We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a magical place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa to your Saves list
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Maryland
1 review
“a magical place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at Doce Lunas for a week in Feb. One of the best hotels I have stayed in anywhere. It was recommended to me by a friend, and now I know why. The grounds were bueatiful, exotic plants and birds. Not to mention a great swimming pool, which has it's own version of the grotto waterfall. The rooms are very impressive, comfortable beds, clean and well decorated. Great food, great service, great hotel...what more could you ask for. The staff was great, very helpful. Brian and Chris know where all the best spots to visit are. Thanks to Chris and Brian for such and enjoyable vacation. The only place I would stay in Jaco!!! Will definately be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    24
    8
    7
    9
See reviews for
51
100
32
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

My friends and myself were pleasantly surprised when we were recommended to stay at Doce Lunas in Jaco Beach, on the central Pacific shores of Costa Rica. Our budget was geared towards middle-comfort accomodations...meaning that the occasional A/C or swimming pool would be a bonus! We were so excited when Brian, the friendly and worldly general manager of Doce Lunas showed us our rooms, or shall we say suites, with bathtubs, minifridges, and really better rooms then most expensive franchise-hotels.
The swimming pool is luxurious, and the service is attentive, bi-lingual, and well-trained.
Needless to say that one night turned into four, and we cannot wait to go back to this beautiful oasis. Bravo!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

Doce Lunas is a little slice heaven. (From an atheist, that's saying something...) This luxurious, secure, gorgeous property is a great place to get away and relax. Very beautiful and tranquil, easy to get to, not far off the beaten path south of San Jose, just an easy, extremely scenic two-ish hour drive to this gorgeous, peaceful place. The grounds are landscaped with indigenous flora, you can watch scarlet macaws at sunset going to roust. The rooms are impeccably clean and quiet. You'll not even know that someone else is staying there. Enjoy the covered outdoor restaurant and candle light meals. Sun during the day or have a yoga class with the top notch staff. I can't say enough about how pleasant and relaxing out stay was at Doce Lunas. We spent many a night enjoying a cold cocktail and the surroundings outside our bungalow. If you want a great time in a beautiful place, this is it! And if you have the pleasure of bumping into the owner, he's one of the nicest guys you'll ever meet and has some great stories. You can't go wrong. If you happen to also enjoy cats, you can also make friends with some of the ones that live at the resort and come by to visit from time to time, wonderfully care for by the staff.
We really enjoyed our stay at Doce Lunas and are really looking forward to going back during our next trip to Costa Rica. Go!!! :)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at the Doce Lunas Hotel this past February. It has beautiful resort like grounds with a small hotel feel. It was quiet and peaceful, especially in the morning, when all you could hear were the birds chirping. Weather was fantastic and the kids particularly enjoyed the pool, with the waterfall cave. Pool also has a shallow end which was perfect for my two year old to wade around in and play. Staff at the hotel was friendly and accomodating. Rooms were extremely spacious and clean. We stayed in one of the family suites, which had ample room for me my husband and our two kids. Rooms also had fridges and coffee makers so we were able to buy some groceries at the local bodegas and relax in the mornings.
Our only issue with Doce Lunas, if you could call it that, was that breakfast didn't begin to be served until 9am and when you are traveling with small kids (2&4 year olds) they are up way before 9am. However, a coffee maker and coffee were provided in rooms. Restaurant/ Bar area was a beautiful open air area. All meals we had were delicious, staff even prepared Super Bowl Patry for us. However, everything takes a long time so just have to be aware and order way before you want to eat. We also took a really great yoga class at the rooftop yoga studio. It was a great way to start the day!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

If you want to go to Jaco and have a car, this is a good choice. Disappointed in the pool area but the landscaping was done very well. The visiting chef from NYC made an excellent vegetarian meal for my husband.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Report from Jaco, Costa Rica

One of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed anywhere is Docelunas in Jaco, Costa Rica. It’s totally unassuming as you drive up but once you enter the grounds you are swept away into a world of delight. The grounds are gorgeous, flowers abounding everywhere, beautiful birds cruising through daily. The pool has a tiled sunburst on the bottom and a sweet little waterfall you can sit behind and wash away your troubles, if you still have any after arriving.
The rooms are beautiful. Original art work in all the rooms all tastefully decorated and super comfortable and clean with plenty of hot water.
The staff was kind and courteous. The owner, Chris is the coolest guy ever, who we spent time with around the bar eating, drinking and laughing. Did I mention that the food is outstanding? I had the best meal in all of Costa Rica there.
There is a lot to do in the surrounding area if you get tired of lounging around or doing yoga at the hotel.
What can I say more except if you are going to Jaco, you MUST stay at Docelunas.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Doce Lunas resort and spa over Halloween weekend of 2009, and it was a blast. The resort is nestled on a quiet hillside and was absolutely beautiful. There was a masseuse there, great food and drink, and a very hard working staff who made sure our stay was perfect. My girlfriend loves Halloween and heard about how great it is to be in Jaco for the festivities, but we never imagined the resort itself went all out themselves. They turned the grounds into a haunted house walk through that many of the locals came to venture through, there was a great band from the states that played through the night, and an artist who painted the party as it happened. The staff was great and for as hard as they worked, barely made a sound. I cannot say enough about that pool either, except for you have to see it for yourself....so relaxing!! When we were'nt being pampered we ventured out to the local shops and eateries that were only minutes away. We cannot wait to go back down again and visit Jaco..... Doce Lunas, here we come!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Address: Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jaco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#7 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoceLunas is a spectacular Four Star hotel with five acres of tropical gardens at the base of a cool jungle covered mountain. Coatimundi, kinkajou, anteaters, toucans, and scarlet macaws can be seen here. We have a lovely mosaic lined pool with a waterfall cave, a full services spa, and daily yoga classes. Check out our excellent reviews and come join us in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Jaco
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Doce Lunas Hotel
Doce Lunas Resort
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.