We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bang for the Buck!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Beach Hotel
Jaco Beach | Jaco Beach Municipal Palace 600 Mts South, Jaco 1139-1250, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Arenal Pacifico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Bang for the Buck!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Arenal Pacifico (now renamed South Beach Hotel) in room #3, not by the pool and it was very reasonably priced. A BIG plus? Its off the strip - very quiet. You wanna party? Drive or take a very short cab ride. Fresh, warm, clean towels.... floor was immaculate, bathroom was typical Tico style (not a bad thing) and mattress/bedding was just fine. Had breakfast by the pool - very good. All in all, I'd go back. I even met the owners - very nice people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
17
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

I call to make a reservation and they confirm it. When I arrived the hotel at night i realized they didnt have room for me. The reservation was made 4 days previously.
They couldnt solve my problem

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

My Boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night in Sept 11. So glad it as only for the night. We were the only ones at the hotel (low season) yet that did not help budge the price down from the Hotel Manager. The hotel was in dire need of complete refurbishment. The bathroom had seen better days as there was cracked tiles/shower door and dirty lime scale everywhere. There was even plaster work on the bathroom floor where some repairs had been made. The dinning area was crumbling and the pool was half empty.
On the plus side the waitress provided us with a decent breakfast and the bed sheets were clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallisaw, OK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

It's been a few years since we visited, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were there in early June, and had excellent weather, excellent surf and an overall excellent time. We had the room closest to the ocean. Admittedly it was small, and lacking many amenities, but this suits our needs. We don't really need several rooms, turned down beds, and all the other five star comforts. We can fend for ourselves, thank you. The property was clean, and quiet, easy to find and had extremely easy access to downtown. Clean pool. Well kept yards. Excellent little restaurant. Friendly iguana about the size of my wife. Of course, the beach was only about 10 yards from the front door. Excellent security, everpresent guards, friendly staff. The electricity went out one night during a thunderstorm, but we had an astounding natural light shown from the porch overlooking the pacific. If you really must have a full luxury resort where you are catered to at all times, this is not for you. But if you are looking for a decent and safe bed and a central base of operations, this is a very good deal. We stayed in 2007. --Chuck

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We do business in Costa Rica Medical Care.com and we always put 2 or 3 days in a trip to go here for some R & R. They have wi-fi and I love working or calling some one back home with the waves behind me.

Only 75 minutes from San Jose it is the perfect get away. We send our patients that wish to go to the beach here as well.

The staff is very helpful and will do anything for you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We were a family group of two sisters, a brother, and our spouses who spent a week at this hotel. During the week, the hotel was extremely quiet. It became very busy with Costa Ricans getting out of the city on the weekends. The staff were so helpful and friendly, bringing us ice and other things whenever we asked. The rooms were spotless, even after we drug in lots of sand from the very empty beach. The security was great. As the hotel was so quiet, we even brought in grills and made dinner with a local friend in the covered area near the beach. The a/c was a quite effective and a welcome respite from the intense heat. There was surfing right on our beach.. Breakfasts were okay, but we found the fish at lunch to be delighftul. The grounds were very well kept. It is a bit far from town, though we did walk in a couple of times. The parking was in a secure area. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Jaco beach is a tough place to get accommodations during Semana Santa (holy week -Easter holidays to North Americans) but we managed to get a room last-minute at Arenal Pacifico. We were pleasantly surprised by its location -right on the beach and at an ideal spot for those of us learning to surf. What you're getting here is basically a 2 star private resort with decent rooms, a good location and friendly staff. The food in their kitchen was ok and it was nice to have everything in one spot, from surfboard rentals to food, a clean pool and walk out to the beach. It has good security to boot as well as parking and some resident wildlife (iguanas, lots of birds and even chickens!).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Hotel

Address: Jaco Beach | Jaco Beach Municipal Palace 600 Mts South, Jaco 1139-1250, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Arenal Pacifico)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Oasis of Jaco Beach. Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments located at the southern, most tranquil and beautiful part of Jaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Pacifico Hotel
South Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.