We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Vista Pacifico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Vista Pacifico to your Saves list
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apdo 108, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Boulder
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Wonderful place, the Canadian owners are very helpful. Its a distance from town, but a taxi will bring you back and forth easily.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    38
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
158
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Just returned from Costa Rica where myself, girlfriend and cousin stayed for one week at the Vista Pacifico hotel.

We could not have picked a better place.

Seated up in the hills with a beautiful scenic view overlooking the town of Jaco, the hotel was more than I could have imagined. The hotel itself is beautiful, with a warm common area and pool, shared BBQ, and lovely grounds. Our rooms were spacious, clean and boasted a great ocean view, not to mention a fully outfitted kitchen and three bathrooms all of which were cleaned daily by the attentive staff.

The owners Jan and Greg went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Their knowledge of the area and of things to do along with their kind and laid back attitude made us quickly feel at home. We had no trouble navigating the town of Jaco and surrounding area thanks to them, and enjoyed our quiet mornings reading in the common area while sipping coffee and eating the beautiful yogurt and granola offerings served.

All in all a fantastic time, thank you so much Jan and Greg for making our stay such a fun and memorable one! If we ever get back to Costa Rica we'll be sure to stay again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Similar to the other reviews. Jan and Greg are fabulous hosts, the hotel is lovely, a light breakfast is included, the price is a bargain, and the overall experience is more like a B&B than a hotel. Only downside is that the hotel is a couple of miles outside of town, so that if you wish to go to the beach to surf, you either need to rent a car (as we did) or call a taxi each time you want to head into town.

Room Tip: the ability to create a 2 BR arrangement 2 sets of the rooms is a big win for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We just got back from staying 8 days at Vista Pacifo. We were not touring the country and just wanted a place to relax at and take some day trips to surrounding beaches. We couldn't be happier. The hosts Jan & Gregg are very friendly and take time to offer tour suggestions and local things to do. They are Canadian, but also speak Spanish, so no problem with communication for locals or foreigners.
They made accommodations for our one and half year old and even provided a room upgrade when one was available - which was very much appreciated as it was much bigger than the cabina that we had booked.
Both rooms were very clean and seemed to have been recently renovated.
Our son had a blast swimming in the pool and running around the shady pathways on the property.
The trip to Jaco beach is a bit farther than most people will want to walk so you will probably be driving or taking a taxi. Parking at the beach and town is free.
I highly recommend Vista Pacifico.

Room Tip: For the budget minded the cabina is a good deal. It is very small, but clean and has a small fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Jan and Greg are awesome hosts! This being our first time in Jaco, they provided us with illustrated informative maps, showing us great places to eat, hiking trails and some of Jaco's "little secrets". They have a "book" (huge binder!) with tons of information and adventure tours to help you plan your stay in Jaco. Only being about a 5 minute drive from the beach, the aparthotel is located up, off the beaten path, with views of both the beach and the mountains! It's quiet, clean and airy, has a beautiful swimming pool and a delicious, healthy FREE breakfast to start your day. Dog lovers, this is a must for you! Their two dogs, Mika and Ringo, make "missing your dog at home" a little easier. They are playful and sweet.
Tip: Ask Jan where "Rusticos" is. You will experience a real Costa Rican meal for only 2500 Colones! It was so delicious. I can't stop thinking about the plantains!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Jan and Greg were the most hospitable hosts for us during our stay. Our first morning, Jan showed us some of their pictures from Costa Rica and turned us onto a mermaid statue at Playa Esterillos. We made the trip that morning to hit low tide, so we could walk out to her. It was beautiful. They turned us onto Villa Caletas for their sunset dinner at the ampitheatre. Unfortunately we had overcast skies, but the dinner was excellent and the views weren't too bad.

We reserved Room #1, it had the tower view, which was neat to look out over Jaco. The room was great, clean and very well kept. They run a great little place and we highly suggest the trek up the hill to stay with them! Thanks Jan and Greg!

Room Tip: Choose a room based on the number of occupants, we overdid it with it just being the two of us, we c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We arrived late without a booking but Jan simply organised us for the night. The next morning we ate a great breakfast next to the pool then Jan arranged transport for us and she and Greg provided useful insights about the next leg of our journey. Although the hotel sits high on comanding site once you stay it has the feeling of an intimate b&b.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Vista Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Vista Pacifico

Address: Apdo 108, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Vista Pacifico 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Aparthotel Vista Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico Jaco
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico Hotel Jaco
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Vista Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.