We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Vista Pacifico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Vista Pacifico to your Saves list
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apdo 108, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at this very nice hotel near Jaco. The Canadian hosts were wonderful and they gave us really good advices as for restaurants nearby. The place is clean and located just outside of the town which is nice in this area, we felt safer outside town. You'll be on top of a hill so on a clear day, you can see the sunset. It is a very relaxing place were you can enjoy the pool on a sunny day even though the beach in Jaco is nice. We would definitely recommend this hotel if you have to go in Jaco and don't mind the traveling between town and hotel (on a map it look's close but it is not a walking distance).

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    38
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
158
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay! We met jan and Greg and Julianna and James, nice treat! All very lovely!
We had a room with no air con, would not do that again. As advertised there was a breeze at night that kept us cool. However, we were sweating all day long!!! Maybe just us, but we think you need air con!!
Sorry we have to say this but, the pool was not really that clean. There was some attempt by the owners to remove debris, but we found there was a bit of a film on top :( sometimes the jets were on and sometimes they were not, not sure if that had anything to do with it!
The low season breakfast, well let's just say have your own breakfast ready to go. Hence why a kitchenette is needed and offered at the hotel too!!
Do not hesitate to stay here!! Nice being away from jaco on the hill top!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janandgreg, Owner at Aparthotel Vista Pacifico, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for your review and your kind words about our hotel and hospitality. We really appreciate your feedback. To address a few points you made:

We are glad that you were comfortable at night and enjoyed the cool night breeze we get here on the hill.

We pride ourselves on our sparkling blue swimming pool. The week you stayed with us was a busy one for our pool. When people use a lot of sunscreen and do not shower before entering the pool a “film” can build up on the surface of the water. This build up of sunscreen can only be corrected with harsh chemicals when people aren’t using the pool.

As for our complimentary low-season continental breakfast, many people enjoy our coffee / tea, juices, yogurt and granola, fresh seasonal tropical fruit and pastries. Others prefer to cook a more hearty breakfast in their apartments.

We hope to see you again if you are traveling this way.
-VP Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. It was amazing. They are very friendly and they booked all of our stuff for us and we even got discounts on a few things! They are very helpful and they hooked us up with a driver to bring us to and from where we were visiting in Costa Rica. James and Julianna were very friendly and they were always willing to help and recommend things to do. Cab rides were 5-6 bucks and its not within walking distance of the ocean (it'd probably be a 45min -1 hour walk). Some times the cabbies will try to screw you over but usually they're honest. It was a fun time and our room was really big and had plenty of room. Pool was nice and at night there are always geckos/frogs/toads around. During the day there are a few iguanas that hang out and sunbathe. i'd highly recommend staying here they are very nice and it's pretty inexpensive!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at Vista Pacifico for one night on our 2 week tour of Costa Rica as a pit stop. The views were great, the pool was a real treat and was kept at a perfect temperature and was really clean. Our room was OK, Juliana did say it didn't benefit from a breeze but it had air conditioning that worked (it's just not my preference).

I don't know if all rooms are like the one we stayed in but ours had no door to the bathroom, only a curtain and it was right next to the bed so maybe check this with the owners before booking if you want a bit more privacy if it's available.

We loved the location for the view, peace, quiet and also because Jaco is not our kind of tourist destination, driven by american style tourist spots and tours along with chains such as McDonalds in town - not an authentic or warm town from a cultural perspective.

Good to note if you're not travelling by rental car that taxi's in and out of Jaco cost around $3-$4 each way.

I am a Canadian myself and was not wholly won over by the Canadian hospitality aspect that this hotel pitches. Firstly, our mid afternoon arrival (which is apparently early) was unnecessarily mentioned as if we had inconvenienced them even though our room was ready. There was certainly not a "nothing is a problem" vibe happening at this hotel. We also asked if we could have a simple snack as we were leaving early and wouldn't be able to partake in breakfast which was treated like a problem and a big ask (I must note all other places we stayed offered this voluntarily and with pleasure). I suggested a cheese sandwich and banana and was told they didn't serve bread. Juliana said she didn't think they could do anything but would let me know but never did. When we then found out our pick up had been put back and had breakfast the next morning there was a sliced loaf / toast in the spread - just another sign that the owners were really not bothered about our experience or looking after us as guests.

If you're looking for a room with a view and a nice pool, decent cold breakfast spread and don't mind that it's not an experience itself than you'll probably enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janandgreg, Owner at Aparthotel Vista Pacifico, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
We are sorry that you did not find our hospitality to be up to the standard you had hoped. I feel we tried to help you with all of your requests, even to the point of gladly making you coffee in the middle of the afternoon, at no charge, even though you had a coffee maker, coffee, milk and sugar in the kitchenette of your room,

Further, our breakfast is not one that can be easily packed "to go" as it is made of fresh ingredients (fruit, juices, yogurt, and toast & spreads). Juliana did agree to pack you “something to go” but as we do not have a restaurant this could not be a cheese sandwich as you requested. When you later informed us that you were not leaving early you said this would not be necessary. With a fully equipped kitchenette in your room you also could have taken care of making sandwiches yourself.

As you know, for your one night stay you chose our cheapest/smallest room, the Cabina #9 ($20 less than our regular rooms). All other rooms have fully separate and private bathrooms. Also this room does not benefit as much from the ocean breeze but to compensate it has air-conditioning.

I also want to correct an error in this review: Jaco does not have a McDonalds or any other burger chain. There are many good restaurants in addition to some fast food outlets.

We are sorry if you misread our reaction to your early arrival (our check in is 2 p.m.). We were only concerned that you might have had to wait for your room to be cleaned but luckily it was ready for you.

We are glad however that you loved our location, pool, views and the peace and quiet of our hotel.
The management
Hotel Vista Pacifico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night when visiting various beaches on the Pacific side. The hotel is located on a hill, so you have lovely views of the sunset. It is just a 5 min drive from the restaurants in Jaco yet you are not bothered with the noise of staying in Jaco.
The staff were very helpful in pointing us to lovely restaurants as well as beaches in Jaco and nearby.
We were there in the "green" season so they did not have hot breakfast but there was fresh fruit, coffee./ tea, juice as well as pastries to start your day with. In addition, the room had a mini fridge as well as coffee maker with coffee, sugar, tea etc. It also had a microwave and dishes and silverware. Though we did not make use of any of these amenities, it is nice to have if you are on tight budget.
The room was spacious and clean.
Highly recommended for families !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We just stayed in Apartment One for 3 nights and loved it - the highlight of our stay in Jaco. it's the only thing there which would ever tempt us back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We recently returned from our trip to CR and we stayed at Vista Pacifico for the first 2 nights of our trip. We stayed in room #1 and enjoyed having something that resembles more of a townhouse than a hotel room. The kitchen had all the basics to make meals and the ranchero has a grill you can use. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The pool was small but nice. The hotel owners were very friendly and accomodating and answered every question we had. Note that while Jaco's beaches are some of my least favorite in CR, the gorgeous beaches of Manuel Antonio are an easy (roughly) one hour drive from Vista Pacifico and the owners can give you maps and directions. (Unrelated to Vista Pacifico, if you choose to drive in CR, a GPS is an absolute MUST). My only comment is that it would have been nice to have extra pillows and a hair dryer stored somewhere in the room. (I'm sure management has some somewhere - we didn't ask).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aparthotel Vista Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Vista Pacifico

Address: Apdo 108, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Vista Pacifico 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Aparthotel Vista Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico Jaco
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico Hotel Jaco
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Vista Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.