 burner stove, sink, coffee pot and kitchen supplies and a futone bed. Table and chairs outside on the patio. A small entry into the bathroom and bedroom with a TV and A/C. Our first thoughts were this place needs some updating, but after a walk on the beach and a couple beers we figure we will be just fine for the 3 nights we are here. There is a very small pool oval shaped probably not 10 by 20' in size, but it is refreshing and clean. By the pool is an unkept bar area, the thatched roof over it has a huge hole in it. The ceiling in our room in the little hall had mold growing because of a leaking a/c unit. Our overall opinion is this could be a very nice place, but as of today there is total lack of maintenance. Our friends were here last year in January, and they were surprised by some of the changes. Oh leave a light on at night to avoid cockroaches - my husband saw a dandy - he said he tried to catch it just to show me. If you are truely looking to get away from everything and do nothing for a week or more, this town could be for you, as there is not a lot to it. Stop in Jaco for supplies. Our three nights were enough for us, primarily because it is so small, but i would go again and i would hope there is some maintenance done to this hotel. The owners were there at the time we were there, they are from Italy. I could see they were on vacation not there to work. As for the managers, breakfast everyday was excellant and they seemed like nice people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for the honest review and for your words, that make us engage for working harder in order to make our guests happy. La Dolce Vita is just on the beach, less than 100 meters from the ocean. Therefore it is very hard and expensive to mantain the structure; keeping in the mean time a convenient price for the guests and all the facilites we offer for free as: wifi, breakfast, Tv, parking, kitchenette, etc. The property has just started a project of hotel maintenance and if you will be back again soon, you will appreciate again our wonderful location on the beach and the comfort of the hotel.
Greetings and see you soon. Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I loved this place for its special position on the beach, first line to the waves of the ocean. For its good breakfast, the tiny and clean swimming pool, the warm welcome of the staff. Wifi was very good, as well as satellite television, room climatization confortable, the bed confortable. Price was excellent and I think Esterillos Oeste is a special place, with a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy you enjoied La Dolce Vita and Esterillos Oeste. For the management and the staff is a pleasure to read the satisfaction of our customers; your review is an incentive to keep working to make our guests happy. We hope you will be again our guest soon in the future.
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita

Address: Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Jaco 60901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Dolce Vita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "La Dolce Vita" is located on the beach in Esterillos Oeste, Jaco, facing the shore of the Pacific Ocean. The Hotel, with its seven apartments facing a wonderful garden, is a new, first class construction building offering all comforts. Each apartment has patio/deck, terrazzo-balcony and is smartly furnished, bathroom with hot water, air conditioning, fan, kitchen, fridge with up to 4 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Jaco
La Dolce Vita Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.