We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DoceLunas+++, Jaco is a great beach town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Save Saved
You added DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 hotels in Jaco
york, pa
1 review
“DoceLunas+++, Jaco is a great beach town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

DoceLunas was a great hotel! My boyfriend and I traveled there with twelve of our friends to watch our friends band play at the resort called the Midnight Spaghetti and the Chocolate G Strings. They have played there for the past three years. We were taken care of the entire time during our stay. When we needed a cab, we walked to the front desk and asked an employee to call one for us. In five minutes, a cab of our preferred size was there to pick us up. It took a couple of minutes to get into town and cost less than three dollars. We were also able to get a cab in the middle of the night. The bartenders Danny and Andro were fun to talk to and full of knowledge regarding the town. Our meals were superb and fresh. The pineapple juice was also fresh and blended with ice. The pool has a waterfall which was a blast to swim under. The sidewalks were swept everyday. The rooms were spacious, accommodating, and beautiful. There are colorful and tropical flowers, plants, trees and hummingbirds all over the resort. We enjoyed ourselves greatly at DoceLunas, and when we come back to Jaco, Costa Rica, we will definitely stay there!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    24
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
48
98
32
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I am a single woman traveling on business and felt very safe here. DoceLunas is a beautiful facility. The grounds are gorgeous. The pool is beautiful, a quick dip will refresh the weary traveler. On my next trip I will schedula a day just to sit there all day with a book. The rooms are large and decorated. The air conditioning and hot water work all the time. The food at the restaurant is very good, I love having breakfast on site. The conference center holds 100 people comfortably, it would be perfect for an annual meeting or conference, perhaps a wedding. The staff is gentle and very attentive. They know the area and could get taxis within minutes, even when we needed to go exploring on short notice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

The way the hotel sets under the mountain,so close to the ocean it creates it's own microclimate.It backs up to the rain forest and monkey mountain .It's a little cooler then in the town of jaco.Alot less dustier.The owner ,chris was wonderful and took us out on the town and showed us some of the nite life.The hotel was full of humming birds and the orchads are everywhere.We fell in love with spookie,the cat.He came and visited with us regularly.He was really snuggly.Spookie helped my girfriend feel alittle bit less homesick .She also felt safe taking a cab and going shopping in town by herself.Jaco is a really cool beach town and also has the trinket shops,that are loaded full of must have items.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

I spent 3 weeks in Docelunas hotel and was very impressed with the room,service and ambiance. I could go on and on about the grounds and the peaceful serene setting. The staff made me feel very welcome, and tended to my needs very promptly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Hotel DoceLunas is not your typical beach hotel in Jaco. Generously sized bungalo style suites overlooking the big sunrise mosaic swimming pool with waterfall are a great oasis at the edge of the Costa Rican jungle. Restaurant serves great food & provides a beautiful outdoor dining & bar area. This is a great hotel for vacationers looking for a little class & pampering after a day of fun & sun on the beach of Jaco. Very close to all beach activities, ocean & jungle tours.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

This was my first (of hopefully many more) trips to DoceLunas in beautiful Costa Rica! When I first stepped foot on the grounds at DoceLunas, I knew this was going to be a perfect tropical get-away...everything I always wanted out of a vacation. As my 8 days quickly flew by, the trip turned out to exceed all of my expectations of a dream vacation. I owe it all to the perfect experience I had at DoceLunas! My room was comfy, the staff was friendly and Chris, the owner was an amazing host! The first 2 days I enjoyed the comfort of my huge bed and room and the exquisite food by Stewart (mmmm so good!). I could have spent my entire stay on the hotel grounds but I did want to get out and experience the beauty of the beaches and rain forest of Costa Rica for a few days. The remainder of my stay, I spent by the gorgeous pool, with the company of beautiful flowers, trees and wildlife in the setting behind me. I can't wait to get back to DoceLunas and recommend anyone looking for an incredible vacation to check it out. You won't regret it!!! Tell them Spooky sent you!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

loved staying here. staff was very friendly/helpful. room was like a suite. gardens were fabulous as was the pool. i plan on staying here again next winter.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Address: Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jaco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#7 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoceLunas is a spectacular Four Star hotel with five acres of tropical gardens at the base of a cool jungle covered mountain. Coatimundi, kinkajou, anteaters, toucans, and scarlet macaws can be seen here. We have a lovely mosaic lined pool with a waterfall cave, a full services spa, and daily yoga classes. Check out our excellent reviews and come join us in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Jaco
Doce Lunas Hotel
Doce Lunas Resort
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.