We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Catalina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Catalina
Save
You added Hotel Catalina to your Saves list
Calle Hidalgo | South Jaco Beach, Beachfront!, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Jaco B&B and Inns
Shelby, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had our daughters wedding in Jaco in June 2012. We stayed at Hotel Catalina and enjoyed ever minute of our stay. Naomi & Sandra were such wonderful hostesses. We stayed in a regular room without the AC but with ceiling fan on, we slept great at night! Some of us had the AC rooms. We will go back to the Catalina in a few years and stay again. What a great and beautiful beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravida643, Owner at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We were so happy to meet you and your family, and loved being part of the wonderful occasion! We hope to see you again soon! Thank you for everything. - Naomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bethpage, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This was my first trip to CR.
Hotel Catalina is located in a quaint beachside area of Jaco, where beautiful ocean waves and incredible neon sunsets lull you into relaxation mode. The proprietors are extremely friendly and accomodating; each room is comfortable, cool and clean, they answer to their own high standards. The grounds are a floral paradise, every flower and bird stopping by to sing their song. They are environmentally conscious of daily living without sacrificing creature comforts. The surfing is literally at the door front. Classes are held for newcomers nearby. Fresh fruit and drinks in the patio are lovely at days end. People are so friendly and engaging; as if we all know how lucky we are to be there! Along with a friend, we stayed at both a high end resort, and Hotel Catalina, and I must say the service and warmth of Hotel Catalina far outdid the staff at the high end hotel which felt a bit too impersonal. To each his own...I will go back to Hotel Catalina as soon as I can! What a fantastic getaway from the rat race!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanc8pd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravida643, Owner at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We loved having you here! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The Catalina continues to be our beach home of choice. Over the past several years we've stayed as a couple, as a family, for a family reunion over the winter holidays, and for a stay with several friends of 60 years (literally) who came from Massachusetts to visit us for the first time.

We love the cleanliness, hot water, unbeatable location, and the kitchen facilities, but the best thing about the Catalina is the people. Sandra and Naomi never fail to treat us and our guests like friends...better than family:)...and go out of their way to be always helpful and to individualize their attention depending on our needs.

We always stay in one of the fan rooms, and don't feel the need for a/c, but we live in Costa Rica and can see that people from the Frozen North might want the a/c:)

We'll be back asap.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saramandaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravida643, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We always enjoy when you visit with your family! Thank you for the continuing support! Hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Hotel Catalina is run by a lovely family who are incredibly welcoming. We had a room on the second floor with a perfect view of the most amazing sunset. The rooms are clean and well equipped. It's good value and safe. It is right up the quiet end of Jaco beach away from the main tourist area which does mean you either need a car or to take a taxi into town. Taxis are cheap though and the hotel will call one for you whenever you need one. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room on the second floor at the back as then you look directly out onto the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clarissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravida643, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
It was a pleasure meeting you both. Thank you for staying with us and writing the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Our friends told us about th is place. They live in costa rica and come here often.

Located on the south end of jaco beach. Quiet and laid back area close enough to walk to center of town for dinner or action

Secured parking and building
Small pool
beautiful grounds they have taken great care of this property

Rooms are the cleanest we have seen. Fridge small kichen and hotplate

Air condition that us quiet
Hot water
No bugs

No tv

Excellent property and great owners

We will be back

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freberd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravida643, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
What a pleasure meeting you both! Thank you for the support! Hope your travels through Costa Rica were enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This place is great by the beach. The rooms are clean and the price is just right. A place you always go back to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I've spent significant time in this hotel, May, June and July of 2011 to be specific, as well as several months in prior years. It's a very comfortable place. The hotel is right on the beach in the south end of Jaco, which is a great area for surfing and relaxing. Walk out the door of your room to check the waves. Rooms are clean, light and airy. The vibe is peaceful and low key. At night, all you'll here are the sounds of the surf. There are no televisions so bring some books. The owners, Sandra and Naomi, work hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay. A majority of the guests, whether they be Ticos or extranjeros, seem to be regulars. Tells you all you need to know.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skip614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravida643, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
We're always happy when someone enjoys their stay at Hotel Catalina and in Jaco, Costa Rica! Thank you for the wonderful feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
0.9 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#9 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalina

Address: Calle Hidalgo | South Jaco Beach, Beachfront!, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful beachfront hotel, friendly and peaceful atmosphere. Rooms are clean, simple and bright they have kitchenettes and private patios. Lush gardens, ocean breezes create the perfect relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Catalina Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing