We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel excellent location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

Save Saved
You added La Dolce Vita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Dolce Vita
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Jaco 60901, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little hotel excellent location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

La Dolce Vita in Esterillos Oeste was a fantastic first destination on my few months in Central America. The rooms are not too small and they are clean, and are equiped with a working kitchen and little bathroom. They also have AC which is a plus sometimes! Little pool helps you cool off if you are too lazy to walk the extra 1 minute across the sand into the ocean. Such good location! And great breakfasts! And seriously great town with minimal tourists from America and Canada, and a real authentic vibe. Would totally recommend Esterillos Oeste and La Dolce Vita!

Room Tip: Room number 1!!! it overlooks the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
40
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st petersburg fl
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

You couldn't of ask a more personal place to stay at. It was clean and frendly. The host's did everything that you asked them for. Breakfast was good and served when you wanted it between the hours. All the other people that came in and out where also very nice. We gather around the self served bar nightly and enjoyed the priavte pool. The host made sure we where safe and picked up after us after to many beers. There were near by bars & grills and store's. No problem getting around. Lot's of beach to walk and wonderful sunrise and sunset's. Enjoy the birds, horse and other native animals.
Hat's off to Nick that helped us thu a rough time and the hostess.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

my daughter, my travel planner found this piece of paradise. Knowing that I would love to be near the ocean and the mountain she found perfect spot for us. We stayed at LDV for 4 nights. The rooms are clean and the kitchenette was handy for preparing lunch and dinners. Our room was facing the ocean and the swimming pool below. We met amazing guests and enjoyed their stories. Emilio and Jasmina were most helpful and always accomodating with requests. Jasmina prepared breakfast every morning with a smile. Little Anthony is so adorable with his beautiful eyes. There were a couple of restaurants around and also a pizza place and also a grocery store. We enjoyed watching the surfers, going for long walks and just chillin. Give this place a try you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: ask for room #1 and if you're looking for a shuttle van ask for Julio Cascante of Transmanglares...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esterillos Este, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stayed there 5 times while looking for a house to buy.The area is just plain beautiful.Local people are friendly and laid back.Beach goes for miles and is very clean.It is surfers paradise.
Emilio and Jasmina who run the hotel are awesome and take care of all your needs.And when you see their son Antoni you will want to have children again.i bought a house since close by but will spend my honeymoon in suite #1...Rooms are clean and if you need anything all you do is ask.Maybe i'll get honeymoon discount????.It's centrally located between Jaco and Quepos
(25 km) each way so you are not far from "bigger" cities.If you need more info call3059230993
I'll be in US another month.
Mikie

Room Tip: #1 is on second floor overlooking pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

No signs giving directions to the site, a dirt road, a pool smaller than a bathtub, a very unsafe feeling, 1st greeted by a drunk drinking vodka from a bag. Are you kidding me? I've never seen such a contrast from your 44 reviews and reality. I wonder who wrote the reviews. So disapointed!

Room Tip: Go to hotel tangeri in Jaco, but I think its quieter in the off season, don't know for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, General Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are sorry for your bad experience. Unfortunately, in the period you stayed at our hotel, the entire Costa Rica was under a terrible storm that caused many damages, flooding lands, blocking roads and interrupting the communications all over Costa Rica. It was a real emergency and no hotel in the area could manage the lack of power. Under this weather, with no electricity, everything was difficult: from breakfast preparation to daily room cleaning.

It is for this reason, the worst weather conditions in the year, that you could not enjoy, despite your ocean view apartment, the beauty of Esterillos Oeste, recognized worldwide as a wonderful beach; as well as La Dolce Vita , that despite being one of the more affordable hotels of the area, fulfills the needs of our guests.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you had during your stay.
(The Direction of La Dolce Vita)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011 via mobile

When we drove up we were not sure if we had made the right choice. However, once we were taken to our room (#1) on the second floor we were very pleased. Our balcony overlooked the pool & the crashing surf. The nice gentleman in reception carried our heavy bags up for us. There were a couple of Tico restaurants & a grocery within walking distance. This is definitely a laidback surfer town. Don't stay here if you want a 5 star experience but if you want somewhere off the beaten path, it's perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Oceanfront at these rates? Unheard of. It is not all that clean or comfortable but if you are there for the beach - wowza!

Room Tip: There are only four that are truly oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, General Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Dear Guest, we welcome your constructive comment about what you think is good and what can be improved in our beachfront hotel. You will be happy to know that as a result of your feedback we are replacing some beds to improve the comfort of the apartments, improving the maintenance of the inside and outside areas and offering new free features such as: free wifi internet and satellite Tv. Of course we'll keep our affordable room rates. Thanks again for the fair comment, you'll be always welcome at La Dolce Vita. The General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita

Address: Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Jaco 60901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Dolce Vita 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "La Dolce Vita" is located on the beach in Esterillos Oeste, Jaco, facing the shore of the Pacific Ocean. The Hotel, with its seven apartments facing a wonderful garden, is a new, first class construction building offering all comforts. Each apartment has patio/deck, terrazzo-balcony and is smartly furnished, bathroom with hot water, air conditioning, fan, kitchen, fridge with up to 4 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Jaco
La Dolce Vita Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.