We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved South Beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
South Beach Hotel
Jaco Beach | Jaco Beach Municipal Palace 600 Mts South, Jaco 1139-1250, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Arenal Pacifico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We loved South Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were here with a group from MadAdventours (which was awesome, highly recommended btw). Our accommodations were very nice, rooms were always clean. Rosa made us the best breakfast every morning. Location was perfect...highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
21
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Arrived early April 2014, the hotel is getting some major upgrades, which is good and bad. while oceanfront rooms are the draw I would HIGHLY suggest getting a room on the second or 3rd floor. 1st floor rooms don't have as nice of view because of palm trees and workers start outside very early.. Saturday morning was awoken at 6:12am with a worker outside hammering, then he proceeded to clean dead palm fronds right outside ground units, banging aluminum ladder and chopping at trees.. The room also has water spigot located directly behind bed on outside wall, when they use that water source it is VERY loud inside unit. The sound of water rushing will startle you if sleeping.. Another reason to request 2nd or 3rd floor is maids closet is located in1st floor hallway, at that to get VERY noisy early AM with the housekeepers talking in the hallway outside your room. Beds are warn and very hard.. Positive are that the hotel is close to town center, and the outside upgrades are making the place really nice. If loud music bother you, request a room as far from restaurant as possible as music blares from the restaurant around the pool all day and into the night. Don't expect ice to take to your rooms as there is none.. The staff was very nice and accommodating. if I were to return to this property I would request a 3rd floor oceanfront the north end of building. Pool views are nice, but a little noisy with music playing in addition to noise from people in pool early.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

First, the hotel is under a new set of new management. This appears to be a good thing -- our guide (from Madventours, use them if you ever have the chance) informed us that this change has resulted in increased client-focus, attentive staff, improved facilities, and improved menu. I can't speak to the previous state of the hotel, but upon our visit the staff was hard at work remodeling and painting, outfitting each room with new bedding, furniture, electronics...it was pretty impressive. The staff was amazing and incredibly helpful with everything from pool towels and restaurant recommendations to picking up new Spanish words.
We stayed in one of the junior suites with a view of the ocean and a private deck. The room itself was clean and comfortable, though the TV was small (but really, who watches that much TV on vacation?).
Breakfast was great -- fresh fruit, rice and beans with eggs and protein, and a rotating fresh fruit juice every morning! And their cappuccinos were excellent.
The pool is refreshing and clean, and the added entertainment of the poolside hedge packed with iguanas was pretty awesome.
The beach is directly accessible through a locked gate -- the property is fenced and patrolled by security in the evening/night. We surfed right outside the hotel multiple times, swam in the ocean, and walked our favorite local restaurant.
The hotel is at the south end of town, about a 10 minute walk into downtown Jaco. I found this to be perfect -- close enough to walk, but far enough away from the nightlife and all that it might bring.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drake
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Already make a couple of short trips to this hotel, the locarion it's perfect, beach front far from the crowded Jaco center, nice pool, clean rooms and the service is good, enough space to chill with your family, the food is not that good but always can look for something in town, but in general it's definetly a great non expensive option in Jaco...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My 3rd trip to Costa Rica staying in Jaco. Found this hotel just my chance, what a score. Clean, quite, beach front, friendly staff. Aloha to Rosie and the great breakfast every morning. If you can, get one of the ocean front rooms. Pool rooms are nice too I would imagine. Nice to go jump in the pool after a surf. Taxi into town a couple bucks, Highly recommend !!!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor ocean front room is nice, best sunsets. Cost a little bit more but also has a kitchen if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were happy to find this gem of a hotel, off the "strip" - so quiet we had the place to ourselves for 3 of the 4 days! Yes, it's off season but staff were still very helpful and friendly, freshly cooked typico breakfast - and right on the beach! Standard rooms are older funishings, no modern convenience like blow dryer or coffee pot in the room, but for the price and location and privacy I'd gladly give that up!

Room Tip: We were in #5, right off the restaurant near the pool. If there were other guests it would be too m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

THIS HOTEL IS NOW CALLED- SOUTH BEACH HOTEL. We LOVED this place! The location, the cleanliness, the staff, the food, all was amazing! We have been bringing teams to Jaco every July for the last 8 years to serve the community there. This hotel has by far been the BEST place we have ever stayed!!
The hotel from my understanding has had new management come in the last year and revamp the place and it shows.
Don't let the entrance fool you! From the road it looks like ... that's the hotel.. but it's not. It's just the offices and a small convenience store with apartments above. Once you enter the gates you cross the guest parking lot then over a beautiful footbridge were there is tropical foliage and iguanas sunning themselves during the day. This is really where the hotel begins! The grounds are meticulously kept. There you will find their garden view rooms with a rancho and hammock to rest on as well as small fish ponds with waterfalls and tropical flowers. As you walk closer to the beach you will come to the larger restaurant rancho that served us AMAZING meals. Thank you Reece! The large hotel building on the beach houses the bulk of the rooms. This building has the beautiful pool to the left and the beach straight ahead which you may enter through a coded gate. These rooms are clean and comfortable with newer bedding and mattresses. Every room had a balcony or beautiful porch area. Some faced the beach directly. The entire hotel has wifi that never went out. The first time for that as well in Jaco.

This hotel was a step above many of the other Jaco hotels in my book. It is great for families, groups, or couples that don't want a huge party hotel. I felt VERY safe here. Safe bringing a group of people from all over the U.S. many which were under 18. These people cared for us like family. Thank you Isaac, Julio, Daniella, Juan Carlos and the beautiful women who cooked or meals and cleaned our rooms. We will be back!!!
Side note: "If" there is a slight bit of language confusion or takes a phone call or two to get through... don't give up!! Its well worth pushing thru any language barriers. They do speak English, just don't be a speed talker... like me :). The hotel and their staff are gems!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Hotel

Address: Jaco Beach | Jaco Beach Municipal Palace 600 Mts South, Jaco 1139-1250, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Arenal Pacifico)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Oasis of Jaco Beach. Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments located at the southern, most tranquil and beautiful part of Jaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Pacifico Hotel
South Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.