We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun at Clarita's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarita's Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clarita's Beach Hotel
Save
You added Clarita's Beach Hotel to your Saves list
300 meters North of Best Western Hotel on the Beach, Jaco 0078, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
“Great Fun at Clarita's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

Just returned from a 5 day stay at Clarita's. We had very clean rooms and a very friendly staff. We enjoyed kicking back in front of our hotel rooms and talking with fellow travelers. The small open air cafe serves good food with plenty of satelite TV and free internet service. In the evenings the place fills up with friendly groups of expats that are a wealth of information to enhance your stay in Costa Rica. There is a chance of getting booked next to some party animals that keep late and loud night hours, but then this is a surfer town. A good time was had by all.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    74
    30
    20
    11
See reviews for
14
40
60
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

Me and 3 other guys stayed here for 5 nights and couldn't ask for anything better. The location is secure and safe (24 hr security), right on the beach next to $400k condos, a 5-10 minute walk or $1 taxi ride to town. The rooms are just right for the price - clean, with good beds, a mini-fridge that'll fit a case of beer, and powerful AC that was easy to set to the right temperature. The hotel bar/restaurant is great. We setup a fishing trip through them on the Goldenrod, a 28' Bertram, and came back with some mahi-mahi that they prepared 2 ways. The blackened mahi-mahi was just incredible, some of the best fish we've ever had. The beers were so cheap that we couldn't stop drinking them. Their burgers and nachos are pretty good too. We ate at least half our meals at the hotel restaurant, and the rest in town.

The host, David, knew all of our names by the end of the first day and would always stop by our table and see how we were doing.

The maids were very nice and put fresh cut flowers in our bath towels each day. They deserve your tips. They even washed some of our clothes after a very muddy dune buggy tour.

Jaco is a great central location for the Pacific cost. We had a car so we had easy access to the Tarcoles crocodile tour, Manuel Antonio natl park, sportfishing from Los Suenos, ATV tours, etc. If you need a vacation with the guys, don't look anywhere else. If I was bringing my family though, I'd probably go upscale to get a bigger room, etc.

We're looking forward to going again next year and hope they have the pool done by then!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

The hotel isn't the Ritz Carlton, but the staff at the hotel are fabulous. The owner and staff are always there to answer your questions about where and what to do, book your excursions, and cook the fish you caught for free!! It's one of those places that seems like the employees really like coming to work.

Once you realize that the open air beach front resturant and bar is the place for ex-patriots that enjoy talking to north americans, you feel right at home.

If you want to visit Jaco Beach and really relax in a native enviroment, Claritas Beach Hotel is the place to stay.

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Disliked — No swinning pool
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

First time in C.R. and had a great time. Clarita's was very clean with good shower and ac unit. TV and refrig were both fine.The staff was very friendly and Bri hooked us up with a fishing boat for a good price. Went fishing and caught a wahoo and brought it back for dinner. They cooked it for us any way we asked. we had it blackened and also with garlic and butter, both were exellent! Will go back again.
If you need a ride anywhere they recommended Adrian in Costa Rica. He was great and also supplied alot of information.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

I spent 3 nights at Clarita's and had a great time. This is a decent little motel. The rooms were comfortable & always clean. Room had cable tv , a mini fridge & 2 chairs outiside the door to kick back and relax. The bar/restaurant is great. Cold beer, decent food & great service. About a 5 minute walk on the beach to the main part of Jaco. Always felt safe and welcomed at the hotel. This is not a luxurious hotel, but it met all of my needs and exceeded my expectations. Great spot for an authentic Jaco experience.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

If you are going to spend your vacation outside your room, you don't have problems when you have the feeling that your neighbor is in the same room (especially when is having fun with girls...), you like sports and beer, that's probably a good place for you.

This place was ok but not great. If I'm going back to Jaco, I'll go elsewhere.

  • Liked — Beach very close
  • Disliked — sound-proofing of my room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

Stayed at claritas for 4 nites. had a great time. rooms are clean, a/c and hot water is fine. the staff is great. have already reserved my next trip at claritas. great value. no complaints

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarita's Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarita's Beach Hotel

Address: 300 meters North of Best Western Hotel on the Beach, Jaco 0078, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaco's most affordable beach front hotel with complete restaurant and bar. Prime Beach front location with spectacular views of Pacific Ocean and rain forest. The Place in Jaco for folks who love the beach, crave ocean breezes and breaking surf, who expect excellent friendly service, and who want to kick back, have fun and catch Costa Rica's Pura Vida!!! Claritas provides ocean front clean rooms with ac, cable TV, hot water, refrigerators, room safes, swimming pool and bar, free wifi, free secured private parking, live bands- all at affordable rates. Great surf in front of your room. Cheapest rooms & Coldest beer on Jaco Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claritas Beach Jaco
Hotel Claritas Beach
Clarita's Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarita's Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.