We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Clarita escape.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarita's Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clarita's Beach Hotel
Save
You added Clarita's Beach Hotel to your Saves list
300 meters North of Best Western Hotel on the Beach, Jaco 0078, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Atlanta, Ga.
1 review
“The Clarita escape.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Just came back from 11 days of fishing with the guys in Jaco at Clarita's. As advertised the Hotel was clean and safe and the beach and sunsets were great. But what is not advertised is the tremendous staff from the bartenders to the house keepers. The Clarita's staff was there to ensure that our stay was pleasent. The food at clarita's was magnificent and was the best in all of Jaco so much so that one of our group tried to marry the cook. Our trip was mainly a fishing adventure and whenever we would bring back fresh catch the kitchen created a masterpiece with it. The smiling housekeepers kept the room tidy and never disturbed anything " try that anywhere else in CR." The bar staff will steal your heart with thier beauty, kindness and antics. Maggie, Reny, Rosy, Raquel, Misel,and Daisy always made the time to smile and cut up with us even when they were at thier busiest. The only negative thing I found was leaving. Clarita's is definately the place to stay in Jaco and I will be going back. THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL STAY.

  • Liked — The Great staff......................
  • Disliked — Leaving..................
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    80
    32
    22
    11
See reviews for
15
44
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

We stayed at Clarita’s Hotel and had the best time of my life. I have been all over the world and have never been treated like part of the family anywhere else. Clarita was as sweet as I had dreamed and would walk on the beach with you, just about at the drop of a hat. The Women that work there was all sweethearts and I wanted to bring them home with me. The Kitchen cooked our fish we caught even though they were very busy with customer orders, and bent over backwards to make our meals really special. The housekeeping crews left little surprises for us and that added touch that made our stay a pleasure. Bar and restaurant staff are as good as they get and there beauty is on the inside and outside.
If you are looking for a five star hotel (usually three or two star staff), then please don’t go to Clarita’s. If you want a three star hotel with a seven star staff, Clarita’s is the place for you. We will never go anywhere else on future trips.
The comments about Clarita’s being for old men and a dump is the type of people that I am glad don’t stay there. I have been to the best hotels and gotten treated like royalty, but Clarita’s staff treated us like family, and I’ll take that every time.
The beach was great and the sunset was a beautiful, the bar has top self liquor available and the coldest beer in town. The food was American and Costa Rica cuisine, large portions, and great.
Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland. Or
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

Just got back from a week long stay in Jaco at Clarita's and can't wait to go back!
We booked our reservations from Clarita's website very last minute (2 or 3 days before arrival) and within a few hours I received a response back confirming our reservations.
Once we arrived we knew we made the right choice in hotels, upon check-in we each received a free beer. And the staff was very friendly from the get-go.
The rooms are small but very clean and the water in the shower was always hot (We had 3 people taking showers one after another)
Clarita's is one of very few beachfront hotels in Jaco and it's so nice to just get up leave the room, hit the hotel restaurant/bar grab an ice cold (and cheap) beer and hit the beach. We had such an awesome time at Clarita's we lost track of time. We thought we had another couple days on our date of checkout, so we stayed an extra night.
Can you find a cheaper hotel in Jaco? Probably. But right on the ocean, with security at night, very clean rooms, with an awesome restaurant and even better staff? I doubt it.
Have fun at Clarita's! Pura Vida...

  • Liked — Location/staff
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesburg, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

Claritas on the beach is a treat - rustic ( simple with style) -sits on the beach - one of the few in Jaco - Rooms are clean - cable, ac , hot shower is all i need - wake up and walk right to thre beach
the bar restaurant is a treat - easy going - cold beer and drinks - espn and good tunes -the chow is good - breakfast will rival american diner - waitress are nice - i like the simple when i on vacation and
this fits the bill - owner was on hand and hook us up with dos and donts - we had a few pops together

  • Liked — simple
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

What a fun time at Clarita's Hotel on the beach in Jaco. Great people, Great Service, Great Food and of course there is Clarita. I will definately return to Claritas for another trip to Costa Rica. Very clean rooms and nice new tiled showers. The only thing you need bring is yourself and have fun and how can you not at Claritas!!

  • Liked — Location to the Beach
  • Disliked — Nothing! Loved it
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

I stayed at Clarita's Beach Hotel during late May, 2008. The hotel and bar are located right on the water at the north end of Jaco Beach. Although the hotel is modest in its ammenities, it is clean and has all the conveniences necessary for a comfortable stay. The bar has good food, inexpensive drinks, Reggae music on Sundays, and a friendly staff to cater to your needs. The surf jams right in front of the hotel for all of you who like to surf-just remember to use caution before entering the water as riptides abound. Also, the ocean breeze is very refreshing indeed because when there is no wind and the sun is out, the weather here is hot and quite stifling! Will I stay again at Clarita's you ask, well I've already made a reservation for my return!

  • Liked — Being right on the beach and the friendliness of the staff.
  • Disliked — When it rains the power does tend to go out all over Jaco.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

I can bet you 98% of reviews on this place is by guys! I've traveled the world and not a fancy girl, but this was the armpit of Jaco if not Costa Rica! I've stayed in dives before, but at least paid dive prices...not $45 in lieu of the $15 noted in Lonely Planet 2007. "That review is very old, prices old". The food was good, yes, but the old leathery American hooker that came out for tequila shots then took one of the guys across the parking lot to a cabana for 10 mins was free entertainment, let me tell you! In the rooms the walls didn't reach the ceiling, (picture Silom Rd hostels in Bangkok but for realistic $10), could hear the conversation from 2 rooms away. It was decently clean, yes, but as noted, not for the price. Gave it at least 2 stars cause was cool enough to give my money back. That was after I had to literally wait next to the hostess while she chatted on her cellphone behind the kitchen for 10 mins to have her fully acknowledge my presence. Kept trying to chalk it up to the fact that it was end of May and perhaps they were all burnt out from a heavy tourist season for much of their attitude. That or cause I'm a woman and wouldn't be spending my dollars the way the usual clientele does.
Can only recommend Jaco if you're an older man who's left the wife and kids at home to go deepsea fishing, a surfer, or just into hookers and booze. A tropical Tijuana.

  • Liked — The location on the beach.
  • Disliked — Where to start? Attitude, sleeze ambience, overpriced rooms for nice shanty..
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clarita's Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarita's Beach Hotel

Address: 300 meters North of Best Western Hotel on the Beach, Jaco 0078, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaco's most affordable beach front hotel with complete restaurant and bar. Prime Beach front location with spectacular views of Pacific Ocean and rain forest. The Place in Jaco for folks who love the beach, crave ocean breezes and breaking surf, who expect excellent friendly service, and who want to kick back, have fun and catch Costa Rica's Pura Vida!!! Claritas provides ocean front clean rooms with ac, cable TV, hot water, refrigerators, room safes, swimming pool and bar, free wifi, free secured private parking, live bands- all at affordable rates. Great surf in front of your room. Cheapest rooms & Coldest beer on Jaco Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claritas Beach Jaco
Hotel Claritas Beach
Clarita's Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarita's Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.