We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifesafers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Vista Pacifico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aparthotel Vista Pacifico to your Saves list
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apdo 108, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lifesafers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This couple saved our lives...we had just left a terrible hotel in town in Jaco were in need of a last-minute nice place to stay for 2 nights. The owner Jan and partner Greg welcomed us with open arms and saved our trip from being a disappointment.
They allowed us to check in early and immediately set us up with cool places to eat and things to do and see.
The rooms are beautiful and immaculate.
The pool is perfect!
The views are spectacular of the mountains and Jaco city w/ beach.
The hotel is located on hill just off the Jaco main drag about 2 minutes drive.
I recommend staying out of the Jaco downtown area because things can get pretty rowdy down there at night.
We felt safe and kinda of away from it all at this hotel.
I would love to stay here again and again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    33
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
147
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lifeform07
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway. Having already read up about places to stay here on tripadvisor, we decided to see what made it the number one place to stay in Jaco. I noted three standout qualities for the property:

1) It's Value: in comparison with some of the larger resorts in town, you simply can't get a better deal for the price!
2) The Property: the grounds are meticulously maintained, the layout is quaint and intimate, and the rooms have gorgeous views of jaco and the pacific ocean.
3) The Hosts: you simply do not meet many owners who take greater pride in their hospitality than Jan and Greg. They really take the time to get to know you while also allowing you a certain level of personal space so that you do not feel as if they were a pushy concierge looking for the next tipping opportunity.

Great place, will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have been to Costa Rica a few times and have used TripAdvisor as the place to start to look for accomodations. There was only one time I felt that the hotel was not property described and over-rated. Vista Pacifico however lived up to its reputation. I loved staying there. It is so hard to find a great place to stay for under $100 a night let alone for $50 a night for a 7 night stay. The hotel is charming and located just outside of town which I preferred since the town is busy and I was looking for peace and quiet at the end of the day. Since it sits up on a hill you get the benefit of ocean breezes and a bird's eye view of lightning storms over the ocean. The Canadian owners, Jan and Greg could not be nicer and more sincere in wanting to help in anyway they could. The pool was not that big but most times no one was in the pool and it was a plus for me. Every room has a beautiful view of the ocean. I stayed in a two-floor Suite with living room (pull-out couch and small TV), full bathroom with shower and kitchen below with patio and bedroom, full bath and deck above. (plus a viewing tower). My room did not have A/C but there were ceiling fans and most nights a breeze made it comfortable. I believe that some rooms do have A/C. The breakfast is basic but fruit, juice, good Costa Rican coffee, yogurt with granola on the bottom in an ice cream dish and some german pastry was just fine. The hotel is just a stone's throw from town. Jan and Greg had good reccomendations for places to eat. Every guest was well-taken care of and those we talked to were really pleased to have found such a great value for such a nice place. The other guests ranged from families, couples, people from overseas and a small group of kids from South Carolina doing missionary work. The staff was also very nice--the three girls who cleaned were fastidious (each day they created different things with the towels). Sheets changed every three days. Water was fine to drink. All in all, Vista Pacifica was one of the best places I have stayed in Costa Rica for the money.

Room Tip: If you want more space to spread out get the two-story room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We booked this place based on previous recommendations and everything said is absolutely true! Greg and Jan the owners/innkeepers are wonderful and welcoming. The hotel is beautiful with an amazing view. We had driven many miles that day and arrived to this picturesque setting, took a dip in the pool and felt rejuvenated. Jan and Greg gave us spot on recommendations for great food around Jaco as well as Manuel Antonio. We thought we would stay one or two nights and ended up being there 3. The hotel was very convenient for heading to other sites nearby - Carara National Park, boating to see crocodiles as well as a trip down to Manuel Antonio National Park. We will come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The view from #2 was wonderful. I watched a lightning storm blow in off the Pacific at 4:00 a.m. from bed through the beautiful doors and windows accross the back of the room. The view from the breakfast/pool area was of the mountains where I saw a flock of beautiful birds fly in a light in the trees. The rooms had everything you need, even milk for your coffee. Don't miss Vista Pacifico, but skip downtown Jaco.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

My daughter and I spent 5 days in Jaco and we stayed at the Vista Pacifico. Greg and Jan were fantastic hosts and helped us get the very best out of the time we had available. The hotel has a wonderful setting on a small hill just above Jaco, and the friendly atmosphere meant that at breakfast everybody exchanged tales of their travels. I would unhesitatingly recommend the Vista Pacifico to anybody travelling to Jaco.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Great hotel, great location, lovely owners. The location is on a mountaintop. One side overlooking the Pacific ocean and Jaco, the other side overlooking a beautiful valley. To go to the town center should should take a car, because it’s a steep walk. Futher, take surflessons, its great!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Vista Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Vista Pacifico

Address: Apdo 108, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#7 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Vista Pacifico 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Aparthotel Vista Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico Jaco
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico Hotel Jaco
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Vista Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.