We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel with excellent management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarita's Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clarita's Beach Hotel
300 meters North of Best Western Hotel on the Beach, Jaco 0078, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 39 hotels in Jaco
La Jolla, California
1 review
“Awesome hotel with excellent management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Definitely not a five star hotel, but as far as a beach hotels go, this is the best. Super safe w 24 hour security guard. Awesome restaurant with really good food and great service. The staff was exceptionally great and caring. Located directly on beach, only a $1 cab ride from all the action, but removed far enough for peace during the day. Hang out at the beach bar, play volleyball, or swim in the pool. I've stayed at beach hotels all over the world, and this was the best for my money. Can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    72
    27
    20
    11
See reviews for
14
39
57
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just want to start off by saying if you have been to Jaco and never stayed at Claritas you don't know what you are missing great people great view great room great prices and the best food in Jaco. The owner Cigar Dave treats everybody like family one the best guys i come to meet in Jaco. Dave looking forward to coming back in January.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Clarita's for one night and actually thought about leaving by 11pm - we read the reviews and it was even recommended in our guide book - but don't be fooled like us! For the same price, there are much better places to stay. We had just spent 8 hours traveling by bus, ferry and bus again to Jaco and were exhausted; too bad no one mentioned that it was karoke night at Clarita's Sports Bar!! The sound of ridiculously loud singing shook the walls of our room until after midnight. The food is over priced and she charges you 200 colones to sit at the tables outside on the beach. The location is extremely removed and is at least a 20 minutes walk to the shops and restaurants. The room was not very clean, there was sand on the floor and a thick film of dust on almost every surface. Overall for the exact same price, we moved to another hotel that offered more amenities and is in a much better location. The best thing about Clarita's is the free Coke or Beer you get when you check in - if only they gave ear plugs with that too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Canaveral
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Once again another great trip with my friends at clarita's It was my sons 18th birthday party and I believe it is one not to be forgotten. And for you people who want to have your Cigar well step in the sand and your not in the bar So get your tail on a flight schedule and roll down for some cold beer big waves good fishing and don't forget the lovely lady's.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

clarita's is right on the beach, with the sports bar overlooking the ocean. the bar staff are very friendly and accommodating, on our first visit we asked for a particular futbol game, and they were very happy to put it on for us. the bar scene later at night can be described as adult, but it's a bar in jaco, right? bot times i've been there i was never offered anything besides another drink! the rooms are clean and spare, if you are planning on sleeping past 8am, you should consider getting a room with a/c, every room we've had had cable tv in case you didn't party enough in town. if you're looking for peace and quiet you probably shouldn't be in jaco, but i never had a problem with noise at clarita's. if you're young or young at heart you can't really go wrong with clarita's, if you're old and/or miserable, don't stop in jaco!

Room Tip: go for an airconditioned room if you plan on sleeping in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

For $50 I had an awesome little room. Good shower, cable tv with English channels, and soothing sounds of the waves crashing all night. it's all the way at the end of the strip, so a bit of a walk, but only a $2 can to all the action. They have the best party in Jaco on Thursday night, but Friday nights karaoke is a nightmare!!! They went on until 1am, and u can hear everything in the rooms.
Aside from that, the rooms's AC rocks, it was a good safe, and a little pool to jump into. And a fridge I would def stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Harbor Islands, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

It is not easy to find a place where employees are truely eager to make one's stay really enjoyable. Clarita's is that place. I awakened at 5:45 AM to the sound of native birds and pounding waves. The beach was 20 yards from my room and breakfast was available in the open air restaurant just off the beach. Thursday through Saturday the action is lively at the special promotions that are held at Clarita's bar. All in all I spent a most enjoyable 2 weeks there and will do so again, hopefully, soon.

Room Tip: A/C rooms more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarita's Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarita's Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Claritas Beach Jaco
Hotel Claritas Beach
Clarita's Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco
Address: 300 meters North of Best Western Hotel on the Beach, Jaco 0078, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaco's most affordable beach front hotel with complete restaurant and bar. Prime Beach front location with spectacular views of Pacific Ocean and rain forest. The Place in Jaco for folks who love the beach, crave ocean breezes and breaking surf, who expect excellent friendly service, and who want to kick back, have fun and catch Costa Rica's Pura Vida!!! Claritas provides ocean front clean rooms with ac, cable TV, hot water, refrigerators, room safes, swimming pool and bar, free wifi, free secured private parking, live bands- all at affordable rates. Great surf in front of your room. Cheapest rooms & Coldest beer on Jaco Beach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarita's Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Clarita's Beach Hotel to your Saves list