We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arenal Pacifico” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
South Beach Hotel
Jaco Beach | Jaco Beach Municipal Palace 600 Mts South, Jaco 1139-1250, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Arenal Pacifico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Sallisaw, OK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Arenal Pacifico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

It's been a few years since we visited, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were there in early June, and had excellent weather, excellent surf and an overall excellent time. We had the room closest to the ocean. Admittedly it was small, and lacking many amenities, but this suits our needs. We don't really need several rooms, turned down beds, and all the other five star comforts. We can fend for ourselves, thank you. The property was clean, and quiet, easy to find and had extremely easy access to downtown. Clean pool. Well kept yards. Excellent little restaurant. Friendly iguana about the size of my wife. Of course, the beach was only about 10 yards from the front door. Excellent security, everpresent guards, friendly staff. The electricity went out one night during a thunderstorm, but we had an astounding natural light shown from the porch overlooking the pacific. If you really must have a full luxury resort where you are catered to at all times, this is not for you. But if you are looking for a decent and safe bed and a central base of operations, this is a very good deal. We stayed in 2007. --Chuck

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
19
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, WI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We do business in Costa Rica Medical Care.com and we always put 2 or 3 days in a trip to go here for some R & R. They have wi-fi and I love working or calling some one back home with the waves behind me.

Only 75 minutes from San Jose it is the perfect get away. We send our patients that wish to go to the beach here as well.

The staff is very helpful and will do anything for you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We were a family group of two sisters, a brother, and our spouses who spent a week at this hotel. During the week, the hotel was extremely quiet. It became very busy with Costa Ricans getting out of the city on the weekends. The staff were so helpful and friendly, bringing us ice and other things whenever we asked. The rooms were spotless, even after we drug in lots of sand from the very empty beach. The security was great. As the hotel was so quiet, we even brought in grills and made dinner with a local friend in the covered area near the beach. The a/c was a quite effective and a welcome respite from the intense heat. There was surfing right on our beach.. Breakfasts were okay, but we found the fish at lunch to be delighftul. The grounds were very well kept. It is a bit far from town, though we did walk in a couple of times. The parking was in a secure area. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Jaco beach is a tough place to get accommodations during Semana Santa (holy week -Easter holidays to North Americans) but we managed to get a room last-minute at Arenal Pacifico. We were pleasantly surprised by its location -right on the beach and at an ideal spot for those of us learning to surf. What you're getting here is basically a 2 star private resort with decent rooms, a good location and friendly staff. The food in their kitchen was ok and it was nice to have everything in one spot, from surfboard rentals to food, a clean pool and walk out to the beach. It has good security to boot as well as parking and some resident wildlife (iguanas, lots of birds and even chickens!).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

The hotel was pretty good, not great. It is right on the beach which is the best feature. The rooms were standard. Our door didn't seal properly and we got bugs in the room. The AC worked well. The beds were decent. The staff was very helpful. The food was decent, but the portions were small (for an American). Breakfast was average. It only included fruit, bread, and ceral. Anything else was extra. I felt nickle and dimed at this hotel. It is also a $2 taxi ride to town. This location made it affordable for me to stay on the beach, but it was annoying having to pay $4 for the round trip into town. The beach was wonderful. I didn't research any other hotel, the travel agent booked this one for me. So I don't know if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

The hotel is a shadow of its apparent former greatness. The grounds are very nice and well kept and the beach is nice as well. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was a different story. I bed was badly outdated. There was a sign posted in the bathroom requesting that NO toilet paper be put in the toilet. The bed was uncomfortable. The TV was poor. I will not return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth,
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

I travelled with a mid forties buddie with no pre-conceptions or expectations. We were directed towards this hotel after checking out several others, simply because we had the time. Our room was clean, but early eighties in decor, etc. No biggie, we didn't spend much time there and for twenty bucks a night we could have upgraded to an ocean view room. Great location, it's only a two buck taxi ride downtown, or a short walk, and Hugo the manager is the best hotel manager we met in Costa Rica. Give him a pay rise, he deserves it!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Hotel

Address: Jaco Beach | Jaco Beach Municipal Palace 600 Mts South, Jaco 1139-1250, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Arenal Pacifico)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Oasis of Jaco Beach. Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments located at the southern, most tranquil and beautiful part of Jaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Pacifico Hotel
South Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.