We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place I have been in Jaco Beach - Bar None” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarita's Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clarita's Beach Hotel
Save Saved
You added Clarita's Beach Hotel to your Saves list
300 meters North of Best Western Hotel on the Beach, Jaco 0078, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best place I have been in Jaco Beach - Bar None”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

I must say quite a bit about this hotel, restaurant, bar, and staff!!! This place is very close to the center of town (walking distance to everything). I stayed there for the first time in May, but have been eating and drinking in there for a few couple visits now. All I have to say is that the hotel is priced right and exceptionally well maintained for the price. The pool is top notch too. It is right on the ocean and provides you with everything you need on-site. As a person who travels alone, with friends, and with my family, I would say this place works for everyone. It is totally safe, the food at the restaurant is well priced and delicious, and the drinks are cold and refreshing. Great for somebody on a budget or someone looking for a down home feeling. Outside of everything listed above, I have to say that the staff is second to none. They really want to get to know you and serve at american standards of efficiency. I would recommend Clarita's for everyone, but they have a special place for budget travelers and trat you like you have been there all your life. Way to go Clarita's!!! You have a fan for life.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    73
    28
    20
    11
See reviews for
14
39
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

First this hotel is owned by a American not a Tica as name indicates. The owner smokes a cigar every day in the restaurant, which is the main lobby and it stinks up the placve really bad especially if you don't smoke cigars. The staff is average. The food is average and a bit pricey.. There are many other hotels in the same price range that are alot nicer and closer to town. the hotel is barreb after 10 pm. No phone in the room. Internet does not work in the room only in the restaurant. The hotel is a bit away from the center of town. The rooms are very basic , ie a bed, old tv , bathroom. no chair etc. They don't even give you shampoo. The dead battery in my clock was never changed despite me asking every day. Very hard to sleep as at 7am trucks start coming to the property. The pool is tiny and holds about 8 people ..Rooms are very dated ..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

My name is Al and this was my first time to costa rica , and i gotta tell you i didnt want to leave, claritas was on the water and very affordable . My trip consisted of 4 nights 2 in jaco beach at claritas and 2 in san jose , For the record i should have never left claritas the view from the hotel room was amazing every morning. and the food at the bar was amazing . Talk to erika from happy tours,she's in the bar area at claritas, youll be happy you did , thank you erika. See you soon claritas

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Clarita's is just a really cool, laid-back hotel with a killer bar and restaurant. We wanted a place to just chill for a few days, no frills, just have some good food and beers, and this was perfect for that. The rooms are really bare-bones, so don't go in expecting something nice. The rooms are just there for you to get sleep before drinking more beer on the beach the next day. However, the rooms are exceptionally clean. No complaints there at all. My favorite part of Clarita's though is the food at the restaurant. Everything is SO good - ceviche, burritos, all kinds of good seafood and rice. The quality of the food seriously blew me away, especially for a little beachside bar. My only negative about Clarita's was that they sent me all these awesome emails while I was planning the trip - so funny, and nice, and full of personality (such a great change from the normal automated booking systems), and they were all signed from Clarita, saying she was looking forward to seeing us, so I guess I was expecting this wonderful, friendly hotel owner named Clarita to walk around and chat with people every now and then. I think that would make a lot of people loyal guests of this place. Maybe Clarita was around, but if so, I never knew. But really, just a small complaint. Overall, I love this place and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Clean rooms, killer location on beach, check in at the bar (make sure to ask for a free beer with checkin), good pool. While one of the cheaper places to stay in Jaco, if I had to do it over again I would have shelled out a little extra dough to stay in nicer place since this one was a bit small and beds weren't the best. That said, from what I heard from some other people familiar with the area, Clarita's is nicer than many of the slightly-more-expensive places in Jaco, so who knows.

Recommended because it won't be a bad experience, and I'm not sure how easy it is to do better in Jaco.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Traveled w/3 friends throughout Costa Rica over the xmas 09/New Year 2010. We spent 4 nights in Jaco, all of them at Claritas. I can tell you one of the many positives of Clarities is the location: literally on the beach, north side of town. It felt much more private than some of the places we saw downtown Jaco. Don't get me wrong, Jaco is beautiful, but there's just too many prostitutes everywhere. After eating and drinking in the downtown, a short walk up the beach to Claritas and you're there. The bar services and food were great. Rooms were small, but clean and adequately equipped (we had a refri. in ours, AC, and a TV). And the rates were really reasonable considering were were there during the busiest time of year (we booked WELL in advance). The staff handled the reservation w/aplomb and it was nice waking up in the morning, walking out on the balcony of our 2nd floor room, and seeing the big blue Pacific. I would definitely stay here again. P.S. You MUST go to Tsunami Sushi in Jaco - best I've ever had.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Claritas was just what I was looking for. Clean rooms, right on the beach, good food and cheap drinks. I stayed at Best Western last time in Jaco and Claritas better by far. The staff was friendly, good security and they allow you to enjoy youself and have fun.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarita's Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarita's Beach Hotel

Address: 300 meters North of Best Western Hotel on the Beach, Jaco 0078, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaco's most affordable beach front hotel with complete restaurant and bar. Prime Beach front location with spectacular views of Pacific Ocean and rain forest. The Place in Jaco for folks who love the beach, crave ocean breezes and breaking surf, who expect excellent friendly service, and who want to kick back, have fun and catch Costa Rica's Pura Vida!!! Claritas provides ocean front clean rooms with ac, cable TV, hot water, refrigerators, room safes, swimming pool and bar, free wifi, free secured private parking, live bands- all at affordable rates. Great surf in front of your room. Cheapest rooms & Coldest beer on Jaco Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claritas Beach Jaco
Hotel Claritas Beach
Clarita's Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarita's Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.