We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“low key Pacific Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Dolce Vita to your Saves list
La Dolce Vita
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Jaco 60901, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“low key Pacific Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The owner Stefano and the kind Tican couple who take care of the small hotel were very friendly and helpful. The town is 20 mins away from the bustling and commercial Jaco and it is the exact opposite--at least for the weekdays that we were there. The room is actually a small apartment with some nice touches---bedspreads and light fixtures and a functioning kitchen so it is possible to buy local food and cook at home. The location is perfect---right on the ocean with a shady spot to hang out right outside the gate. There is also an impeccable and pretty but tiny pool and outdoor shower to helpful with cleaning after ocean swimming. This is a great spot for surfers and body surfers---both experienced and not. We had a great time. The owner is working on gradually improving the hotel---our bed was uncomfortable and he was grateful to hear this feedback so that he can put it on the list of things to improve. And I believe he will do so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your nice words and the kindness you showed during your stay here, at La Dolce Vita in Esterillos Oeste. We got your suggestion about the bed of your room and have already made the replacement. Emilio, Jasmine and I have good memories of you and you will always be very welcomed. Hope to see you soon.
Our warmest greetings.
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
40
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

To be honest when we arrived we both were very unsure of this place. we were immediately given our room (3). A small open patio/porch that leads into the kitchenette area with a refrigerator, 2 burner stove, sink, coffee pot and kitchen supplies and a futone bed. Table and chairs outside on the patio. A small entry into the bathroom and bedroom with a TV and A/C. Our first thoughts were this place needs some updating, but after a walk on the beach and a couple beers we figure we will be just fine for the 3 nights we are here. There is a very small pool oval shaped probably not 10 by 20' in size, but it is refreshing and clean. By the pool is an unkept bar area, the thatched roof over it has a huge hole in it. The ceiling in our room in the little hall had mold growing because of a leaking a/c unit. Our overall opinion is this could be a very nice place, but as of today there is total lack of maintenance. Our friends were here last year in January, and they were surprised by some of the changes. Oh leave a light on at night to avoid cockroaches - my husband saw a dandy - he said he tried to catch it just to show me. If you are truely looking to get away from everything and do nothing for a week or more, this town could be for you, as there is not a lot to it. Stop in Jaco for supplies. Our three nights were enough for us, primarily because it is so small, but i would go again and i would hope there is some maintenance done to this hotel. The owners were there at the time we were there, they are from Italy. I could see they were on vacation not there to work. As for the managers, breakfast everyday was excellant and they seemed like nice people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for the honest review and for your words, that make us engage for working harder in order to make our guests happy. La Dolce Vita is just on the beach, less than 100 meters from the ocean. Therefore it is very hard and expensive to mantain the structure; keeping in the mean time a convenient price for the guests and all the facilites we offer for free as: wifi, breakfast, Tv, parking, kitchenette, etc. The property has just started a project of hotel maintenance and if you will be back again soon, you will appreciate again our wonderful location on the beach and the comfort of the hotel.
Greetings and see you soon. Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I loved this place for its special position on the beach, first line to the waves of the ocean. For its good breakfast, the tiny and clean swimming pool, the warm welcome of the staff. Wifi was very good, as well as satellite television, room climatization confortable, the bed confortable. Price was excellent and I think Esterillos Oeste is a special place, with a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy you enjoied La Dolce Vita and Esterillos Oeste. For the management and the staff is a pleasure to read the satisfaction of our customers; your review is an incentive to keep working to make our guests happy. We hope you will be again our guest soon in the future.
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After a lengthy delay in getting there, the manager (Kevin - nicaraguan) met me about 9 pm on Sunday and got me all settled in. The hotel is right next door to some campgrounds and they were carrying on, which is fine unless you are trying to sleep. i was so tired anyway, i don't remember my head hitting the pillow, but another guest told me that he went over and told them to turn it down. Kevin and his wife and son live there as well, and they work hard. They don't need to be up all night either because they prep each continental breakfast fresh. It was filling, hit the spot, coffee was great.
The room was adequate for what I needed it for, sleeping, showering etc. 5 star it is not, but clean with hot water on the shower yes. By the way, that does need a little explanation, since how hot the water gets on the shower is dependent on the flow, in that if the water is on full, you never get the benefit of the hot water...takes a little bit of experimenting and for a couple of days i had tap water coolness for showers.
Pool is small with fine for cooling off with, beach is right there. You can watch the surfers at the high tides cut the waves. I enjoyed some time playing water gun fights in the pools with Kevin's boy of about 4 or 5. He seems to hit the pool about 3-4 each day and he loves it when you pay him some attention.
Guests come from all over the world, i met an Argentinean, Americans, Italians, Spaniards and yes some Ticans as well.
Overall Esterillos Oueste can be a ghost town during the week, but picks up on the weekends when everybody comes it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your comment, We are happy that you had a nice time in our hotel and enjoyed your stay. We feel that you appreciated exactly the spirit of Esterillos Oeste and of La Dolce Vita. It will always be a pleasure to provide you a good service in the future.
Best greetings. Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel was a good value and provided basically what we needed. It is about 20 minutes from Jaco which we stopped at on the way. It is completely the opposite of Jaco. It's quiet and not touristy at all, perfect for us. The beach was steps from our room. The rooms were basic, the shower wasn't very good. It was only $70 and included breakfast which was nice. The manager was very pleasant. I would stay here again just for the location. There is a pool which is tiny but it was nice for relaxing and hanging out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

this place was amazing, low key , great breakfast, studio apt. the staff was helpful ..small town great beach...it has a small pool as well....Emillio was very helpful..room was always clean, and hot breakfast every morning...I would stay again...not busy like Jaco, very small village feel....a good place to chill...

Room Tip: upstairs great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I arrived in Playa Esterillos around 9 pm. at night everything was dark OMG! I said to myself .... I started to walk not knowing my surrondings at all .... I arrived at a Covenience Store and ask for Dolce Vita Hotel and they gave me directions .... Emilio was waiting for me and walked me to my room. The room very simple but had everything you need it Kitchen, fridge, plates, pots, cutlery, living and dining room, bathroom, double bed, tv, a/c what else you need ? food ! convenience store five minutes walking! The hotel is right on the beach you can hear the sound of the waves all day long !! Restaurants three or four around. You can walk to the hwy and take a bus to Jaco Beach and spend the day there too. Jaco Beach not safe at night. Esterillos beach thousand times better than Jaco. I had an amazing time and would love to come back. Thank you Emilio for all your help. Regards from Canada.

Room Tip: the front rooms have ocean view directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks for your comment. Your contribution is important to evaluate what we are doing right and to make pleasant the stay of our guests. Furthermore, your positive comments give to all of us a great satisfaction and are rewarding for our work.. We are glad that you enjoied your stay in Esterillos Oeste and hope you can come back soon.
Nic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita

Address: Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Jaco 60901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Dolce Vita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "La Dolce Vita" is located on the beach in Esterillos Oeste, Jaco, facing the shore of the Pacific Ocean. The Hotel, with its seven apartments facing a wonderful garden, is a new, first class construction building offering all comforts. Each apartment has patio/deck, terrazzo-balcony and is smartly furnished, bathroom with hot water, air conditioning, fan, kitchen, fridge with up to 4 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Jaco
La Dolce Vita Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.